We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its shut apparently”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Toku Restaurant - CLOSED

Toku Restaurant
Price range: US$20 - US$31
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: St. James's
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Its shut apparently”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

So we went here back in November 2011. long time ago but it was very good. The service was great and the food was marvellous. We had a great time here. I'm reviewing now because apparently this restaurant has closed down! Not very helpful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garfield_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
declan88
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sadly closed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Went here on the 30th June. But sadly it was not there. And no sign of "We have moved..." So I guess its closed. I liked the place. On Pall Mall previously, then Lwr Regent St. Their salted edamame beans were lush and their dragon ball green tea. Oh and of course their sashimi. The yellow tail was sublime.

I think the higher footfall st, of Lwr Rgt was a good idea, but next door to a £6 japanese noodle bar, and £3.75 sushi deli, I think the foot fall went the cheap way. Wrong location for a good restaurant. They had more people in on Pall Mall.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank declan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

An average Japanese restaurant but not more than that. The service staff is very attentive and nice, they really try their best and generally offer a good service. The level of comfort is fine, nothing special though. I cant remember any special deco or anything that would suggest an effort from the management to create an atmosphere.
It is like being in a fast-food restaurant except that you are served at your table.
The food is average, with the rolls being just good enough but really nothing special. The soups are generally good, difficult to fail delivering proper soba or Udon though.
The Japanese curry is awful meanwhile the quality of their tofu is nothing special.
It is an expensive lunch/dinner for what it is.

Do not accept a seat at the sushi-bar. The staff and clients walking behind you to go to their tables will most probably kick your seat. It happened to me 6 times over a 45 minutes lunch!
Really annoying.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FraHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
236 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We were looking for a place to eat before a tour and came across this Japanese restaurant. The service was ok, I was however very impressed with the quality of food, it was very authentic Japanese and tasted delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cadie_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tétange
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“nice japanese pop food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This inviting japanese restaurant near the Japan Center was almost full, which is often a good sign. We were friendly welcomed and rapidly seated in the quite noisy room where all kind of people were having dinner in a busy, uncomplicated atmosphere. There were couples, asian tourists, Londoners too.
Before the main dish, we ordered some "japanese tapas" as our kind waitress suggested: they were delicious and some even rather sophisticated! With those appetisers, the hot sake I ordered was free.
Although the sushi looked absolutely enticing, we ordered Okayudon & Katsudon because we are fond of those japanese popular dishes we can't find in many restaurants at home. And with the ice-cold weather that awaited us outside, we wanted a warm hearty meal. We had not to wait long for them and they were well prepared and accompanied by a well balanced miso soup.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmelle_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toku Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing