We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced gastro useless pub”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Narrow

The Narrow
Ranked #3,428 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$32 - US$45
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced gastro useless pub”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Far too expensive for a half a pint really, they call it a schooner, I call it paying for Gordon's kids uni. They used to be a pub and it was ok, now it's a limited menu gasto nightmare. Get out of the east end Gordon, what limehouse needs is a Great pub catering to locals, the inside is so badly arranged the pub by side is pointless and the dining area sterile. The water views are fantastic, but the rest drags it down.
Prospect of Whitby is a better destination but it's down wapping way.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    323
    239
    162
    132
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Definitely a favourite in East London. Food is awesome, outdoor seating area is nice when its warmer. Service is excellent too.

Helpful?
Thank doo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A shadow of it's former self...to be avoided”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Narrow saddens me on 2 levels. First, because I remember the thriving pub it used to be in the last decade, before the association with Ramsey. And second, because living 100 yards away it could be my local…if only it were still fit for purpose.

I would completely echo the other reviewers who point out that the latest décor is terrible, like an 80's wine bar crossed with a B&Q patio display, failing to make the best of an historic pub property, and that the striving for profitability has led the management to an overpriced restaurant with mediocre quality and portions. What has really guaranteed me not to return though is the latest situation with the 2/3 pint glasses. When I walk into a pub and ask for a pint I do not expect to be served a 2/3rds measure, at the price of a pint, and with no explanation. The experience is of being taken for a mug.

Vote with your feet and take your business to the Grapes, Prospect of Whitby or other alternatives in the area. And if it’s an excellent meal you seek with fair portions at fair prices just cross the road to La Figa.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rkoflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shocking Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I been a fairly infrequent visitor to the Narrow over the past few years, stopping in for a drink every now and then - never been particularly impressed, but thought it was a nice spot on a Sunny day.

On my most recent visit, I was appalled. The restaurant area was empty but there was a few customers trying to get a drink. The one barmaid who was serving the drinks was incredibly slow and unfriendly. At the same time there was a number of other staff seemingly doing nothing, just chatting amongst themselves, while people waited for 10 -15 minutes to buy a drink. I was later served by the 'bodybuilding' barman when I went for a second drink, the experience was the same. These staff are either incredibly stupid, or incredibly lazy. This place needs some better management, firstly not employ these people, and secondly to manage their employees better to ensure this doesn't happen. Reading some recent reviews, it doesn't sound like I am alone here. If you are in the area walk down the road to the Grapes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 21Tom_E1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Former Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Lived in Limehouse for 3 years now and have been a frequent visitor to the Narrow over this time. Unfortunately I have to agree with some earlier reviews that since the recent decor / menu change this 'Former Great' can no longer be held in such high regard.

Previously, when friends and family visited the area I would always suggest lunch / dinner at The Narrow, but not anymore. In my opinion, the fish and chips use to be the best in London. Fairly priced and top notch. Since the change you now receive a smaller portion, poorer batter surrounding the fish and some sort of puree that is apparently the mushy peas.

The Narrow, a former great gastro pub, now an overpriced restaurant with an identity crisis!

p.s. Still a great place for a summer drink by the river!

Helpful?
1 Thank aajrlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed The Narrow also viewed

 

Been to The Narrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing