We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch time meal”
Review of The Narrow

The Narrow
Ranked #3,405 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$32 - US$44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch time meal”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Excellent, friendly service. My Bream was beautifully cooked, crispy skin, followed by , probably the best Knickerbocker Glory I have ever had,( and there have been a few).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teepee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    328
    243
    167
    134
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening with attentive service & decent food.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We visited as a group of 6 and had an extremely pleasant evening:
+ Fantastic views over the River Thames (from the outside & conservatory).
+ Service was quick, efficient and the staff extremely helpful.
+ Great ambiance.
- It was an extremely warm summer evening (a rarity in England) and as a result it was very hot in the main bar, this did prove slightly annoying when ordering drinks before/after eating. Fortunately we were sat down in the conservatory for our meal, which was all opened up so had no further issues.
- Slightly expensive for what it really was but expected due to the Gordon Ramsey association.

I had the English honey-glazed duck breast, sautéed potato, spring onion and rosemary jus. The duck was rich and full of flavour, arguably slightly over cooked but tasty none the less. I would definitely recommend ordering a side dish to accompany the main due to the lack of potatoes though, I had the spinach which again I couldn't fault.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CSagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced gastro useless pub”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Far too expensive for a half a pint really, they call it a schooner, I call it paying for Gordon's kids uni. They used to be a pub and it was ok, now it's a limited menu gasto nightmare. Get out of the east end Gordon, what limehouse needs is a Great pub catering to locals, the inside is so badly arranged the pub by side is pointless and the dining area sterile. The water views are fantastic, but the rest drags it down.
Prospect of Whitby is a better destination but it's down wapping way.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Definitely a favourite in East London. Food is awesome, outdoor seating area is nice when its warmer. Service is excellent too.

Helpful?
Thank doo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A shadow of it's former self...to be avoided”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Narrow saddens me on 2 levels. First, because I remember the thriving pub it used to be in the last decade, before the association with Ramsey. And second, because living 100 yards away it could be my local…if only it were still fit for purpose.

I would completely echo the other reviewers who point out that the latest décor is terrible, like an 80's wine bar crossed with a B&Q patio display, failing to make the best of an historic pub property, and that the striving for profitability has led the management to an overpriced restaurant with mediocre quality and portions. What has really guaranteed me not to return though is the latest situation with the 2/3 pint glasses. When I walk into a pub and ask for a pint I do not expect to be served a 2/3rds measure, at the price of a pint, and with no explanation. The experience is of being taken for a mug.

Vote with your feet and take your business to the Grapes, Prospect of Whitby or other alternatives in the area. And if it’s an excellent meal you seek with fair portions at fair prices just cross the road to La Figa.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rkoflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Narrow also viewed

 

Been to The Narrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing