We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying burger and chips”

Smollensky's on the Strand
Ranked #5,890 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$17 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: A London institution for over 20 years, Smollenskys on the Strand is situated in the heart of the West End - the perfect stop off after a hard days shopping around Covent Garden, visiting the open air cinema at Somerset House, a trip to the London Transport Museum or The Royal Opera House, are all around the corner.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Satisfying burger and chips”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Read mixed reviews so not sure what to expect. However we couldnt fault service, food, etc. Went for 2 courses for £12 and both had burger and chips. As Sandra would say it really hit the spot. Very satisying. Desert equally good.
We went on a Sunday night, so didnt expect much of an atmosphere, but it wasnt too bad.
When we return to London we will be back.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StuK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    237
    175
    112
    110
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible - or non-existent - service...”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I went to Smollensky's last night with a friend, intending to have a few cocktails at the bar before having dinner using a 50% off food voucher I'd printed off the day before.

The first cocktail was ordered with no problems, but then I checked the 50% voucher and realised that it had expired the same day I printed it off. I went and explained this to a waiter, and asked if I could take advantage of the offer anyway: after some consultation with a manager, he said no. They were of course entitled to do so, even if it made little sense: the same offer was still available and valid on TopTable, so presumably they make money from it - why turn away a paying customer?

We decided to have some more cocktails instead, but my friend's attempts to order one were fruitless as the barman looked everywhere but at us. Hardly anybody was at the bar, and yet for ten minutes he assiduously attended to everyone else, cleaned glasses, checked ingredients - did everything but take our drinks order. So we just left - what else can you do if a place doesn't want to take your money?

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank da_bush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Can't wait to see you again. I went the other day with my friend, I had a great meal, enjoy the food and great service. I would recommend to anyone .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jtcrdnts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I went there few days ago for my friend leaving party. The food was good and the service was excellent. Very friendly and relaxing atmosphere. After the dinner we enjoyed few nicely made cocktails at the bar. All together it was a nice evening out.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seja81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service charge a bit steep, but excellent overall”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My wife and I went to Smollensky's early Saturday evening before our visit to the Vaudeville Theatre, which was a couple of minutes walk down the Strand.

As we arrived, the lady at the front desk was very pleasant and showed us straight to our table. There was a live jazz pianist playing and our initial impressions of Smollensky's were good.

I chose 2 courses from the pre-theatre menu (for a very reasonable £12). The vegetable soup starter and the chicken pasta main was simply delicious. My wife ordered from the Al la carte menu and was similarly impressed. We shared the Peanut Butter Cheesecake for desert and it was to die for!

We had a bottle of prosecco, which I thought was a tad expensive at £26, but this is central London after all. I thought it was a little cheeky at add a 12.5% service charge to the bill as a matter of course, but we'd had such a pleasant couple of hours that we thought it was worth it and didn't raise it as an issue.

We aren't regular London visiters, but we said we'd definately return in the future.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B_Bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smollensky's on the Strand also viewed

 

Been to Smollensky's on the Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing