We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meal nice but nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smollensky's on the Strand

Smollensky's on the Strand
Ranked #7,985 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$16 - US$44
Cuisines: American, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Description: A London institution for over 20 years, Smollenskys on the Strand is situated in the heart of the West End - the perfect stop off after a hard days shopping around Covent Garden, visiting the open air cinema at Somerset House, a trip to the London Transport Museum or The Royal Opera House, are all around the corner.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Meal nice but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a starter and steak main course- I opted for calamari starter which was ok and the steak was nice but nothing special or out of the ordinary. Service was good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ogradysirishbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    224
    165
    105
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good pre-theatre dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have the pre-theatre diner option, 3 courses for 15.95. Good quality throughout and reasonable drinks prices too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TimF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“50/50”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Don't really know where to start with this review. Booked here pre theatre.. There was a theatre menu which my partner had. Food was alright but sat down at 5.52 and by 6.06 had eat 2 out of 3 of my courses. Being honest thought it was pre cooked and warmed in microwave! Atmosphere and staff were lovely with food standard aside as was the bar side was really good. I would recommend for a drink but unfortunately not for food. Regret that I have to give a bad review because everything was good (decor, staff etc) just food was a let down.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A premium paid for a second rate meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I was disappointed with the quality as it's was good but not worth the price. I think you pay a premium for the location. The restaurant staff were friendly enough but the bar staff not so and the cocktails seemed watered down.

Helpful?
Thank joshuapaul73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Pre/Post Theatre deal that takes some beating.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

An (almost) hidden gem adjacent to The Savoy Hotel on the Strand. The entrance is a double door width and could be easy to miss, however, once you have been there you will not forget it. We went for a pre - theatre meal at 5.30 p.m. and it was half full, but we wished we had gone in earlier as the bar lounge looked very inviting! A few pre show drinks would have gone down very well. The waitress very quickly attended our table and made us feel very welcome and took our order. We did not have to wait very long for our food to arrive. There were 4 of us and we all tried different things and all were delicious, including the starter, main and dessert. We picked a medium priced bottle of red which was also very good. We cannot wait to go back for the great service, great food and great atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkyboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smollensky's on the Strand also viewed

 

Been to Smollensky's on the Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing