We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with excellent customer service,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #127 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2011

My husband and i stayed at this hotel at the end of April for a short romantic break to London. From the moment we arrived we realised we were not going to be disappointed..We were greeeted by a very courteous member of staff who offered us drinks before checking us in. The room was spacious and the complimentary mini bar was greatly appreciated.The buffet breakfast was excellent, offering a delicious variety of food. An added bonus was that breakfast could be taken between 7.30 am and 12 miday.I have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel to other visitors to London.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMFC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

Thanks for your great feedback following your stay with us last month. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your romantic break with us and will make sure to pass on your comments to the rest of the team here. Thank you once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Andaz.

With best wishes, Arnaud de Saint Exupery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,557 - 2,563 of 3,347 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2011

We wanted a top quality hotel in London for the weekend. What we got was a fairly bland instantly forgettable experience.
Check in was efficient and pleasant and our room was upgraded as I was on crutches. The room was OK size but apart from the ipod dock was not exceptional.
First morning our paper wasn't delivered. Not a huge issue but you'd expect a 5 star hotel to get this right.
I know it is central London but for the price you don't get value. For business this would be good but for leisure I'd go for something more unique or boutique.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micah_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Whilst great to hear that your initial check-in experience went well with us, I am certainly sorry to hear that you were not satisfied fully with your overall stay and we did not deliver on such expectations as the newspaper delivery. This is certainly not indicative of our usual level of service, and I will follow up with our team. I do hope though we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Andaz Liverpool Street at some stage to really show you what we are made of. Being located on the fringes of East London, there is certainly a lot to explore in the hotel's vicinity, and with an array of restaurants, bars and the additional amenities included there tends to be something for most guests.

Best wishes, Arnaud de Saint Exupery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Arrived early to be greeted with complimentary coffee and a smooth check-in, allocating us a room way before the check-in time. The hotel is very stylish and modern, something we were really impressed with. The room, again stylish and modern of a comfortable size with everything you need. Also, the free drinks/snacks are a great touch.

Overall, a fantastic stay and highly recommended. Would also recommend checking out the hotels restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwards159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us back in January. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and I will forward your great feedback to all our staff. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Andaz.

Best wishes, Arnaud de Saint Exupery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I stayed with my brother a few weeks ago. At first there was a little mix up because I had requested two beds and we only got one - but Andaz was very gracious, not only did they give us two beds, but they upgraded our room free of charge. They were classy, organized, and very responsible. The room was gorgeous, and spotless. The room service was also first quality. Love this place and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

Thank you so much for your fantastic review about your stay with us last month. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much and our service impressed although I am again sorry for the initial mix up on the room allocation. I will certainly forward these great comments to our team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes, Arnaud de Saint Exupery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The hotel was situated close to underground and train station ideal location for getting about. Staff were friendly however it was very much just business did not show any personal interest in us. The wee extra touches were nice, eg complimentary wine and canapes in the evening to help yourself to and the easter egg display also to help yourself to mini eggs was lovely. Two restaurants for breakfast both were lovely but the buffet one was fantastic alot of choice. Rooms very high standard and beds comfortable. Free wi fi and you can access internet via television screen. Brilliant if you want to get details of local attractions. All in all good hotel just need to brush up on making their clients feel special.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliRally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Andaz Liverpool Street. While I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, inclusions and facilities we offer I am sorry to hear that the service was not as attentive as expected. It is certainly not indicative of the genuine service our guests can expect to receive with us and I have forwarded the comments to our team. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to Andaz again on your next trip to London.

Best wishes, Arnaud de Saint Exupery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

From the time we pulled up in our cab outside this magnificent old building to the time we left after our 2 night/3 day stay I have never encountered service such as we received at The Andaz.
Taxi door opened bags taken from us not to be seen again until we arrived at our room. No check in desk at The Andaz, staff invite you to take a seat in the lobby and come to you with a tablet to check you in. Offered a drink and a choice of floor we wished to stay on!
Within five minutes of arriving we were being given a guided tour of our sumptious air conditioned room. Although the facade of the building is 'period' the rooms are nothing but modern and tastefully but simply decorated.
Although immediately next to Liverpool street Railway Station had you arrived blindfolded and not been told you would never of guessed the ambience of the hotel is sheer tranquility.
In all areas it seemed the staff to guest ratio was exceedingly high, there was no waiting for anything in this 5 star hotel.
Breakfast, there is a choice of two restaurants, one a 'la carte, the other buffet also room service, We opted for the buffet purely for the laid back approach we prefer to the start of the day. The restaurant was spacious, bright with high ceilings and a fantastic centrepiece stained glass dom. Food was a fantastic assortment of hot and cold foods, the only criticism and I am positive had i asked it would have been quickly resolved was there were no hot/warm plates for the hot food, yes this is the extent of my fault finding in The Andaz!
The location in the 'City' district as opposed to the 'West End' may not be to everyone's liking but we felt this gave us the benefit of relative peacefulness but the ability to be at the hustle and bustle of Oxford Street, Picaddily Circus or Trafalgar square by tube in less than ten minutes by tube.
Will we stay here again? At the blink of an eye we would - Hyatt if not already should be exceedingly thrilled at The Andaz, it's Management & team.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2011

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. I am so pleased you had such a great stay with us and shared this feedback, which I have passed onto all of our team. The hotel is certainly well located to get to the West End easily, but equally there are many activities within the surroundings of the hotel such as local markets, quirky boutiques and art galleries; don't hesitate to ask our Andaz Host for any tips when you next plan to visit us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes, Arnaud de Saint Exupery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and checked in to our room (escorted as described in other posts). The rooms have a "crisp clean" feel without being too sterile. Andaz does deserve kudos for being very, very eco-friendly. They are leaving a small footprint in London's. The complimentary mini bar is wonderful. It is so nice to know that coming back to your room you will find refreshments from a weary day of sight-seeing. We got to attend the Royal Wedding and were so happy to get back to the wonderful bath to soak tired muscles and to have a cup of hot tea anytime we wanted. They carry Harney & Sons brand, one of my favorites. Being next door to the Central tube line is a major plus. Spitaflields Market is a short walk to find casual dining. Overall, it meets the mark!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmokyMtnVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#50 of 1,077 in London
1,048 reviews
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#433 of 1,077 in London
486 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#380 of 1,077 in London
1,076 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#46 of 1,077 in London
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#108 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £164 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing