We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #124 of 1,071 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Andaz hotel is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. The service is excellent and you are greeted by very welcoming staff at check-in. We went for a normal Queen Size room and we were very impressed with it. Both myself and my boyfriend had a massage in the spa followed by cocktail afternoon tea in the 1901 Restaurant which was a lovely experience. The hotel has a good variety of bars & restaurants and the location is great. I would highly recommend the Andaz and it really is great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SL199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Andaz Liverpool Street. We are delighted to read about your stay and that you enjoyed the spa and the Afternoon Tea in our stunning 1901 restaurant. We look forward to seeing you soon again at Andaz Liverpool Street. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,269)
There are newer reviews for Andaz London Liverpool Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,625 - 1,631 of 3,269 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel - we stayed February 21st and 22nd 2014. You can read my review of our first visit (written 6th March 2013).
We were given an upgrade this time which was very much appreciated. We were in a King Room with a huge bed - the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and had a great night's sleep.
Every member of staff we came into contact with was very welcoming and went out of their way to make us feel special. Alex welcomed us warmly, checked us in very quickly and professionally and Antonio took our bags to our room and talked us through the lighting/heating etc.
I still agree with everything I said in my previous review so we were more than happy with our second visit. If anything the staff was even more welcoming and accommodating - they deserve 5 stars for excellence. The only difference to add to our first visit was that this time we ate a sandwich in the restaurant 1901. The food and service were first class. I am sorry I did not note the name of the young man with the dark hair who looked after us there but he served us very well. Another excellent member of staff...where does The Andaz find these special people? :-)

A very special thanks must go to Alexander Szalai, Guest Services Manager who went over and above the call of duty when we had a small issue with the mini bar. He has also personally sent us an e-mail. It is these little touches that make all the difference. The Andaz/Hyatt Group are very lucky to have this young man on the staff - he is a star in our eyes!
We have stayed in a lot of different hotels but have never experienced this level of care and commitment from staff before. We have been very impressed and as long as this continues we would not dream of staying elsewhere. We recommend this hotel to anyone we know who is looking for accommodation in London.
Thank you to all the staff but in particular to Alexander who made our stay the best and we look forward to coming back in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruiseship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback, we are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the facilities. We will make sure to pass your message onto the brilliant Alex who has been with us for many years. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again at Andaz Liverpool Street. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Excellent location beside station. Very modern. Staff extremely helpful. Offered glass of wine when checking in. Enjoyed wine and nibbles at 6pm in reception - a lovely touch. Although we didn't use them it was also a nice touch having the complimentary soft drinks in the mini bar. The room service - cleaning - was first class. Can't comment on breakfast - aimed for self service breakfast and as it was closing in 10 minutes opted not to go. The one thing we didn't like was the noisy toilet flush and the noise when the water was running away after a bath. Found that a bit annoying - and yes I know it saves water, just our opinion. Spent a lovely day in Cambridge - the train leaves from Liverpool Street Station to go there and another in Windsor. Enjoyed two shows - Once and The Bodyguard. Tickets, reduced rate for shows, can be bought in the station next door, opposite platform 5 and 6. All in all a great break. Would be happy to return to the Andaz when back in London.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Kerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much for this lovely review following your recent stay. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed our complimentary Andaz inclusions, the facilities and especially the staff who was able to make your stay even more memorable. We hope you thoroughly enjoyed the trips as well as the shows during your stay. Thank you again and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon again. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Andaz for valentines day as a romantic break for two. It was absolutely lovely. The staff were friendly and very accommodating, the valentines dinner menu was a five course delight with a very entertaining musician / singer entertaining the diners. We had a large king room which was just perfect. The only complaint is that the plates at breakfast were ice cold, so there was no way of having a hot breakfast, which at £24 a head is a real shame. The food would have been very good, but cold not quite so. A plate warmer is not a large leap of faith four a five star hotel, and it is a shame that this was our leaving memory of the Andaz.....

We'd definitely recommend this lovely hotel, but it would be good if they could simply provide a hot plate to eat your breakfast off...

Room Tip: Avoid the buffet breakfast, as delicious as it looks and have something from the a la carte menu whe...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Andaz Liverpool Street. We are delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your Andaz experience and especially the Valentine's Day dinner in 1901. I will make sure to share your comments about breakfast with our 1901 restaurant team as they are currently working on the issue with cold/hot plates. Thank you again for choosing to stay at Andaz Liverpool Street and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon again. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I don't normally write reviews but on this occasion I felt I had too. From the moment we arrived at the hotel to the time we had to leave the service was spot on. This is by far one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. (And I have stated in a few) The staff are friendly and welcoming and they cannot do enough for you. The hotel was a stones throw from Liverpool street and the hotel was spotless throughout. Thank you Andaz for making my weekend very special and I would definitely recommend, see u again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joandrews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time and review your recent stay at Andaz Liverpool Street. We really appreciate the great feedback on our facilities and especially on our staff who was able to make your stay even more memorable. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Andaz Liverpool Street soon again. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was our second visit to the Andaz Liverpool Street and it was as good as our first fifteen months ago. We have also stayed in the Andaz Wall Street in New York, and the same excellent standards are visible to see in both sites. We were given room 522 which was one of the larger rooms. Everything spotlessly clean, modern and of a very high quality. Mini bar with free snacks and soft drinks was available as was free wine in the lobby between 6pm and 8pm. A nice touch. Wi-fi very good all over the hotel. We found the location perfect for the east end of London and will be staying here again when we are next in the city.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Boroboy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much for this great review, we are thrilled to be able to welcome you back to Andaz Liverpool Street and to hear these kind words from an Andaz ambassador. We will ensure to pass it onto the team who do a great job for the hotel every day and look forward to welcome you back to Andaz Liverpool Street soon again. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for Valentines night. We booked with Lastminute.com and didn't even choose Andaz, we let Lastminute surprise us with a 5 star hotel within London. As soon as we walked through the door we were treated like royalty, our bags were taken for us and we were lead to the check in part which was quick and polite. We upgraded to a King Size Room for an extra £25 which was worth every penny.
We ordered room service which was with us within 10 minutes for hot soup which was lush, the lady was more than helpful and nothing was a problem for her. As you do, we forgot our toothpaste, although we found a handy little pack in the room which gave us a list of complimentary items that we could call down and order to be brought up including, more tea/coffee, cotton buds, combs etc. this was really handy to have and it was brought straight up to us.
We also had a knock on the door with a plate of chocolates, strawberries, raspberries and macaroons made out of love hearts to say 'happy valentines day' - so thoughtful!
The mini bar facilities were all free in our room except for the alcohol of course, but was still great. Our room was spacious, clean and very stylish, everything had been thought out, we loved the iPod docking station. The shower was powerful and the bathroom was neat and clean. We were given slippers and robes in the wardrobe which came in handy. All that we would say is for more plugs around the room for our chargers etc.
Check-in time was 3pm which we found a bit late as we were hoping to use the gym & spa facilities, but by the time we were unpacked and settled we were in a rush to get ready for dinner booked for 7pm.
Our dinner reservations were booked with the 19O1 restaurant within the hotel, we had checked the menu before we booked so we knew what we were walking in to, but they have 3 other restaurants that looked just as lovely to choose from within the hotel.
We had the most impeccable food from 19O1 and will definitely be returning to the restaurant in the near future. There was a singer playing the piano at the end of the bar with candles surrounding him! The service we were given by all of the staff was polite and professional. They even let us take the rest of our wine back up to the room!
Check out was easy - in the morning we found a pack had been slipped under our door for an 'express check-out' option. We signed a few parts of the pack, wrote some comments and on our way out, popped it in a box in reception - we were asked how our stay was and once again was helped with our bags.
We can honestly say that Andaz is the best hotel we have had the pleasure of staying at. Everything was perfect and we will definitely be returning!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your stay on Valentine’s Day. What a great surprise to stay at Andaz! We truly appreciate the kind words on our hotel and the rooms and especially on your Valentine’s Day dinner in 1901.
We hope to welcome you soon again to Andaz Liverpool Street, for the chance to visit our other restaurants and bars. Best regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#39 of 1,071 in London
1,023 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,071 in London
1,965 reviews
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#456 of 1,071 in London
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#50 of 1,071 in London
172 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#108 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £174 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing