We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly loud - not for light sleepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #116 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Incredibly loud - not for light sleepers”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights on business. The check-in/check-out was flawless and the service seems very good overall plus great location for business, but the rooms are SO LOUD! I did not see any reviews mentioning this while doing a quick Tripadvisor run-through prior to booking but in my room, every time one of the neighboring rooms' toilet flushed-- my whole bed shook!!! The plumbing system is vacuum based and it is sooooo loud and literally shook my bed several times each night and morning. I couldn't believe it! I could also hear the showers being turned on with a really loud whiny noise in the pipes, and the person above me walking in the room. My colleague's room was apparently closer to Liverpool Station and he heard train announcements all night. We had horrible sleep and on top of our jet lag, it did not make for a pleasant stay.

Next time in London, I will definitely look for a hotel in an area not adjacent to a train station and will ask in advance if there are vacuum based toilets!

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you are a light-sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgal30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are very sorry to hear about your experience. All our windows are double-glazed and the walls well insulated though I will discuss your comments with our management team for us to take appropriate actions. We appreciate the feedback and hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Andaz Liverpool Street. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,005
    765
    204
    53
    36
See reviews for
399
1,247
250
817
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The check-in, check-out and care whilst staying at the hotel are faultless - there was a small issue with the Wi-Fi when I was there, and the staff could not have been more apologetic (including an email afterwards to apologise, when in reality all I 'suffered' from was a five minute delay in getting online).

The bed in the standard king room was very comfortable and the room - for central London - was spacious and well-equipped. It would have been useful to have extra pillows available in the room as the ones on the bed were quite soft but a request to the front desk had extra ones at the door very quickly.

For any light sleepers, the room was facing the main road, and the curtains didn't quite close properly so it was quite light, but I mentioned this at checkout and in my follow-up email I received assurances that the matter of black out blinds would be addressed during the next room upgrade meeting.

A very good choice of hotel for a stay in the City.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for this great feedback following your recent stay. It is fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed our facilities and especially the service of our staff. We also appreciate the feedback on the wi-fi as well as the rooms which be discussed internally. Thank you again and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Andaz Liverpool Street in the near future. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

You hope when you find a good London hotel that its not just a one off or a short lived dream until either the staff move onto the next best thing or the venue gets lofty ideas and turfs the normal people out! The Andaz is above and beyond this nonsense - it sets itself apart on so many levels a few i will try to be more specific about. The staff: we stayed at the Royal Hyatt Dubai over Christmas and whoever sets the standard for corporate wide training needs to congratulate themselves, i have never met such wonderful, accommodating, genuinely enthusiastic staff, At the Andaz we had our lovely waitress back to the room 5 times in an hour (bloody two year olds) and there wasn't even a drop of a smile! The Food: Wow - we are segregated to our rooms from 7pm with a toddler but HATE missing happy hour so we order cocktails but by the time they get to you they are usually stagnant and treacley but the Andaz managed to deliver the best Cosmopolitan this side of Sex and the City, light fruity and the delicate balance between alcohol and flavour (i ordered 4) Room Service: I am usually quite amenable when it comes to room service anything upwards of a kebab usually suffices but we have been reminiscing about the room service burger since our last visit in December needless to say the one we had last night was as good! I am not easily pleased (check out my other reviews) but whoever is directing the last few years of Hyatt needs to a serious pat on the back they are getting it right, perhaps above and beyond their direct market competitors which is no small feat and the Andaz is stealing the show as far as the city of London is concerned - thanks for another wonderful stay! We will be back - possibly the greatest indication of the stay there is!

Room Tip: 233 is Mint
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndseymarkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for this brilliant feedback, it really made our day. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the service of our staff and the food, especially our room service. We hope you had a wonderful stay with your family and are looking forward to welcoming back in the near future. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days, we selected this hotel because of the location. It turned out to be an excellent choice. Great location in terms of access to local sights, shops and so on. The Welcomer (Agustin) is helpful and so are the other staffs. Entrance & lobby is so nice, rooms are good size and nicely furnished.

I am a breakfast buffet fan and the breakfast has to be one of a great dining experiences. Wide ranges of food choices and everything tasted delicious but what won my heart was something simple – an attentively fried eggs!

This was a wonderful experience, truly it worth an excellent rating, I like it and truly recommending it

Room Tip: Rooms at high floors should be much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review following your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the service and will make sure to pass your message onto the brilliant Agustin who is a real asset to the team. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed our dining outlets, especially our breakfast which was the highlight! Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again at Andaz Liverpool Street. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Andaz Liverpool Street hotel on several occasions since July 2013 to my most recent visit last week (March 2014), mainly for business. The hotel itself is beautiful! Each room has a unique layout making each stay different and exciting. The location is great, especially for those working in the City. The Liverpool station is conveniently located right next door, providing a quick ride to Central London. Most importantly, though, is the exceptional service and friendly staff at the Andaz. Upon every check-in, I am greeted by friendly faces, from Tomaz working at the door to Niki (Guest Services Manager), Tim (General Manager), Lisa, Alex etc. at the front desk making sure my check-in and stay is as comfortable as possible. They have become more like friends and family. Throughout the stay,each request (from room service to housekeeping) is attended with the utmost care and attention. I would chose no other location to stay when visiting London. What an exceptional experience!

Room Tip: I love the corner rooms facing Bishopsgate (looking onto Heron tower)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maliha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback. We are so thrilled to received such amazing comments about each and everyone of our staff and will ensure to pass it onto the team here who are so passionate about their job. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to your London home. Best regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Andaz Liverpool Street is an excellent business hotel. Check-in and check-out processes have been designed to become quick and non-stressful. Being a business hotel, Andaz is capable of delivering flexible solutions even to last-minute needs of its guests. Food served at the breakfast buffet is of high quality.
Special thanks to Mr. Ali Tatlısoy, the adept Concierge of Andaz. From the minute we have stepped into the hotel, he made us feel as if we were taken care of by a family member. His genuine interest in understanding and solving our needs was remarkable. Thanks to his experience and vast knowledge, he was able to come up with custom recommendations to match our mood and our timing limitations, helping us to make best use of our short free time in London.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have real windows. It is OK for a night or two. It may be somewhat depressing for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Profbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback, we are thrilled to read these great comments about Ali. We will make sure to pass it onto him as he has been working at Andaz for many years and we are lucky to have him in our team. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again at Andaz Liverpool Street. Best regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I recently visited this hotel for a friend's wedding and it was a great venue.

It was a seamless and quick check in and out as I could do it all online.

The room was small but had lots of little details that made it special and well thought out. Soft drinks were free in the room and there was a free bar in the lobby too for soft drinks and coffee.

The staff were very friendly and made me feel very welcome.

I would definitely say there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALittleAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your friends wedding. It made our day reading the comments about our service which made your stay even more memorable. Thank you again and we hope to accommodate you during your next trip to London. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#41 of 1,088 in London
936 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#50 of 1,088 in London
1,798 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#460 of 1,088 in London
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Property: Andaz London Liverpool Street
Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#100 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing