We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #123 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A good London chain hotel, but with personal service. We arrived too early to check in to our room as they were still cleaning it, our fault as it was only midday. However we were offered coffee and were treated very well. They then made sure our two year old was especially welcomed, with a special mini dressing gown, slippers, rubber duck and toys in the room. When my wife wanted decaf tea, none could be found and someone went to an all night supermarket and she had a whole box full!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HogglesSolihull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear about your great experience with the service staff and will make sure to pass your feedback onto the team. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again at Andaz Liverpool Street. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,597 - 1,603 of 3,301 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Booked this through secret escapes and have to say if I saw the offer in future I would book it again, no hesitation! The hotel was in a great location for tube station, bars and shops. It was fabulous inside, modern decor mixed with charming character... the pictures didn't lead u on, it really did live up to the photos n was even better than expected! BUT... The best part of my stay there had to be the staff, they were amazing...friendly, professional and attentive, although the hotel was lovely it is so refreshing to stay in a hotel where customer servuce is of such a high standard! Would definitely go back!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for this great feedback, we are very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay as part of your secret escapes experience. It really made our day reading how much you enjoyed the service of our staff who do a fantastic job every day. Thank you again and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon again. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

What a fantastic hotel. From the second we arrived to the minute we left I was in awe of the service and standards.

Check in was smooth and slick - check out was smooth and slick (well planned processes very customer focused and not bureaucratic at all). The staff were fantastic - and I mean FANTASTIC - especially Lisa who checked us in and out.

Service in the restaurants and bars was exemplary. The food marvelous.

Potential visitors - do not hesitate to book
The competition - visit this hotel and see how it's done - it gets no better and you are not even close to this standard (I travel extensively as part of my job)

Who ever recruits, trains and manages the team at the Andaz deserves and award.

I will be back.

Room Tip: Just book you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan2168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Alan, we very much appreciate the kind words about your recent stay at Andaz. We are delighted to read about your dining as well as the check-in/out experience and will make sure to pass your comment onto the lovely Lisa. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Andaz in the near future. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for five nights and were thoroughly pleased with our stay! After a quick check in, we were greeted by Niki A. who took the time to tell us a little about the area, provide us a map, and then tell us about some dining choices as we had just arrived from a long flight and were hungry.

Our room was rather large, and was perfect for the week; the bed was very comfortable. I always appreciate the free wifi and non-alcoholic drinks, and the selection at Liverpool St. was perfect. The apple juice was a brand new to me, which I always appreciate as part of the Andaz "local experience". Additionally there was an orange juice to grab in the morning plus Cokes, Still, and Sparkling water.

The location cannot be beat even for visiting other parts of London; nothing is far away because of the multiple lines that run to Liverpool St. Station. Tower of London and other sites are also within a pleasant walking distance. Finally, St. Pancras is a quick cab ride away if you are continuing on to other countries via Eurostar. I would definitely stay here again when visiting London.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xHypex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback following your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the service. We will make sure to pass your feedback onto the brilliant Niki who has been with us for many years. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again at Andaz. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was my first stay at an Andaz property and I was largely impressed. The hotel is attached to Liverpool Street Station - I think the old Great Eastern Hotel, one of the great railway hotels which has been rejuvenated by one the the global brands - Hilton did it a Paddington, and Renaissance at St Pancras.

I found the lobby experience for both check in and check out a bit weird. There is no reception desk, rather staff at an open table equipped with laptops. Check in was OK - the lobby was quiet and I was quickly identified as an arriving customer by a staff member and attended to. Check out was a farce. The lobby was busy and the lack of a proper desk meant people were milling about waiting to be seen to. No queue meant people everywhere and if you were in the right place at the right time, you got seen to - it was every man for himself. Check out was also weird in that rather than use the laptops on the desks, the clerk went into a draw and got an iPad out and did the check out on that. It really seemed like it was a case of having a showy piece of kit for the sake of it rather than a practical purpose. May be I am old fashioned, and I know having staff out from behind desks is in vogue, but a traditional reception works, is orderly and fair, whereas this was a free for all.

The hotel is very nice however. Being an old English hotel, it is full of nooks and crannies, and guests needs to be warned about changes in floor heights - small steps and slopes abound. Decor is tasteful and in places quite funky.

I was lucky enought to get a room upgrade and my room was excellent. It was large, spacious, tastefully decorated, and I especially like the bathroom which was very traditional - old fashioned taps and fittings. A Bose stereo was in the room, but guests should note it has the older iPhone 3/4 connection, not the connection on the newer iPhone 5 series devices. The bed, as always in Hyatt family hotels, was especially comfortable with top class linens. Wifi was free, as were soft drinks and snacks from the minibar. My main 'grumble' was that the toilet flush was very loud - you could defintely tell when your neighbours had used the bathroom! The room was also a little dark being an internal courtyard room.

I did not eat the in the hotel but there appears to be a selection of restaurants. The hotel breakfast buffet has a great reputation but was so stonkingly expensive that I went to McDonalds next door in the station.

I'd have rated as 5 stars but for the reception area bunfight. But if in London again, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time and the extensive feedback on your experience. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and its design, a unique blend of traditional and modern. We will ensure to pass your comments onto the team and look forward to welcome you back to Andaz during your next trip to London. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

What more can you ask for? Great location! Comfortable room! Friendly and attentive staff! Good value for money (got a deal through lastminute.com)! Complimentary wifi! Complimentary drinks and snacks in the lobby! Terrific hotel!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HppyTrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your Andaz experience, the inclusions and especially the warm and friendly service of our staff. We will ensure to pass your feedback onto the team who do a brilliant job every day. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon again. Best regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We used to use this hotel regularly for weekends in London. We always had nice rooms and they used to offer a wonderful complimentary drinks/wine and snacks service in the lobby in the evening. This was perfect just before going out. The last couple of times this service either was not offered or was extremely limited. The last time we stayed there we were woken up by various machinery noises, not workmen but the normal hotel machinery. It seems that in renovating this old building they installed the modern devices required without any form of soundproofing!
It is not cheap and has lost it's unique appeal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Jasper, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent experience. We are sorry to hear that you have not experienced the same fantastic service as you did previously. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our team as we continue to strive for excellence. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Andaz during your next trip to London. Kind regards, Timi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#40 of 1,076 in London
1,034 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,076 in London
1,989 reviews
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#61 of 1,076 in London
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#438 of 1,076 in London
482 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#108 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £177 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing