We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is easy and the staff are remarkable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #128 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

London is a very large city but the Andaz is conveniently located 1 block from the Liverpool Street train station which is served by the tube, rail and bus connections. We easily travelled to the theater on the buses, arrived from Cambridge by train and went to the airport by the tube.

Now for the staff, WOW, they can not do enough. This is a modern hotel within an old building. My only observation/complaint is that the rooms to do not have exterior windows, the windows are open to the interior so it is sort of like being in an inside cabin of a cruise ship. You have no idea what the weather is outside, but maybe Americans are overly obsessed with the weather.

Now for the staff, they are exceptional. The hotel incorporates an historic masonic temple from the turn of the century and they took us on a tour of it. They were accommodating without being intrusive. They knew the guests but did not fawn over you they were just helpful. We were immediately offered a 3:00 pm check out when arriving based upon our return flight.

This is an easy place to stay for so many reasons.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdlanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you so much for this brilliant feedback. It really made our day reading how much you enjoyed the service of our staff. We will ensure to share your feedback onto the team and hope to have the chance to welcome you back during your next trip to London. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,610 - 1,616 of 3,340 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very stylish hotel. Superb welcome, drink etc and very friendly check-in even though we were early. Lovely large king room on top floor. All amenities in room inc. mini bar which was free except for alcohol. Comprehensive breakfast, lots of choice. We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Top floor gives you great views if you are on the outside! Not literally!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Jennifer, thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We love the great comments about our staff as well as the feedback on 1901's delicious breakfast buffet, nothing better than a great breakfast to welcome the day. Thank you again and we are looking forward to seeing you again at Andaz. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

For the past 3 years, I have been staying almost exclusively at the Andaz Liverpool Street hotel whenever I am in London. This is a great location for getting around the city as Liverpool station is conveniently located next door and there are a number of underground lines that connect at this station. Another perk of this location is this is a neighborhood and not a tourist area so you are more likely to be sitting in pubs with locals and can get the real flair of living in London. I love the Tesco across the street for picking up snacks or wine for the room.
If the location wasn't a good reason alone to pick this hotel then you will be pleased to know this is a first rate hotel with excellent service. I always stay in a king room and these rooms are spacious and have a great bathroom with a nice deep tub for a long hot bath. The staff is very friendly and professional and go out of their way to make each guest feel welcome. As a perk, the hotel has a happy hour with wine and snacks every afternoon. This is a great way to unwind after a day of exploring London and gives the guests a chance to meet other travelers.
I really love the Andaz brand and appreciate the fact the mini bar items excluding alcohol are always complementary. I visit London a few times a year and always look forward to my stay at the Andaz.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback! We are thrilled to hear that Andaz is your home away from home and how much you enjoy your stay. It is also great to read how much you enjoy our local area, the City and East London, a very vibrant part of London. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Andaz. Best regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights for work. The check in was extremely friendly and the hotel itself is quite unique. The room was a little small, but very fashionable. There is a pub attached to the hotel along with another bar and a sushi restaurant. I look forward to staying here again on a future visit.
If you are traveling for vacation, not business, this likely isn't the best location as its a bit of a hike to a lot of the central London landmarks. One plus is its right next door to a subway stop.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rm27839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you very much for this great feedback. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the facilities and that you were able to enjoy a few of our 7 restaurants and bars. The hotel is on the fringe to vibrant Shoreditch which is a great area to explore on the weekends. If you would like more information, please ask one of our Hosts for recommendations. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Andaz during your next trip to London. Best wishes, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Convenient location for the city side of London & very close to tube/train. Beautiful exterior and hip interior with friendly staff & quick check-in facilities. We had a comfortable bed and clean room with good bathroom; although I would have preferred a walk-in shower. Great idea of free bar with soft drinks & snacks ; wish more hotels would take this up.
A slight annoying hiccup at departure as we had asked for a late check-out and it did not materialise. Staff very apologetic however when we found we could not get back into our room and it was rectified. Nice touch was receiving a formal apology in an email when we got home - the mark of a hotel that cares!
(One minor point - windows in room could do with a good clean on the outside.)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Andaz. We are sorry to read about the hiccup you experienced though it is great to hear that the team was able to assist and make your stay memorable. We are looking forward to seeing you soon again at Andaz. Best regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is my second time at Andaz Liverpool Street, and both times I had a fantastic stay.
The check in is swift and simple. The decor is beautiful, and the rooms are of a good size and well furnished.
A brilliant inclusion with the Andaz hotels is the snack/soft drink mini bar included in the rate - such a great addition!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somewhere_else08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback, we love receiving such great comments about our hotel, the Andaz inclusions and especially about the service of our staff. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back during your next trip to London. Best wishes, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel about 14 years ago when it was the "Great Eastern". I loved it then and I love it now. My room wasn't the biggest, but the amenities more than made up for the size. The bed linens were really soft, the room was very quiet and the bath products and heated towel bar were great. The service was wonderful, whether it was the 'lobby hosts', the waitstaff in the restaurants and the doorman/bellman. Hotel is in a great location (financial district) and really center to everything there. I dined solo in Eastway one of the evenings and enjoyed the table right next to the open window. Much better than sitting in my room. I held a corporate event in Catch Champagne Bar and the food and service were excellent. Rates are on the higher end, but just not a lot of hotel choices in this part of London. Nice work and well done!

Room Tip: i had an inside room (not looking over Liverpool Street or Bishopsgate) and it was extremely quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickieDOTcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Rosone, we are very pleased that we have had the chance to welcome you back to Andaz, formerly the Great Eastern hotel. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the facilities and the restaurants including our vibrant brasserie Eastway. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon again at Andaz. Best regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#49 of 1,077 in London
1,046 reviews
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#437 of 1,077 in London
485 reviews
City of London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,077 in London
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#109 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £165 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing