We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday in east london”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #126 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great location minutes from bus and tube. Spitalfield market and Heron tower a short walk. Boutique hotel, greeted by staff with ipads at the ready on arrival. Rooms are comfortable and housekeeping excellent. Toiletries could be better but linen was good and beds excellent. Maybe Sunday night is a quiet time in the city but hotel lacked atmosphere and buzz. No central meeting area on Sunday night as some bars are closed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ileana318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay at Andaz Liverpool Street. It is brilliant to read that you enjoyed our hotel and especially the hotel's location next to vibrant and creative East London. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Best regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,271)
There are newer reviews for Andaz London Liverpool Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,527 - 1,533 of 3,271 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a very stylish Hotel in a great location.
It's efficient and pays attention to customer service.The interior is interesting both architectually and in terms of ambience.
The breakfast was probably as good as it gets set within a beautiful room.
We stayed as a family with two teenagers and we all agreed that the concept the Andaz has adapted was new and fresh. It's not stuffy or old school London but pays attention to detail and customer service. The free drinks in the cooler and customer Bar area along with the cookies are great when waiting for Taxis transfers etc .
Would definitely stay again without hesitation and will probably stay in the Andaz New York on our visit in September.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddieday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic feedback with us! We are very glad to hear that you and your family have enjoyed the hotel’s facilities and the restaurant offering, especially 1901’s delicious breakfast buffet. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Andaz again soon. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Location:
This hotel's location is great for people who want to visit the more business side as well as the city of London. My wife and I chose here because we wanted to do the more local thing, not the touristy things. Neighborhoods that are nearby that is great for locals and tourists alike are Shoreditch, Spitalfield, Brick Ln, all considered East London and the new more hip part of town. A lot of street art (graffiti) is located in those areas as well. Beautiful I may add.

The Hotel:
The hotel is very accommodating with a friendly staff ready to attend to your every need. The concierge helped us out with many things, even provided printed directions to certain places. This place doesn't have your typical sign in desk, as the staff have there own iPad to check you in and out. Pretty cool and new concept.

Room:
Our room was a standard room, more like a studio sized room with a bath tub and shower head in case you want to freshen up quickly. I loved the fact the internet worked very well and all drinks (except alcohol) and snacks were included! Those snacks were delicious by the way. They also display a unique feature...They have a towel warmer that keeps your towels warm. Maids made our room up twice a day. Bed and pillows was very comfortable, could have stayed in it all day!

We loved our experience at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone that's there for business or vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khouse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for your extensive feedback following your recent stay with your wife. We love receiving such great comments about our hotel and the service and were also pleased that you had the chance to visit our local area East London which is off the tourist track. Thank you again for choosing to stay at Andaz and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

One of the best services I ever had on a 5 stars hotel. Everyone is extremely nice and efficient . Location for business and travel from the best. Rooms with beautiful decoration with everything u need

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Patricio, thank you so much for this wonderful feedback. It really made our day reading that you have experienced such great service at Andaz Liverpool Street. We take pride in our customer service and will pass your comments onto our team who do a fantastic job every day. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon again. Best regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent a weekend in London and stayed at the Andaz. Great hotel, great service and very nice personal! Highly recommended! The food was great. They have five restaurants to choose from. If I´m going back, I would stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micke68s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your time with us so greatly. We will ensure to pass your comment onto our team who do a fantastic job every day. We are looking forward to seeing you soon again at Andaz. Best wishes, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

If you are looking for a hotel with clean rooms and good breakfast, it's a solid hotel with a great service. The check in was quite cool with a host welcoming you with a tablet in his hand. However, it was lacking the wow factor in my opinion. It tried a bit too much to be chic and cool. Considering it to be a 5 star hotel it wasn't in all areas on this level. A classic Hyatt hotel experience is much richer regarding 5 star fundamentals. The Andaz in London, which is a daughter brand as I understood, had more the feeling of a good 4 star hotel to me.

Their regular rooms are pretty tiny. Some rooms do not have outside facing windows. As far as I'm aware of there are no rooms with a balcony. Also there is no indoor pool (only a steaming room) and only a relatively small gym with no daylight. Their pub was not filled with life when I was there and their Japanese restaurant was closed on Sunday. Based on it's limited leisure facilities and due to it's location next to many bank offices it's much more of a business hotel than a leisure hotel in my opinion.

However, the good side on the other hand is it's location as it's not in a touristy area. You'll meet plenty of locals if you explore the nearby more casual neighborhoods Shoreditch and Brik Lane, which are worth a visit and are offering a more relaxed feeling than Oxford Circus, Soho, etc. or other highly frequented touristy areas. As the hotel is next to the Liverpool Street station (train and tube) you can literally go everywhere you want which is a plus.

One thing worth to do is to take the elevator of the tallest nearby skyscraper (just 50m to walk) to check out the view on their 40iest floor by having dinner or just a drink. The restaurant is called Sushi Samba and the food was excellent (fusion between Japanese, Brasilian and Peruanian cuisine) - worth a try!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent experience. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel on the fringe to East London which allows visitors to see a different side of London. We hope to welcome you back to Andaz Liverpool Street soon again. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have actually walked past this place many times without even noticing it existed, as I love Grenson shoes and am a watch fanatic, so two of my favourite shops adjoin it, and the subtlety of it's location (on Liverpool Street right next to the station) is mirrored in it's overall disposition. However, don't let that put you off, because it is also superb in almost every way.

On arriving you are greeted by the concierge who instructs you that there is no check-in desk, so a member of staff brandishing an Ipad to take your details will be with you shortly. I arrived early and was told my room wasn't ready and I would be emailed when it was. So I returned after a trip to the Shard and some exhaustive Oxford St retail therapy for my girlfriends birthday.

On returning we were offered a glass of wine which was gleefully accepted. Check-in was thorough but not too painstaking. Coffee making facilities and snacks are at the reception area and open for use, I think 24 hour.

The room was nice. Not particularly big but well furnished. Bed wasn't the comfiest and no iron in the room, but this arrived very quickly after a phone call, and shortly after a call back checking we were happy and asking if we needed anything else. After an evening out we came back and the member of staff that checked us in had left us a small gift, knowing it was my girlfriends birthday, which was a nice touch that is typical of this hotel.

We used the spa facilities which are small - a small steam room with some treatments available.

Breakfast was pretty good actually. A nice selection.

Overall I would stay here again. We had a good deal through lastminute.com, but it was still very good regardless.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are very happy that you have chosen to stay at Andaz to celebrate your girlfriends birthday and that our staff was able to make your stay even more memorable. We hope to welcome you back to Andaz soon again. Best wishes, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#41 of 1,072 in London
1,025 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,072 in London
1,968 reviews
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#447 of 1,072 in London
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#72 of 1,072 in London
173 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#110 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £173 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing