We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #124 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I was back at the Queens again for 4 days Staying in the Kings section. The hotel still offers a good service and the Kings is a great place to stay. I would recommend not getting a low floor overlooking the courtyard if you like opening your windows. Smokers use the courtyard and the smoke smell gets in your room. Reception has had a small revamp as well. The outside is currently being re-painted.
I will be back as it is convenient for the station and taxis.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank beechcrafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Bob, thank you so much for this fantastic feedback, it really made our day. We are so happy to have you back at Andaz Liverpool street and to receive such great feedback. If there is anything we can arrange prior to your next stay, please don't hesitate to contact our Guest Services team directly. Kind regards, Tim Flodin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,034
    779
    211
    56
    37
See reviews for
406
1,272
252
833
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for a week it was both a social and work visit so location meant a lot.
The location is fantastic with Liverpool st station right across the road nothing felt far! (rail, and underground).
Service was fantastic, as soon as you arrive to the hotel from a long day of work the wonderful smell welcomes you which really did make it feel like home:)
All the staff were fantastic and it was great that the good service ethic ran though out each member.
The one down point which I know can not be changed is the layout of room. The room was a good size, but the bathroom was just as big, and it really felt like wasted space, it would have been great if that space was used in room.
I will definitely be staying here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impressionist00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We really appreciate the great comments about our staff and love hearing that you enjoyed the signature smell - Darjeeling - which is also available in our Lounge. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again at Andaz Liverpool Street. Best wishes, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved our stay at the Andaz and appreciated the wonderful customer service that was offered to us. The hotel made us a dinner reservation at a nearby restaurant with a view and we were so pleased to not have to deal with making the reservation ourselves. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom, beautiful. For a couple, the only difficulty was "getting ready" spots. The bathroom had a pedestal sink and small mirror... And the only mirror in the "room" is within a desk. Other than that, a nearly perfect stay here!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank C1221C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Carly, thank you so much for this wonderful feedback, in particular on our team who was able to make your stay even more memorable. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back during your next trip to London, for a perfect stay. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Service at this hotel was second to none. Room and bathroom quite spacious and spotlessly clean. Room was ready when we arrived to drop our bags at 10 am and check-out took seconds. Good cocktails at the bar too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback following your recent stay. We love receiving such great feedback on the overall Andaz concept and especially about the great service of our team who will be happy to hear your message. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future to Andaz Liverpool Street. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

First time at the Andaz in Liverpool Street. Pleasantly surprised. Solid business hotel, with impeccable service, first rate facilities and beautiful communal spaces. Stayed in a standard room, which was a little small so would definitely upgrade to a Queen sized next time.

The Good:

- Service was amazing and impeccable at every stage. Especial thanks to the manager who changed my room promptly from sixth floor to first floor when noise from vacumn plumbing became bothersome.
- Food - Breakfast is served in one of two restaurants. The ballroom ceiling is worth the trip alone. '
- Location: Literally right beside the Liverpool Street station and very convenient for the City, Shoreditch and East End.

The Watch outs:

- Side of the hotel: Watch out for the rooms backing onto the train platforms. The announcements can become very loud.
- Floors: The top floor - 6th has the vacumn plumbing system in the roof space and sounds like furniture being dragged across the floor. Avoid, if you can.

Overall, given the limited options around Shoreditch, the Andaz makes a solid business choice.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor and rooms facing the train sheds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesdotkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for this great feedback following your recent stay with us at Andaz Liverpool Street. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so greatly and really appreciate the feedback, in particular on our team, they certainly do a great job for the hotel! We hope to welcome you back to Andaz Liverpool Street in the near future. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We've just come back from a weekend at the Andaz and we thought it was a great location in the east end with walking distance from the markets and Shoreditch. Fuss free, contemporary luxury with some nice home comfort touches (complimentary items in the mini bar, wine in the eve, pretty tiled bathroom Shoreditch style).

We also tried out some nice cocktails in the 1901 bar and a lovely glass of bubbly in the champagne bar. Amazing nights sleep didn't want to leave the quiet calmness of the room and a late checkout of 2pm perfect for a Sunday lie in . Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Kb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on this site, it has been our pleasure to have you at Andaz Liverpool Street. We are so happy to hear how much you have enjoyed the area, the hotel's facilities and that you have taken some fond memories home. Thank you also for highlighting the quality of the restaurant which we will gladly share with our team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minato-ku, Tokyo
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a clean "business" hotel in Central London on Liverpool Street. It is conveniently located to business destinations in the City but also is in walking distance of the Tower of London, London Bridge, etc. for those interested in a little touristing. Another benefit is that it is virtually on top of Liverpool Station.

The hotel is housed in a restored 19th Century red-brick building that from the outside does not look much like a hotel. This is a "techy" hotel in that you check in on an Ipad with a concierge. The decor is very plain and modern--subdued grey, blues and browns with pleasant use of sunlight (sun windows) where possible.

The room I stayed in was large and decorated with very modern style furniture (not my preference, but OK). Bed was comfortably firm and the room was clean and there was plenty of desk space (sideboard) for working in the room. Wifi reception was inconsistent (sometimes very slow) and I would never get the Ethernet wire to work (notwithstanding 30 minutes with outsourced "tech support"). The TV is a large flat panel display which was fine for watching from bed.

The bathrooms were clean and stocked but not for older persons as you must climb into them and they floors and tubs are very slippery.

The room service menu was modest but the hamburger I ordered was good.

In sum, a good business hotel for financial executives between the ages of 30 and 45 who might need to work in their room.

There is a pub on the ground floor connected to the hotel. The staff is pleasant and accomodating and the food available (pub food) much better than I expected. The beer is (expectedly for this location) great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not require you to carry your bags up stairs (a number of rooms have a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abacae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent experience. We really appreciate the great feedback on our facilities, the restaurants and the location and hope to welcome you back to Andaz Liverpool Street in the near future. Best regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#42 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#437 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Property: Andaz London Liverpool Street
Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#108 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing