We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #124 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

You walk in from the hustle and bustle of London on a Friday morning and straight into an oasis of calm. The staff are 'genuinely' interested in making sure you are treated like a guest. I got the impression from previous reviews that this was going to be a small boutique hotel, far from it, there are six floors! But just because its big service doesn't go downhill, far from it.

Much has been said in previous reviews, the fragrance when you walk in, the speed and efficiency of service, the friendliness of staff, the rooms. All positive from me and I would most definitely recommend and stay there again.

Thanks to all at Andaz there are many hotels that could learn an awful lot from you!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor, not troubled by any noise whatsoever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cgt180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am pleased to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us and you loved the service of our staff which I will make sure to pass onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to London. Warm regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,667 - 1,673 of 3,471 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed at the Andaz in June for one night. We arrived about two hours early for check-in and had a little time to kill before heading to a theatre matinee, so hung around the ambient and tranquil foyer. We observed a few other early check-ins taking place with the reception/concierge staff. Some were checked in and sent to the complimentary snacks/drinks area by reception. We decided after about 20 mins to take advantage of a gap in the arrivals. We got Gabi and her iPad, for our check in. She first offered us a drink - so we had a lovely pink lemonade and an OJ. She sat us down and went through the check in on her tablet. While this happened two guests that were leaving ran over to her to give her a hug and kiss goodbye as they left (good sign)! This then set the tone of the check in which was very funny - funny in a good entertaining way. Gabi was very friendly and genuine and had a great sense of humour. She phoned housekeeping to check on our room, informed us we were receiving an upgrade and then she took us to our room to show us around and make sure we knew where everything was. We pretty much fell in love with her there and then. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. This is an Eco-hotel, and has innovative stylings - including the Eco-loo. Breakfast was beautiful. The whole experience was brilliant - thanks to Gabi. I would strongly recommend the Andaz, especially for the service which goes beyond the extra mile.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adreenaseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We wanted to take this chance to thank you for your amazing feedback, we really appreciate the feedback on our service and especially Gabi who has been with us for several years and is a real asset to the team. Thank you again for choosing to stay at Andaz Liverpool Street and we hope to see you soon again. Best regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a friendly hotel with a good vibe. The entrance hardly noticeable as it does not shout Andaz loud enough at its facade. Walking in a lovely cool atmosphere greets you with an unusual check-in system and a vibe and interior that sets the tone well. Dulcet tunes, a slightly rose aroma which is pleasant to the nose, an aesthetically pleasing space with a more personalised check-in (much nicer than the usual desks.) We were offered a welcoming glass of lemon water whilst going through the fairly swift process. The mini-bar items are complimentary (except alcohol) which was a nice touch, along with the free WiFi. The corridors and rooms (and ceilings) are HUGE and quiet. The bed (big enough to sleep 4) extremely comfy. I’m not one for sleeping well in hotels so this was one of the biggest plusses in addition to the very friendly and helpful staff.
The hotel price bracket is good for its quality and value as well as its convenient location. The only gripe I had (as a cheese loving vegetarian) that there was no cheese V suitable at breakfast among the 4 choices and the scrambled egg looked rather porridge like. Go to 1901 though rather than Eastway as this is much more relaxing and subdued with ample comfortable seating and a buffet service in a more wide spread set-up. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Write2Eye4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for Andaz Liverpool Street. We are really pleased to hear that you had a brilliant stay in London with us and enjoyed the facilities and our Andaz inclusions. We will make sure to pass your feedback onto our team as they do an amazing job for the hotel.
Thank you again for choosing Andaz Liverpool Street and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again on your future travels to London. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a great time in a magnificent hotel. Superb breakfast with admirable service. We were look after so well. Looking forward to come back.
We had children and they were spoiled and very good kids menu.

Room Tip: The family room was perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank p3t3nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback, we are so happy to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, especially the facilities and 1901's delicious breakfast. Thank you again and we are looking forward to seeing you soon again. Best regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Andaz Hotel Liverpool Street is clean, cool (in the summer), quiet, and is in a convenient locale. And those are the bare minimum criteria, especially for such a pricey property.

The problem is that parent company Hyatt is apparently trying to appeal to hipsters, so they've replace an inviting lobby with a dark, foreboding cave-like ambiance, and a helpful front desk and concierge with too-young-to-know-anything-of-value staff walking around with iPads willing to do the same Google searches for information that you could do yourself.

Unless you are getting a real great discounted price my recommendation is to look elsewhere. The Andaz Liverpool Street has definite potential, but Hyatt will need to wake up before it is realized.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for a room facing the indoor courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelingBugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you have not fully enjoyed your Andaz experience though appreciate the feedback on our facilities and services which is invaluable to us for upcoming projects. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent service at this hotel. Stayed here at the weekend for two nights. Great location, right on Liverpool Street and by the tube. Hotel has a beautiful aroma which is perforated through reception and all corridors, presenting a calming air. I liked the fragrance so much, I asked if I could purchase a diffuser on departure!

Staff are waiting to greet you with ipads and a laptop station rather than the traditional reception desk and there are lovely seating areas including a coffee and cold drink area for while you wait. Rooms are spacious and well equipped as one might expect, surprisingly spacious for a London hotel, with bathrooms to boot. I erroneously booked a double room for myself and a friend which initially, by email, the hotel said we would have to pay the difference for, but upon a further request, they agreed to provide this for us without charging the extra cost, as a gesture of goodwill.

We used the health club on one night, which was good, although the steam room didn't function properly.

No request was too much, from asking for directions or a reservation confirmation for dinner. We had a problem with the power on one evening, which someone came to fix within a short time, after which it re-emerged, so the Guest Services Manager called to apologise and we were granted a lovely bottle of red wine by way of an apology. I was impressed by the excellent customer service on offer. This is a hotel I would most definitely recommend and look forward to staying at again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you so much for this great review. We are so happy to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay and will ensure to pass your comments onto the reception team who was able to make your stay even more memorable. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again. Best regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

stayed here for just one night but was a great experience.
absolute 5* hotel, quality and service was above expectations.
The check in process was unique, ipad check in, no real reception. Very personal service. Free cookies and drinks upon arrival.
rooms, again lovely, complementary soft drinks in the mini bar.
great location
highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcelhinneyrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for Andaz Liverpool Street. We are really pleased to hear that Andaz has exceeded your expectations and that you have enjoyed the facilities and the inclusions so greatly. Thank you again for choosing Andaz Liverpool Street and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again on your future travels to London. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#52 of 1,081 in London
2,083 reviews
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#476 of 1,081 in London
490 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#49 of 1,081 in London
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
City of London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#107 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £172 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing