We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #121 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in early August in an Andaz Suite.

We've stayed in loads of hotels, but this was our first stay with the Andaz brand. Honestly, they did not disappoint. Service was seamless, the hotel was modern, sleek, and clean, and the staff was very helpful.

First of all, this hotel is in an incredibly convenient location. Located next door to Liverpool St station, you are never more than 15 minutes away from pretty much anywhere in central London. We spent 2 days exploring London, and our hotel was a great to use as a home base.

The check in process was seamless. We walked in, were greeted by a member of staff with an iPad who offered us something to drink while we sat down to check in. Within 5 minutes, he had our information and we were ready to head up to. As a Diamond member, we were introduced to the hotel's manager which was unnecessary but a nice touch. I think that's really great as it's great to see management taking ownership of how their customers were treated.

We were guided upstairs by the same guy who checked us in. He quickly showed us around the suite which included two bathrooms, a bedroom, and a working/lounging/eating area. It was well designed an tastefully decorated. It was nice, but not so nice as you were afraid to sit down or touch anything. Very comfortable.

Probably one of my favorite things about our stay was the complimentary drinks (non-alcoholic) and snacks provided in each room. In addition, there was a nice Nescafe coffee maker which was great to use first thing in the morning. It's super convenient to simply grab some water or soda or whatever without worrying about getting charged an arm and a leg. Again, snacks and beverages were FREE which was great. This is available to ALL room types, and not just for people staying in suites. I imagine the snacks and drinks would be ESPECIALLY awesome if you were staying there with kids.

As Diamond members, we ate a free breakfast provided by the hotel. We tried both the buffet and the a la carte options, and both were great.

Overall, our experience was incredible. We'll definitely be staying in other Andaz hotels in the future. It was really, really nice but not at all stuffy or pretentious about it.

The two improvements that I would make would be:

1.) Plastic water bottles instead of glass. Having plastic bottles would have made it much easier to to take the drinks with us when we left to explore for the day.

2.) Better signage around the hotel.

Check out was efficient and quick. The doorman Dino was a champ- he waited outside and let us know when our Uber car had arrived.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

What a fantastic review, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We love receiving such great comments about the Andaz brand, the hotel, facilities and especially the service. We will make sure to pass your comments onto the team and especially Dino who does such a wonderful job for the hotel. We hope to welcome you soon again to Andaz. Best wishes, Tim Flodin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,577 of 3,385 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the years in the various incarnations of this hotel but was prompted to write this review after our latest impromptu stay!

After a theatre visit in Lindon we arrived at Liverpool Street station to find chaos with trains cancelled. My husband and son disappeared to try and book rooms at the Andaz while my daughter and I purchased essentials at a nearby Boots.

Despite the late hour and our lack of luggage the hotel were exceptionally helpful and in short order had us in two rooms next to each other.

These were by no means the largest rooms we have ever stayed in, in fact probably smaller than I was aware the Andaz offered but they were impeccably clean and as always the beds were extremely comfortable. Hotel staff could not have been more helpful supplying phone chargers etc and our breakfast the next morning was delicious. Check our was swift and pain free - no waiting in line here, just approach one of the mainly helpful staff with an iPad and it is done. Look forward to staying again in a less rushed manner.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank holidaygiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to hear about the situation at the station though happy to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel, especially the service of our staff. We are looking forward to seeing you soon again at Andaz. Kind regards, Tim Flodin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here fore 2 nights. It was wonderful to have a personalised check in relaxing at the sofa with a drink. The room was stylished furnished with stylish chairs, also equipped with movable full mirror and a large working desk. I especially like the user-friendly guest's manual guide with interesting illustration.

The signage direction to gym, restaurants... was projected onto the wall. I like this trendy idea so much. Unfortunately we did not stay here long enough to try out more outlets. We only had a dinner at Eastway.

Generally the experience was wonderful. The friendly doorman Konrad was helpful and helped us with luggage, direction and even photo taking throughout our stay.

The hotel is conveniently located next to the business area and a train station. It was hard to image there is such a trendy and chic hotel with an old London building appearance. Recommended for ones who look for trendy but luxury experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sfan12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for Andaz Liverpool Street. We are really happy to hear that you had a brilliant stay in London with us and enjoyed the facilities and especially the service. We will make sure to pass your feedback onto our team as they do an amazing job for the hotel.
Thank you again for choosing Andaz Liverpool Street and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again on your future travels to London. Warm regards, Tim Flodin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Been to a few Andaz, Hyatt and Grand Hyatt hotels around the globe...
Happy to say that this hotel, ranks at the very very top end of the list of hotels and Hyatt group hotels I have spent time in.
Excellent staff...squeeky clean hotel...smells great!! This Place is near perfect.
Home...away from home!!!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ombash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay. Your feedback really made our day and we are so happy to hear that we are your home away from home. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon again. Best regards, Tim Flodin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Start to finish this was superb, we dropped our bags before checkin and they were in our room when we arrived. We were greeted in the lobby and offered a drink while a helpful and very sweet member of staff (Laura I think her name was) checked us in while we sat on the comfy sofa (they used an iPad to check us in) good briefing on the hotel, where everything was etc... We asked for an iron to be sent up to our room and it arrived within minutes, the room its self was stylish, spacious and pristine, bed was exceptionally comfy, room was quiet cant say enough good things!!!!!
All the staff were helpful, well presented and easy to talk to. All drinks in the room except alcohol were free which was a really nice touch, just awesome!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam-Gardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback following your recent stay. We love receiving such great feedback about the overall Andaz concept. I will also be sure to pass your feedback onto the brilliant Laura who does such a fantastic job. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future to Andaz Liverpool Street. Best wishes, Tim Flodin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary and picked the hotel for its reviews. I can honestly say it lived up to the expectations. We were greeted at the door by a very friendly doorman who assisted us with our luggage and directed us to a person to check us in. Immediately you are hit by a wonderful scent throughout the hotel. We were checked in without issue and shown the array of free drinks and snacks in the lobby area. We then went to the room. We had a queen room and this was spacious and air-conditioned. The rooms are ultra modern with little gadgets here and there. The bathroom had all you would want including a very deep bath. The only thing that was a little annoying was the water removal from toilet, sink and bath. This was quite noisy and did keep my other half awake for a while until people stopped using it throughout the hotel. Apparently its ecofriendly and saves on water. Could do with being soundproofed though.
As well as the usual toiletries throughout the bathroom you have Andaz Care. Where if you are like me and forget essentials they will bring you everything from facewipes to hairspray. This was certainly useful. All in all was a very good stay. We had breakfast in the 1901 restaurant and there was a massive array of different types of breakfast foods although and this was quite disappointing from a veggie point of view there were no meat substitutes and if I am honest for the price of the breakfast this I thought would have been considered.
When we checked out we mentioned the noise from the bathroom at check out and we were then introduced to the guest services manager who took off the price of the film we watched and gave us 25% discount and a promise that next time we stayed we would get an upgrade to the room and free breakfast! It was lovely as we hadn't asked for anything at all.
This all being said I can say the best part of the stay was the fact that delivered to our room was a slate plate with 'Happy Anniversary' written on it were two beautifully made cupcakes. This was a lovely surprise and a really nice touch.

Room Tip: The lower the floor the more noise you will hear from the street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SamanthaDavis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Samantha, thank you so much for this lovely review, we are so happy to hear that you have spent your anniversary with us and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Andaz Liverpool Street soon again. Best wishes, Tim Flodin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Andaz is ideally situated next to Liverpool Street Station, and is quiet and peaceful behind the bustling street entrance. A fabulous lobby and an ipad checkin onwards to a sumptuous room guarantees a great stay. Breakfast at 1901 is a fabulous experience, not to be missed. Staff are very solicitous and friendly.
The only downside was patchy wifi coverage, which we mentioned to the staff while leaving.

Room Tip: Ask for good wifi coverage if important!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashwini s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We love receiving such great comments about our hotel and service, thank you very much for sharing this fantastic feedback with us which we will pass onto the team. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#49 of 1,078 in London
1,059 reviews
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#476 of 1,078 in London
487 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#374 of 1,078 in London
1,093 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,078 in London
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#104 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £156 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing