We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overall with the one gripe that there are too many staff trying to be helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #126 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Overall I like this hotel. It wasnt too expensive given its location in the city and does have pretty good bathrooms and generally reasonably sized rooms overall. Its not really the place for the conventional tourist but is good for those interested in history being very close to both the tower of london and st pauls.
Its also very good for visiting other parts of the country with a direct train to Cambridge and easy connections to the other major rail lines.
The gym was quite good and had very few people in it each time I went , and there were separate changing areas and showers within the gym.
I had informed the hotel that I would be arriving early but i was still able to check in at 7am which was a huge bonus given that I had expected to check in much later. I was also given a late checkout with no trouble whatever. The cost of the entertainment wasnt bad either with the ability to view unlimited movies in inet access for 20 pounds every 24 hours.
Food was good if a little on the pricey side but the fact that all the water and a small selection of juices in the minibar is free (along with some small snacks) was a nice touch especially as they were very happy to refil the minibar at any time and with any of the selections that I asked for all again free
Yes the "just have a seat and we will come and check you in" is a little bit of a gimmick but then again its quite nice just to sit down and relax and let them do everything for you.
Overall one of the best hotels I have stayed in in London and good value for money.

One gripe that I do have however is the lack of doorbells on the rooms means that staff have to knock and do tend to come in at inconvenient times. They do want to do a lot for you but sometimes I would have prefered just slightly less help... without this it would have been an excellent review but is just very good
By the way I have stayed in this hotel around 5 times this year and essentially every visit was consistently good - just have to stop the overkeeness a little bit

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CurlyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,270)
There are newer reviews for Andaz London Liverpool Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,541 - 2,547 of 3,270 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2010

This is how an excellent hotel should be. Great service, warm welcome, super beds, duvets and pillows!, free soft drinks, and even an occasional glass of (mullet) wine), impressive green policy (if the flush systems saves 80% on water, nobody should complain about the sound/noise!) Good location next to Liverpool Street Station, close to Spitalfield Market. You can even walk to the Tate Modern.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Fantastic hotel. Rooms are a little small - I had a single with a 3 foot bed which was perfect for me and gave a little more space in the room. I couldn't get the ipod docking station to work but someone came straight up (midnight) and sorted it for me with little fuss. (It was not plugged in behind the dressing table! but difficult to get to.) Shame I couldn't have stayed longer to utilise the free wifi etc.

Had all comforts including robe and slippers. I couldn't fault it. Very quiet and check in and out very efficient. Will definitely stay again if I need to be in that location.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
Thank cwcwcwcwcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2010

Dear cwcwcwcwcw,

Thank you so much for your comments, we are thrilled that your stay was "perfect" and we hope to welcome you back again soon. The single rooms are a little smaller but we just have a handful of them with the queen and king rooms providing that extra space.

Happy New Year and with best wishes,

Arnaud de Saint Exupery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed two nights and got the package with breakfast. Nice to have free internet, and breakfasts were good- 2 restaurants-choice of sit-down order from menu or buffet. The room was good size for London. Transportation from Liverpool station was convenient..(Considering the intermittent station closures in London, Liverpool station is a good bet that something wil be available). The minibar was fantastic. They refilled it each day. We got to snack while sight-seeing. The downside is that there is no view from the room and I am not a fan of the check-in process, and therefore the four stars. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtraveller_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2010

Dear wtraveller_2000,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the room with the complimentary amenities and internet as well as the location of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the check-in process, it is very unique to our new Andaz brand. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Andaz again soon and Happy New Year!

Warm wishes,
Arnaud de Saint Exupery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

What an excellent hotel. Great room, clean, nice bed. Free Wifi! Minbar snacks and non alcoholic drinks are free. Since I stayed during the Christmas season, there was also mulled wine and small pies in the lobby during the evening. Just a short walk to Spitalfields, Brick lane and Upmarket. Right next to the Liverpool station, and lots of buses nearby. I had the breakfast buffet and the food was excellent as well, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, lots of breads and cheeses, sausages, great yogurt, fresh fruit etc. The buffet during the week was served in this beautiful room with a glass cupola in the ceiling. Even if you don't have breakfast, (pricey at $31, but I had a package deal thru Otel.com) go downstairs and check it out. Really glad I chose this hotel upon my arrival to London, I couldn't afford to stay there more than a couple of days, but it was great to have such a lovely hotel, with outstanding service to help with the jet lag.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalSorrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Any place that when you ask for a brandy after a night at a concert then promptly wheels the whole 15+ selection over to you is my kind of place.

The service, from check in, to getting an Iron to your room in one minute flat from the call is impressive. Lovely touches such as free juice in the mini bar and coffee at check in just add an extra dimension to this hotel.

The bed is big and comfortable and the room is a good size.

Ok, as per the other comments - the plumbing is noisey at night but, you can't have everything.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiintheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

I just spend a romantic weekend with my husband here – and this hotel is just the right place.

The rooms are lovely and people must be really hysterical to rate the hotel lower due to the noise from the toilet – it wasn’t that bad – really.
We had a room at the top floor – this might help a bit, but still nothing to worry about.

We were upgraded to a deluxe room, with a separate bath and shower and huge fluffy towels. Large room, nothing extravagant but really functional and clean – and with a gigantic bed.

We loved the free mini bar, the lobby with the also free wine, Juices, tea, coffee, sushi, mulled wine, mince meat pies and snacks – a great place to relax before going out for dinner.

Had breakfast in 1901 – beautiful room with a marvellous dome that rises about 15m. The breakfast good with really nice cheeses, good English breakfast and good bread would have liked maybe a waffle or pancake – yes I know kind of childish, but I just love a sweet option sometimes.

Right by Liverpool Street Station – actually attached to it – which makes it really easy to get around, you enter right by the stairs to the underground.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#42 of 1,072 in London
1,024 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#46 of 1,072 in London
1,967 reviews
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#455 of 1,072 in London
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#50 of 1,072 in London
172 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#109 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £175 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing