We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smashing, absolutely smashing....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #124 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Smashing, absolutely smashing....”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

So those of you that follow my work know that i rarely, if ever award a hotel 5 stars - and, if there was a 1/2 star option - i may well have given the Andaz a 4.5 - but alas, TripAdvisor continues to only offer full star options... so i went 5 instead of 4...

The Andaz is a bold new concept by Hyatt - really superior to W in every way except the tiny footprint (about 5 or so globally) - free beverages and snacks in room (non-alcoholic), goodies galore in the lobby, no traditional check in - more relaxed, etc.

This Andaz London is a huge winner - beautiful design, great location (E. London sitting directly next to the Liverpool St. Tube station), very clean and highly civilized. Restaurant 1901 on premise serves the finest hotel breakfast i've ever had - literally the finest.

If your travels bring you to London i suggest you run - don't walk, to the Andaz.

- T'Man 2011

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmannyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 11 March 2011
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We could not have been happier to read how much you enjoyed the Andaz concept and your stay with us. At the moment we do just have the five Andaz hotels however the good news is there are more to come starting with Andaz Shanghai this summer! Thank you again for your comments and we really hope to welcome you back to Andaz Liverpool Street soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,038
    780
    211
    56
    37
See reviews for
408
1,273
252
833
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

On room alone this hotel is 5 stars. The room is modern, decor is great, and very comfortable. I absolutely loved staying in this hotel.

The only negatives is the location and staff is really lacking training or something. The staff failed to ask if I wanted a handicap room when I checked in then presented a great deal of attitude what I asked to be switched. Location is great if you are doing business around the hotel. However if you are there over the weekend, the surrounding area is dead.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are really pleased that overall you liked the hotel although disappointed to read that you were not offered a special needs room upon check-in if required. We do appreciate the feedback and please be assured the comments are being followed up on. In relation to location, the hotel is on the border of the City of London and vibrant East London with its many outdoor markets, shops and art galleries which are all a short walking distance from the hotel so when you are staying with us next time please make sure you ask our Andaz Host to give you a list of all the activities there are around the hotel as its a great area to explore and uncover some hidden gems! Also it is very close to get to attractions such as St Pauls Cathedral and the Tower of London. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Andaz soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

You cannot fault this hotel or the team members. The reviews are spot on and you won't be disappointed. One of the best hotels I've stayed in, and I've stayed in a lot. Check-in was unique and friendly which was a theme throughout our stay. Breakfast in 1901 was relaxing and elegant. Stay here, you will love it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budgie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled to read your feedback on your recent stay and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. These are all great comments we will make sure to forward on to our staff. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back at Andaz soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel after reading all positive reviews and indeed were not dissappointed. The outside is nothing great but once inside it is an oasis of style and beauty. The minimal decor makes it opulent. Booked from tigerhotels.co.uk. The hotels popular check in system is indeed unique. Our room was modern & spacious. The location could not be better next to the station and close to all hot spots in London. A variety of restaurants outside if you do not want to dine in the hotel however 1901 is worth a visit. All in all a memorable stay in this trendy hotel of London.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellen2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. We are really pleased that you decided to stay with us and enjoyed the hotel as well as its location and 1901 restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to Andaz soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2011

would use again bit pricey but if you want luxury its worth it conveniant to liverpool st

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darren_lee_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are really pleased to read your review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back at Andaz in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2011

If you are looking for a trendy hotel that's a calm oasis in the City, then look no further. The Andaz manged to impress my 15 year old son and 10 year old daughter and pampered my (mum) every need. It made my trip to the capital stressless. The minimal decor within the original architecture of the building is impresive and the quality our room was exceptional. This was our second visit to this hotel and were were not disappointed. Our room on this occasion was even better than the last. We hardly wanted to venture out. The bathroom was roomy and pristine; the main bedroon /lounge was to die for and complimentary non-alcohol contents of the minibar and snacks an added bonus, and the freshly made brownies that appeared in our room when we were out , exceptional ! My children do not want to stay any where else in London ( and we have sampled many other hotels) and I have to agree . We had dinner in the 1901 resturant and were welcomed warmly. The meal was excellent and the service throughout the hotel equally so. The Andaz is well positioned on the underground system and well worth an extra few minutes journey from the West End. We look forward to very much to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis-Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We are absolutely thrilled that you and your children enjoyed your stay with us. We are equally pleased that you enjoyed your dinner in 1901 restaurant and we will make sure to forward your review to our staff. We hope to welcome you back to Andaz very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of a friend & what a find it was. Perfectly pitched to access any part of London with Liverpool Street station on your doorstep & ideal for us as we were getting the Stanstead Express from the airport.

The hotel is wonderfully appointed, thoughtfully designed & feels like a hotel twice it's price. We have stayed in countless design hotels all over the world & the Andaz felt like an exceptionally worthy competitor. The staff were friendly without being overbearing & the small touches such as complimentary snacks, wine in the evenings, bathroom products & an area guide were all spot on.

We ate lunch in the hotel & enjoyed some lovely cocktails on one evening. We skipped the breakfast option as Spitalfields markets & lots of lovely brunch spots are on the doorstep.

We were so impressed that we have now booked their sister hotel in New York for our next getaway. Can't wait.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonmurray15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Thank you so much for leaving your comments here. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Andaz Liverpool Street as well as the local area. We are extremely pleased that following your stay with us you will be staying at one of our Andaz hotels in New York. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#40 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#43 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#448 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Property: Andaz London Liverpool Street
Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#108 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing