We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic - so much better than Pizza Express” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gourmet Pizza - Gabriel's Wharf

Gourmet Pizza - Gabriel's Wharf
Ranked #2,864 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$0 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Southbank
Description: For award-winning Italian-style pizzas with Thameside views, it doesn���t get much better than the Gourmet Pizza Company restaurant in London���s Gabriel���s Wharf, not far from Waterloo Station. This family-friendly venue is nestled amongst the local boutiques and design studios and is popular with an arty, unpretentious crowd who love the river views and the villagey vibe. With heated al fresco seating, Cape Cod-style dining room and buzzy South Bank vibe, the Gourmet Pizza Company is popular with pizza lovers and people-watchers all year round. The hearty and creative pizza menu includes favourites such as the Californian vegetable pizza, the beetroot and blue cheese pizza with chilli oil, and the chicken and spinach pizza. Salads are a fine accompaniment to the main gig. The wines are affordable and the waitstaff are quick on their feet.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic - so much better than Pizza Express”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

You can smell this place a mile off. Lovely fresh food, helpful staff who will go out of there way to help you however they can. Even the takeaways are fantastic. Always really busy but worth the wait every time

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank OCHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    183
    82
    34
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pizza and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Given the location of this place, it could quite easily be a tourist trap. Far from it. The pizza's are great and the service is very good too. When we visited it was very busy evening but our waiter was on top of everything, friendly and efficient. As soon as we sat down he immediately brought glasses of water to the table. The location by the river and the view is obviously fantastic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex0034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely pizza, wonderful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

What better way to enjoy a wonderful Italian meal than at a quaint little restaurant overlooking the Thames? The pizza is wonderful, the bruschetta was a little different and could have had a little less of olive oil (but it was still good) and the chocolate fudge was absolutely divine! You MUST go to this place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shruti02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Another great meal at the South Bank's best restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I visited Gourmet Pizza on Saturday evening with my friend who was visiting the city. Any time friends are visiting I always make sure we make a trip to this restaurant because quality and service is always consistent.

As it's a really busy restaurant we had to queue for a few minutes but not very long as turnover is quite fast. We enjoyed olives, rosemary dough sticks (which are more like hearty flatbreads with chilli, salt and rosemary and a red pesto style dip - perfect to share between 2) and 2 pizzas. Rocket and prosciutto and the beetroot, bacon and blue cheese were both delicious washed down with a lovely bottle of red wine.

Service was swift and courteous and our meal for two was very reasonable coming in just under £45 including our wine. If you want a bustling restaurant with great food, drinks and service that is popular with the locals you should definitely visit Gourmet Pizza!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“ONE OF MY FAVOURITE RESTAURANTS ON THE SOUTHBANK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have been to this lovely restaurant, with its great view of the river, several times and, on the last occasion, it was to celebrate a friend's birthday. For starters, I chose the pan fried Tiger Prawns with garlic butter, lemon juice, white wine and Italian bread. She chose the Gourmet Bruschetta which is Garlic Bread with chopped tomatoes, basil, onions and fresh pesto. Both a very good choice. For the mains, I had the mixed Seafood Linguine with white wine and fresh chillies in tomato sauce and she chose the Chicken, Bacon and Avocado Salad, both of which we enjoyed immensely. As it was her birthday, we decided to be really decadent and have two mouth watering desserts .I selected the Chocolate Fudge Sundae which was chocolate and vanilla ice cream with chunks of fudge topped with chocolate sauce. Yummy - nectar from the Gods as far as I was concerned! She chose the Apple Rustica which looked equally inviting. This is baked apples in a shortcrust pastry tart, with almond cream, and served hot with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. We had a bottle of red Montepulciano to go with our meal and ended with Camomile tea for me and Capuccino for her. After a delicious dinner, in a great venue with very good service and in a beautiful setting, we had a leisurely walk along the Southbank and across the bridge, before we made our way home, well sated from all the appetizing food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jacquiecapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmet Pizza - Gabriel's Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Gourmet Pizza - Gabriel's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing