We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have read the reviews first.”
Review of Gower House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gower House Hotel
Ranked #618 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Why are you asked to pay as you enter the hotel? The answer is because if you waited, you'd leave within minutes. The only plus point about this hotel is the location. Old beds. No room to swing anything. Doubtful cleanliness. Took ten minutes to close what was called double glazing to reduce the tedious road noise.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Johnp880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Noisy, dingy, dirty. Chewing gum on the walls and hairs all over the bathroom floor. A total rip off. For the money you pay you should definitely get more. And who finishes serving breakfast on a Sunday at 9.30am! Avoid unless your the kind of person used to slumming it on a floor or sofa.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank InchKentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Greeted by the grumpy front of house staff member we were showed to our noisy room. If it wasn't so close to the West End I wouldn't have paid to stay here but as we were seeing a show it was nice to have such a short walk to get back at the end of the evening. The road noise is incessant though so be warned!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I'm about to check out of this hotel and must say it's decidedly average. It's clean and tidy and the bed is comfy but it's only single glazed and sits on one of London's busiest streets so the road noise is pretty much constant. We're in a room facing the road, it might be quiet in the back. The breakfast is cereal, fruit salad in syrup, a roll, a mini pastry and a croissant. It's advertised as continental but no ham, cold meat or cheese are provided. The tables are set with a knife, fork and spoon but I couldn't figure out why, apart from appearances, the fork was there, LOL. It's 15 mins walk from Covent Garden which is of course the only reason to stay here, it's not cheap but it's the location you pay for.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Steve-Autoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in the triple room with en suite both of which were clean and totally adequate for our needs. The room was on the top floor but the exercise was good for us :)
Everything was clean and the beds comfortable.
Breakfast was continental and the coffee fresh. The dining area is small, considering the number of rooms, but was not a problem when we were there. The staff are polite and efficient.
It was ideally situated between Euston Station and the Strand theatres, which was our reason for being there.
We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed in a single room which must have been one of the smallest hotel rooms I have stayed in. Not much bigger than a box rom. The place however was spotless nod very clean throughout. The wireless worked without any problems. The room had a kettle and tea and coffee making facilities. I had to leave early so cannot say much about the breakfast. The hotel is within 10 minutes walk away from Euston station and very conveniently located in that respect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JG_Wilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Staff is helpful, location is good, but facilities are pretty poor. I stayed in the hotel in September this year for 2 nights. At the moment of arrival, I was asked to pay upfront for the 2 nights - I only got to see the room before paying because I asked to see it (and got some strange looks when what is strange is to have to pay upfront in a hotel). The morning after the first night, they asked me to change rooms as there was some unexpected maintenance work that they needed to do in my room. They offered to move my stuff while I was out visiting - my surprise when I went back at around 8pm to the hotel was that they had moved into a box rather than a room, for which I still had to pay 100 pounds. To make matters worse, that evening while I was reading on the bed (no where else to sit), I saw a big insect (that ended up being a spider) crossing my bed. Receptionist captured the insect for me and at my request, offered to change me to another room - but he explained that that other room, located in the basement, was quite hot due to being next to the heating and overlooking the street so you could not open the window. All in all, a very disappointing experience. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you need a single room, check out size of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viajera102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#542 of 1,076 in London
369 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#78 of 1,076 in London
1,841 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#130 of 1,076 in London
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#787 of 1,076 in London
57 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#502 of 1,076 in London
376 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#572 of 1,076 in London
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gower House Hotel

Address: 57 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #618 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £73 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gower House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gower House Hotel is a pleasant, Bed & Breakfast hotel, offering accommodation in single, double and family rooms. All of them are en-suite rooms with private bathroom equipped with LCD TVs and tea & coffee making facilities. Wireless internet access is available in all rooms. Situated in a terrace of Georgian town houses in Bloomsbury, this listed building is typical of the architectural style of the area. We are directly opposite the famous Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, and just a short walk from the British Museum. The many shops, theatres, cinemas and restaurants of the West End are all within easy reach, as are University College Hospital, several London University college sites, and the newly built British Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Gower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gower Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing