We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if you're not hungry!”
Review of Gower House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gower House Hotel
Ranked #631 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband & I stayed overnight in this hotel on 23/7/14. The room was clean but quite small although the beds are very shaky & the bathroom very compact but clean and usable. The air con unit was very useful as it was difficult to have the windows open as the traffic was very noisy (I live in a busy area but this was something else!). It is very near to the British Musuem and Goodge Street Station as well as shops etc. I have a dairy allergy so had contacted the owners both by e mail and phone to ask if they could cater for my requirements. After initally saying no, stay somewhere else, I asked for just bread/toast from the continental breakfast and they stated that would be fine, I would provide the 'butter', they had jam etc. It was mentioned again on our check in, all was well until breakfast next morning! They had no toast/bread, couldn't or wouldn't offer me just bread rolls 'because they always put the rolls, croissants and raisin roll in the basket straight from the oven' The coffee was so strong, no one drank it (I'm not a tea drinker), the fruit cocktail was tinned and not very nice, they didn't have soya milk for the cereals, so that left me with ... a small glass of orange juice!
They are refusing to compensate me in anyway because the breakfast at the moment is free whilst the undergo redecoration and they are saying I didn't make the phone call about the toast! There are many other hotels in this street, choose a different one and stay clear of the Gower especially if you have a dietry requirement beyond their menu.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are subjected to a great deal of traffic noise all night. Wifi only free until re...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anitacorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Gower House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just stayed here for one night. The hotel was perfect. It was clean, fresh looking and in a great location.
The staff at reception were very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast, continental, was fresh and on time.
I will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 100Philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here in early June, 2014. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small, but newly renovated and worked well. The location was great - close to the Goodge Street Station and the British Museum. The breakfast consisted of a choice of three kinds of cereal, coffee, tea or hot chocolate, fruit cocktail, and a basket of three pastries (one croissant, one raisin pastry, and one roll). Although the breakfast room was small, we were always able to find a table at breakfast time. The staff was helpful and polite. Our room was on the entry floor at the back of the hotel and quiet. We would stay here again if we go back to London.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSP350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Cheap, but you get what you pay for - a horrible room. It was tiny, and I couldn't even sit down on the toilet without keeping the door open. Dated decor, small uncomfortable bed, poor amenities. Overall, disgusting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DogWalkerOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The rooms were ok, clean and tidy. We booked two rooms, the double on the top floor was ok, new ensuite. Triple on top floor had more space. Air con unit, which didn't put cold air in the room. Which was a shame as it was warm. Beds was ok and we found it clean. But the continental breakfast was very poor. Three small bits of bread supplied with a bit of jam and butter. 3 choices of cereal and no fresh fruit. Small pot of tea supplied, no decaf or fruit teas.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank virago_midget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Excellent location for Bloomsbury - stayed for a quick visit as it was handy for Euston. All is basically OK - clean and spacious room, slightly cramped shower room, but that's not a big problem. Matress was a bit thin but the worst aspect was that the breakfast was poor - no other way fo describing it. At this price, you would expect a decent breakfast. I'm not objecting to the lack of a cooked breakfast, but the quality of items in the contiental selection were poor - a part baked bread thing, slightly ropy croissant and some sort of minsiscule Danish. Fruit salad looked as though it had come from a tin and I am convinced that the yellow spread was margarine - it looked so yellow that I did not even want to taste it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewAwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed last night at the Gower House Hotel for a business trip. Its ideally situated about 10 minutes walk from Euston Station and 5 minutes walk from Goodge Street Underground and lots of shops and restaurants. My single room was tiny but had everything I needed including tea and coffee. The bathroom was minuscule but very clean and newly refurbished. The bed was comfy and I had a good nights sleep. Yes the communal areas need some redecoration and the breakfast is basic but thats ok. I left my suitcase for the day while I was at a meeting and on my return I was able to sit in the breakfast room with a cup of tea and my laptop instead of waiting an hour at Euston for my train. No problems here.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as if possible I did and didn't hear any street noise
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genevieve03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#533 of 1,072 in London
348 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#554 of 1,072 in London
353 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#77 of 1,072 in London
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#542 of 1,072 in London
789 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,072 in London
1,240 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#876 of 1,072 in London
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gower House Hotel

Address: 57 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#362 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £93 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gower House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gower House Hotel is a pleasant, Bed & Breakfast hotel, offering accommodation in single, double and family rooms. All of them are en-suite rooms with private bathroom equipped with LCD TVs and tea & coffee making facilities. Wireless internet access is available in all rooms. Situated in a terrace of Georgian town houses in Bloomsbury, this listed building is typical of the architectural style of the area. We are directly opposite the famous Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, and just a short walk from the British Museum. The many shops, theatres, cinemas and restaurants of the West End are all within easy reach, as are University College Hospital, several London University college sites, and the newly built British Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Gower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gower Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing