We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service and food”

La Tasca - Canary Wharf
Ranked #2,772 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Description: A fleet of authentic Spanish tapas restaurants established in 1993, La Tasca offers an award-winning range of sumptuous Mediterranean flavours. Sourcing ingredients from artisan suppliers dotted across Spain, Our chefs compile a range of boldly flavoured sharing dishes, all complemented by a range of Spanish wines, sangrias and sherries. Ever family-friendly, younger diners can enjoy delicious miniature tapas plates at La Tasca - Canary Wharf.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service and food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Sat for about 20mins before being offered a drink! Service was really slow and the food was very poor! Expensive for what it is! Use to love La Tasca but any recent visits have been really bad! Would deffo choose an independent Tapas restaurant in future!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with La Tasca

Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tasca C, Manager at La Tasca - Canary Wharf, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hola Chloe235.
I am very sorry to hear you had a poor experience with us. We regret the outcome of your meal. I would be grateful if you could contact me at the restaurant on 02075319990 or e-mail me your contact number to latasca.canarywharf@latasca.co.uk so I can discuss the matter with you in more detail and hopefully resolve in a satisfactory manner. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    123
    71
    56
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tapas Treat and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

A busy lunchtime service but we had a relaxing and delicious tapas treat.

The service was second to none, our waitress was friendly, warm and attentive. The food was delicious, especially the new to the menu "habas con chorizo y champinoNes" (broad beans, mushrooms, chorizo and garlic) - what's not to like?? We managed to save enough room for dessert .... and just as well as even better was to come, for dessert we had "spanish style gelato" (rum and raisin ice cream with a small glass of sherry poured over it) - I like my ice cream and this was taking it to a whole new level, seriously yummy. As we chatted to the waitress and extolled the virtues of the gelato she recommended that next time we should try a Spanish liquor based on Crema Catalana - she said "like Bailey's but lighter" ..... we decided not to wait till next time and tried it. another absolute treat.

All this and with our La Tasca card we also saved ££ on the bill. A truly terrific treat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilmapx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tasca C, Manager at La Tasca - Canary Wharf, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hola Wilmapx.
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Looking forward seeing you again soon! 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Toilets Spoil the Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This restaurant is nicely located with outside eating overlooking the water at Canary Wharf.
The food was good, albeit with small portions, service was friendly and accommodating - dining area having a generally pleasant ambience
Regrettably this was spoilt by the cardinal sin of non serviced toilets i.e. no toilet paper in the ladies and toilets not flushed due to faulty hardware. General observation is that their had been no regular maintenance for some time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tasca C, Manager at La Tasca - Canary Wharf, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hola Keith H.
I am very sorry to hear you had a poor experience with us. We already fixed the problem with the bathrooms. we regret the outcome of your meal. We always try I would be grateful if you could contact me at the restaurant on 02075319990 or e-mail me your contact number to latasca.canarywharf@latasca.co.uk to discuss the matter with you in more detail and hopefully resolve in a satisfactory manner. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canary Wharf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Brilliant service and an extremely helpful waitress (I don't know her name unfortunately). Food tasty as always.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with La Tasca

Helpful?
1 Thank Seka302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tasca C, Manager at La Tasca - Canary Wharf, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hola Seka302.

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Looking forward seeing you again soon! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food, awful service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

La Tasca is a tapas bar with lots of outdoor seating to enjoy a summer evening. The menu has lots of small plates - meat, veg, etc. and a good assortment of drinks. The food is not terribly expensive and the portions are what you would expect for tapas that are being shared. The problem was the service. Food was brought to the table and left even though it was not ordered. Then some time later the waiter came by to announce it was belonged to someone else but as it had been sitting there more than 15 minutes they offered it for free. No thanks - I didn't order it, and didn't want to eat it. When it was clear we were done eating - the dishes having been removed by the table bus person - and sitting with an open wallet on the table we waited almost 15 minutes to get the check. That was completely unacceptable, it was not that busy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cujo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tasca C, Manager at La Tasca - Canary Wharf, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hola cujo31.
I am very sorry to hear you had a poor experience with us. We regret the outcome of your meal. I would be grateful if you could contact me at the restaurant on 02075319990 or e-mail me your contact number to latasca.canarywharf@latasca.co.uk so I can discuss the matter with you in more detail and hopefully resolve in a satisfactory manner. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tasca - Canary Wharf also viewed

 

Been to La Tasca - Canary Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing