We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, honest grub...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice Island

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spice Island
Ranked #16,126 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$14 - US$30
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, honest grub...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

With its ageing carpet and formica tables, this isn't really the place for a special occasion. That said, the restaurant itself is quite serviceable, and the food's decent. I've always found the waiting staff to be very friendly, too, and nothing's too much trouble (always happy to add extra chillies of make a dhansak 'vindaloo hot'). I've also had lots of takeaways from this place down the years: again, I would give a whole-hearted recommendation. Very reasonably priced, and loads of it! Always enough for a second helping the following evening!

Cheap, no-frills, no-nonsense dining...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    4
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good Ruby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We live local and it's the Indian of choice takeaway or eat in. The review has to be 100 characters so just adding extra!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fleabein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent u.k
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“munch ..... scrummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Been here several times and I love the food here, we have been the past 3 new years eves and the service is good too. You get alot in your dishes and is always nice and if there is too much you can always take some home with you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haras5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, service, price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

we are regular indian food eaters and this was up to scratch, with low prices and large portions. The meat dishes were well prepared, having probably been marinated in the sauces rather than sauced-up at the last minute.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“curry at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

been many times great service and good food and good value

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank sheila g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Island also viewed

 

Been to Spice Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing