We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in a high value area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suchard

Suchard
Reserve with OpenTable
Suchard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,113 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Southwark
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good value in a high value area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Four of us meet here and had an average Thai meal by London standards. On the plus side the service is fast, the staff are pleasant and the Mussaman curry was very tasty. The bill with drinks worked out at £22 a head which is good value for London. On the minus side the contents of the Thai mixed starter platter was very greasy and seemed to have been deep fried some time earlier. Most unappetising. Our two seafood dishes were OK but the stir fried duck with ginger was tasteless and seemed to use pre cooked duck stirred into a tasteless thin sauce. Disappointing. The restaurant decor is basic but even on a Monday night the place was very busy so it seems to be popular with local residents and workers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sjdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    77
    32
    4
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fast fast food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I struggle to find Thai near home so thought we would enjoy whilst in the city! After reading some reviews in this place I was expecting speedy service but wow. Our drinks had literally arrived when they brought our dishes. We ordered the jungle curry and a rice noodle dish (the only one with 3 heat stars)! We were asked on ordering if we like hot food.... The jungle curry was great (a good madras heat) the noodles were on another level. I had head spin, watering eyes and runny nose. Took at least 20 mins to stop sweating. Not as good as other Thai places we've been but very reasonably priced for the city.

Helpful?
Thank loubiehigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Should have left after starter was served...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

... they literally deep friend everything which was obviously pre prepared. Yuck. I was still up at 3am taking Gaviscon. This place is walking distance from our home and we always knew it looked a bit rough from the outside but thought we'd give it a chance as we were meeting a friend in Tooley Street. There was not one redeeming dish. Wish I had taken photo of mixed platter - the grease was floating on the plate. The dishes were all overcooked (left in saucepan probably and rewarmed). Do not go there, please.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JanDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suchards, Manager at Suchard, responded to this review, 28 October 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for posting a comment about your experience here at Suchards.
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. We can assure you that not everything is deep fried, as it does depend on which food you ordered. Our foods are freshly cooked in order to give the best quality Thai food to our customers. Furthermore, we definitely do not re-heat our food. However, we apologise that you did not have a great experience and hope that you could try something else, as we have over 100 dishes to choose from.

Best wishes,
Suchards Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“great thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

first time here just by london bridge. great food nice cold chang beer. we had fish and seafood they were both very tasty. so much so we are going back this saturday. think this will be our new local restaurant

Helpful?
Thank chrislondon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thumbs down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have been to this place...and I do not think I will be back.. Dumplings, horrible taste...coconut soup was tasteless and small compared to other Thai restaurants...

Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suchard also viewed

 

Been to Suchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing