We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing Find!”

Humble Grape Battersea
Ranked #83 of 23,821 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Clapham / Battersea
Description: Our wine bar serves small-plate dishes and sharing platters, which are sourced, prepared and served with the same loving care as our wines. Perfect for lining the stomach ahead of some serious wine tasting. We are an independent wine merchant and tasting event company. We import high quality boutique wines from small, family-owned vineyards. Our wines are sustainably produced and we care about delivering a high standard experience to our customers. Join us every Sunday for our Humble Roasts
Reviewed 12 August 2019

Recently went for dinner at the Humble Grape, shared a few of the most DELICIOUS small plates and tried one of the many wines on offer. Had the best advise on which wine to choose from Laura, she suggested a beautiful wine to pair with the dishes. throughout the evening we had outstanding service from a gentleman (John), very helpful and made us feel very welcome! Will recommend this to friends & family and cannot wait to return!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Nomad771732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 78 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2019 via mobile

The wine flight was brilliant as usual and the food was also good. I can wholly recommend HG and we have been loyal visitors since it first opened.
One thing that irritated me - and loses the review one star-was that the 12.5% service charge wasn’t just applied to our food and drink, it was also applied to the two bottles of wine we bought to take away with us - we didn’t notice until we’d got home, but I think that’s extremely cheeky as if we’d just walked in to shop (and taken the same wine home) we’d not have been charged service on the bottles. Watch out for that....

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Njo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humblegrape09, Manager at Humble Grape Battersea, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2019

Hi Njo_82, thanks for bringing your experience to our attention! And we agree with your irritation, as that is not what is suppose to happen. Your retail bottles should have gone on a different transaction than your dining bill. Please bring your receipt in & we will be more than happy to refund the service charge amount for the total bill. As a little gift, please enjoy a glass of wine on us! Any question feel free to email us on battersea@humblegrape.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2019

Visited the Humble Grape for an anniversary and was very impressed with the service. Waiters were all very knowledgeable and personable. I'd honestly say the service was up there with the best I've had (I don't eat out huge amounts but 2-3 times a month).

I prefer red wines but found a white 'for those that normally drink red' and it was lovely.

Went with another white after some assistance from one of the waiters and loved it. Knew exactly what wine I'd like based on preferences and what I normally drink.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a couple of glasses of wine to full dinner party.

Will be visiting again for sure!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Csimon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2019

Great food, amazing wine selection, love the atmosphere d decor. Staff are all absolutely incredible. So helpful, friendly, knowledgable about all the wine (not quite sure how!) and yet so professional. Been there twice now and can't wait to go back again. My new favourite local restaurant!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank AoifeB155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humblegrape09, General Manager at Humble Grape Battersea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2019

Hi AoifeB155, you made us blush (& we can't even blame the wine for that)! Can't wait to host you again & we are proud to be your fav local! See you soon, Cheers x Team HG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2019

Having been once before and had John look after us so well the first time we decided to bring our family here. The bar was raised yet again with John continuing where he left off last time. The food was unbelievably tasty, only bettered by the wine, chosen via expert & fun guidance from John.

Will be back, again and again.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humblegrape09, General Manager at Humble Grape Battersea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2019

Hi Matt E, John is an absolute all-star & we love that he was able to gie you the best evening, because he always makes ours! Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review, and can't wait until your back again. Cheers x Team HG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Humble Grape Battersea also viewed

 

Been to Humble Grape Battersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.