We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

La Pizzeria Italiana
Ranked #3,795 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Pizzeria Italiana we strive to use ingredients imported from Italy in order to offer you an authentic dining experience. Our chef uses recipes and methods that have been passed on from generation to generation, recipes and techniques that are not to be found in any cookery book or learnt in any school.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Faultless”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Really don't know how you can fault this place. It is truly unpretentious - when we first went I wondered if there would even be seating inside. Just a fantastic restaurant with excellent pizza and pasta, reasonable prices for food and wine. We have never managed dessert here but I always think it looks fantastic when others order it. Franco and Janet provide a great atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afterneuxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    18
    0
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure.”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have been using Pizza Italiana for over 20 years, it is a hidden treasure. If I'm down in the dumps then my husband knows where he has to take me.
The restaurant recently changed hands and thankfully Franco and Janet have not tried to fix something that isn't broken......they have tweaked a couple of things, added their own flavour and may I say everything is as it should be, "tasty as ever".
If your looking for that authentic Italian feel without spending a fortune, then honestly look no further than here, can't recommend the place enough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyAvalon18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Italian home cooking”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This restaurant, a hidden gem under the horrible concrete mass of Eros House in Catford, was run until very recently by Zak and Jackie, who were much loved and appreciated locally, but due to Zak's ill-health they have given up and it is now owned by Franco and Janet, who have made an absolutely cracking start - the atmosphere is as friendly as it ever was and I think the cooking is even better.

The pizzas are thin and crispy, the pasta and its sauces delicious, and there are always day specials, written up on blackboards. We've had excellent Penne alla Norma (tomato and aubergines) before, but tonight was a special anniversary so we pushed the boat out a bit, and it really was fabulous.

We had home-made fish soup, generous chunks of fish and squid and vegetables in an excellent stock, followed by one of the best dishes of Fegato alla Veneziana I've ever had, melting little slices of liver in a deeply savoury onion gravy with perfectly cooked vegetables; and we finished with a shared home-made coffee semi-freddo, served affogato with a slosh of hot espresso. We drank a very good bottle of Montepulciano di Abruzzo. The prices are very reasonable, the service friendly, the atmosphere happy for families and couples alike.

We wish them every success!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KM Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad at all ...”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Not bad at all .. Had nice pizza, nice night good service
Will return.yeah bit out of the way but if you find it its worth it

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrandmrs1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but well worth it!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Along with the Catford Bridge Tavern, this Italian gem is a jewel in South-EastLondon. The service is warm and welcoming, the food is excellent. It is truly the best pizza in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Breakfastluvva x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pizzeria Italiana also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to La Pizzeria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing