We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tough on the wallet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dinings

Dinings
Ranked #1,378 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Marylebone
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Tough on the wallet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Once upon a time, this was a neighbourhood restaurant. Not any more. Dining has been featured all over the place and we witness how all diners around us responded "YES" when asked whether it was their first time at the restaurant. One reason for this can the stiff prices this venue commands. The quality of the food is good but variable. The miso soup is fantastic, both the mushroom and the the lobster variation, and the aubergine dish nears perfection. Sushi portions are tiny and the rolls were, to my taste, so-so. The two crab roll is pretty fussy and lacking taste.
Dining is very small, with a compact bar area upstairs and an underground sitting space with low ceiling that felt a touch oppressive when the place filled up.
We noticed a rather pushy behavior of one of the waiters when recommending orders to the middle east customers while we were fortunate enough to have a completely unobtrusive service.
I was looking forward to visit Dining but I got the impression that we were several years too late.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    88
    40
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
263 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good quality but at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We generally enjoy sushi, rols etc and heard of Dinings a while ago. On this visit to London we managed to visit this restaurant in a small house in a residential area. On the entrance level there is a small Sushi bar with perhaps 6 seats while the main dinings room is in the cellar. In winter the temperature was fine but I could imagine that it will get pretty warm. We ordered a starter of aubergine with Miso which was very nice indeed. This was folllowed by Sushi (Botan-ebi, Unagi, Hotate, and a few more) as well as tuna roll and crab tempura roll. It was all very good but our main gripe is with the prices which are really remarkably high. We are perfectly happy to pay high prices if the relation to the quality is appropriate. Here my feeling is that the prices are not quote justified by the quality. Nevertheless, if you are looking for quality, this is a place to consider. We may return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Astrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
204 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great twists on modern sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Do not go to this small restaurant except to eat very expencive beautiful presented fish and beef
The wagu beef tacos followed by chefs selection of sushi
Is an experience
One of the best in london
Not cheap

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dub53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible experience. Expensive place.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I could name millions of Japanese restaurants with better service, better food, more quantity and way less expensive.

I feel treated like a stupid when I go to places like this. They make you believe that you are eating the most amazing sushi in the world, just because the name of the dish sounds cool, it's very expensive and the presentation seems "posh". The truth is that they are giving you low quality food in poor quantity and making you pay 5 times more than what it really costs.

The staff was really rude and the place too weird... in a negative way.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SSM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great and consistent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have been here twice in a month and the food was excellent both times. So many fab things to try and taste. Attentive, knowledgeable staff. will be going back again soon I hope.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Niblob13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dinings also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Dinings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing