We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not four star quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The RE London Shoreditch
Ranked #550 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not four star quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with a group of female friends/colleagues March 2014. The staff were very friendly and helpful but the rooms etc were not four class quality. The bathroom door didn't fit properly and had to be pulled very firmly to close, the main room door catch was broken off and my quilt cover, although clean had a 7inch rip down the side. I would have been happy to stay here at 3star prices as I believe that's what it us but think I would have got a better deal staying at a premier inn.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    547
    306
    90
    92
See reviews for
163
457
93
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Check in here was an absolute nightmare. It was slow and I could see a lot of people looking stressed.
When I finally got to the desk, I realised why - They want a £50 room deposit from you for insurance against room damage!!
When I challenged this I got a lot of attitude from the reception staff. I did search for another hotel on my mobile as she was talking to me but couldnt find one under the £160 I'd have to pay for this hotel. I'd have like to tell her to keep her room and walk out.

Here's some other good / bad points:

Good
-Room size and free water. I did have an executive suite mind.
-Gym- Moddern equipment, free water and fruit. Go there just for that if anything!
-Food - Evening meal was nice.
-Location - Right near loads of nice things
-Comforatble beds and aircon in rooms

Bad
-Staff - Often snooty and always have a smart answer for everything
-Wifi - Don't bother. Use your 4G / 3G handset. They've had WIFI feedback for months on here and obviously dont give a toss as its still the same
-Breakfast - Paoched eggs overcooked to the point of being hard boiled.

Would I stay here again? I wouldnt be bothered either way if I did or didnt. Neutral.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basurq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I pre booked our room via Secretescapes.com, only to have give £50 deposit when checking in. The front desk assistant wasn't pleasant and given us a frosty appearance that we are gonna trash the room (hence the £50 deposit). Wasn't happy about the deposit thing as we wasn't informed till this till the check in but had a lovely room (apart from squeaky bathroom door) but the breakfast we could not complaint and the full English was to die for! So that's why I'm giving. 4 out of 5 instead of 5.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This was good/very good and perfectly suited my needs as a solo traveller to a conference nearby. Clean, comfortable and OK self-service breakfasts with a reasonable range of light, continental and cooked breakfasts. A notch above a Premier Inn - I would stay again if I needed to stay East of the City again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sybarites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

A comfortable and stylish room in a pleasant and well kept hotel. Bar was thriving although I didn't have a drink there. Bus stop outside the hotel which can take you all the way to Waterloo though central London should you need it.

Got a fantastic deal through lastminute.com

Only gripe was I ordered a double room and got a twin which was a bit annoying!

Will definite

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank owajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very good hotel and was a nice surprise to have bathrobes and slippers in room. Bar area very good and even had breakfast brought to the room. It's nearer to bethnal green tube station than shoreditch. Plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Algarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here a couple of times now whilst visiting our daughter who lives in Hackney. Hotel is clean. Bus stop outside taking you to lots of places including Liverpool st station and then easily onto the underground system and Central London.Interesting eateries in walking distance. Not taken breakfast here or had an evening meal as there are lots of options in the locale.

Room Tip: Some quiet rooms available which don't face onto the main busy road which the hotel us located o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Town Hall Hotel
#153 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#85 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#108 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,470 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#104 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The RE London Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The RE London Shoreditch

Property: The RE London Shoreditch
Address: 419 - 437 Hackney Road, London E2 8PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#335 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The RE London Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RE Hotel London Shoreditch is the newest addition to Londons fashionable East-End, located within easy reach of the Citys financial district and Liverpool Street BR and Tube Station. As well as being convenient for both Stanstead and City airports, we are also right on the main arterial route into central London and the West-End. With air-conditioning throughout, our rooms have been designed with care and attention to detail and so they are perfect for your business or leisure visit to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The RE London Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Re London Shoreditch Hotel London
Days Inn London
Days Hotel London
Days Shoreditch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing