We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The RE London Shoreditch
Ranked #595 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights visiting family members. Staff overall were average, although one young lady was very helpful by assisting us to park in the underground basement - think she was a trainee so well done to her and thank you if you are reading this.. Bedroom, well I guess it is probably comparable to a Premier Inn, but with bathrobe and slippers thrown in...actually, if a PI was in the locality I would have stayed there without hesitation as they seem to have a good standard from my experience.

1st night was very disturbed by an alarm that kept going off in the bathroom. By 3 am we had had enough and phoned down, only to be told by the reception to press the button ! What button !!! we could not find it, anyway it stopped after another hour when one of us flushed the Loo ! No, I have no idea either !

On check out, the staff seemed to know it was an issue and just said "yes, that happens".

I would stay again, as it's the closest place to where my family live, but would take ear plugs as the noise from the traffic is constant if you are not used to it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night at the end of July with my best friend..

It was a last minute booking so I used lastminute.com and thought it chance it with one of their "mystery hotel" deals since it was so cheap and only one night! It paid off..

The hotel is located a 10 min walk from bethnal green tube station, wouldn't be too keen walking round here alone at night but through the day was fine!

Checked in around 6pm so was quick, and was impressed with the standard of the room, well decorated and furnished. Didn't spend much time in the room as changed quickly and went out, was pleased to see when we returned at 3am the doors were locked and you needed to swipe your room key to get in.

The beds were very comfortable, both of us commented on this when we woke up! Check out was at 11am.

Would stay here again if I could get another bargain!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Katesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrynTanner, General Manager at The RE London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Kate, We at The RE London Shoreditch thank you for the time taken to write a positive review and are glad you were able to enjoy your short break with a good nights sleep. We hope to welcome you back to the RE soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

we stay there recently for a week.There were holes in the linen and towels the first night.We did not make any issue about that but when the fire alarms went off on 2 nights we complained.The alarms went off on the 2 night from 3.00am.Guests evacuated but we received no fire directions and fire brigade did not attend.We were initially informed it was steam from a shower that cause the problem but then later guests received a letter in the rooms stating it was our faulty because we had deactivated the fire sensor.We had not touched anything to do with the fire sensor.When we later questioned the duty manager about the letter we were informed that the letter was a mistake and they would send out another letter.We were informed that guests should not have evacuated because it was a false alarm but we were not told it was a false alarm until later.Very poor response from management.No fire procedure in place

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrynTanner, General Manager at The RE London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Allan, Firstly as per the letter that was sent on Saturday to all guests we apologise for the disturbance during the night, we understand that this was a difficult and frustrating evening and it is not pleasant to be woken up at night but the fact that the Fire System Alarm was triggered and was then compounded by other guests disconnecting sensors to trigger further faults were instances out of our control.

There were two letters that were put in guest bedrooms and a couple of bedrooms it appears did receive the incorrect letter so we again apologise - one letter was directed at the guests who had disconnected sensors making the system breach longer, the other letter was an open apology letter for the disturbance during the night.

The alarm was investigated by my team and it was correctly decided that we did not have a fire or risk to guests in the Hotel so we had no reason to call the Fire Brigade. As guests came down to the Reception area we advised that this was not a Fire Risk.

What made the issue worse was that a number of guests started to disconnect their fire sensors in their bedrooms and this started to create further faults in our Alarm System so the Alarm system was restarted a number of times over the next hour and half and guests again came to reception and were unhappy with the information given as to the reason why the alarms were still going off. From a Fire Security perspective and Risk Assessment we need to be clear that all zones of the hotel need to be safe and secure before we can reset the system and this was being compounded by further guests disconnecting as soon as we resolved one case and in some instances not allowing us to access the room.

The Managers on site were having to work between the office where the fire panel is located and via radios and were communicating with each other when trying to access the problem areas within the hotel via the detail given on the Fire Panel.

I would like to stress at no time was any guest in the Hotel at risk but the guests were not prepared to understand that we could not reset the system until all areas were checked and deemed safe and reconnected.

We have since had a visit from the Fire Safety Inspecting Officer for London Fire Brigade and he has checked all of our procedures, risk assessment, certification, testing and all logs as well as taking a detailed report of our actions on this night and he has found no faults or areas of concern. Our priority always has to be the safety of our guests and unfortunately a few people by their own actions have affected the stay of other guests within the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is in a run down area of Tower Hamlets. Shoreditch is about 1 mile away!
On arrival, the receptionist could hardly understand English and attempted to charge my credit card for the full amount of my stay even though I had prepaid.
Drug addicts kept us awake most of the night with their noisy shouting, outside our window, on 2 of the 4 nights we stayed there.
The staff seem to live in a world of their own, they hardly know what is going on, and on one occasion refused to eject rowdy and disruptive drinkers from the hotel.

Room Tip: If you HAVE to use this hotel, rooms on the top floor facing Hackney Road would probably be the quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrynTanner, General Manager at The RE London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Edward, We at the RE are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are indeed a five minute bus ride from the centre of Shoreditch as per shown on our website but we are not situated in a run down area but situated on the main Hackney Road between Shoreditch and Bethnal Green.
We do apologise if there was any confusion with regards to your check-in process, we are always endeavouring to improve training and will look at this area to make it clearer in the future.
I am afraid I am unable to comment on your reference to 'Drug Addicts' but this is not something we are aware of, it is a busy area with a lots of foot traffic to and from Shoreditch/Hoxton and Hackney and can only assume that people were travelling in a noisy fashion from a night out.
We obviously try to manage outside noise as best we can, and will always manage guests accordingly in the bar area, whether they are resident or non-resident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I too stayed at this hotel last weekend and I have to say I am more than disappointed with the way myself and my extended family were treated in view of the fire alam fiasco
We had five rooms between eight of us and stayed collectively between five and three nights two of which we were awakened in the early hours by the fire alarm !
My parents are both elderly and having to leave their room on five occasions during the night was simply unacceptable !
I have read over both letters from the guests also advising on their experience and concur with their account. However they fail to report that the reason a guest called the police ( not the hotel!!!) was due to drunken guests still being served at the bar and staff and management Knowing them to have hand in the fire alam been set off These thugs were then abusive to guests who voiced their objection -me being one of them!
The situation could have been a lot worse had the police not arrived as the confusion of what was happening in any language and the night management's inability to deal with the problem certainly angered many of the guests.
I too will be pursuing compensation as I think it only fair but am disappointed that this was not automatically offered and frankly fee l the managers letter pathetic
In short there are more good things about this hotel than bad but feel if a real emergency had arose those in charge would not have executed safety procedures in accordance with the law and for that reason I couldn't recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank moongal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrynTanner, General Manager at The RE London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest, Firstly as per the letter that was sent on Saturday to all guests we apologise for the disturbance during the night, we understand that this was a difficult and frustrating evening and it is not pleasant to be woken up at night but the fact that the Fire System Alarm was triggered and was then compounded by other guests disconnecting sensors to trigger further faults were instances out of our control.

In a simplified explanation guests of the Hotel set off our Fire Alarm by setting some call points off – this then obviously set off the alarm system. It was investigated by my team and it was correctly decided that we did not have a fire or risk to guests in the Hotel so we had no reason to call the Fire Brigade. As guests came down to the Reception area we advised that this was not a Fire Risk and we did have a number of guests who did not speak English and struggled to understand what we were saying, and this created a more frustrated environment where a number of guests becoming agitated.

What made the issue worse was that a number of guests started to disconnect their fire sensors in their bedrooms and this started to create further faults in our Alarm System so the Alarm system was restarted a number of times over the next hour and half and guests again came to reception and were unhappy with the information given as to the reason why the alarms were still going off. From a Fire Security perspective and Risk Assessment we need to be clear that all zones of the hotel need to be safe and secure before we can reset the system and this was being compounded by further guests disconnecting as soon as we resolved one case and in some instances not allowing us to access the room.

The Managers on site were having to work between the office where the fire panel is located and via radios and were communicating with each other when trying to access the problem areas within the hotel via the detail given on the Fire Panel.

The bar was open and serving drinks mainly to an in house group staying in the hotel, but we stopped serving alcohol at the bar at 3.30am. These were in-house guests and were not as described 'thugs' although there were a number of animated conversations between a number of guests as they were obviously wound up as to the reason fo their sleep being disturbed due tot he continual alarms. The Bar was only kept open until this time as we had confirmed that there was no threat or risk to guests and it was a matter of checking and resetting the Fire Alarm system.

I would like to stress at no time was any guest in the Hotel at risk but the guests were not prepared to understand that we could not reset the system until all areas were checked and deemed safe and reconnected.

We have since had a visit from the Fire Safety Inspecting Officer for London Fire Brigade and he has checked all of our procedures, risk assessment, certification, testing and all logs as well as taking a detailed report of our actions on this night and he has found no faults or areas of concern. Our priority always has to be the safety of our guests and unfortunately a few people by their own actions have affected the stay of other guests within the hotel.

Guests have been contacted personally by letter and email concerning the events

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

stayed at this hotel Fri 8/8 and Sat 9/8/14 with my husband, we were awoken at 3 am on Saturday morning by the sound of fire alarm in our room, at first we thought it was just our room, we tried ringing the front desk - no answer and then the emergency number, again no answer, so we attempted to go down to reception, we were on the fourth floor and the lifts had obviously stopped working with the alarms going off, only to be met by other guests coming back up as they had been told it was a false alarm and to pass this message onto any guests that were making their way downstairs.We returned to our rooms but the alarms went off again before 4am, at this point we decided to go to reception and ask exactly what was going on. There were a large number of guests down there already, the reception was unmanned including the emergency phone, the only member of staff there was the barman who seemed to have no problem serving alcohol but was unable or unwilling to answer any questions, eventually a trainee manager appeared and would only say it was a false alarm, maybe someone had been smoking in their room, there was no fire so he was trying to usher people back to their rooms. There was no point in this as firstly it was impossible to sleep with the noise from the alarms and more importantly guests needed reassuring that there was no fire. There then followed 90 mins of conflicting excuses, guests were smoking, guests had removed alarms as they couldnt sleep with the noise, guests were deliberately setting the alarms off. Eventually a guest called the police and at 4.30 am the deputy hotel manager Darryn Tanner stood in the midst of a group of us guests and solemnly promised that we would all be compensated, we would not be charged for this night, We went back to our rooms but at almost 5 am and having to be up again at 7am we hardly got any sleep. The lifts were still not working the next day. On checking out on Sunday morning we were expecting our bill to have automatically been adjusted but were told by the staff that the manager had left no instructions and there were no senior management in the hotel till Monday morning, as I was paying by credit card and they already had my card details I was charged for two nights and told to contact the manager myself after the weekend. The whole incident was handled badly, management either couldnt or didnt want to keep guests infomed, we kept asking why the emergency number was left unmanned, what if a guest had had a medical emergency, the only answer we got was we dont have enough staff to man emergency phones all the time !!! so basically stay at this hotel if you dont value your own health and safety !!!! I shall not let the matter for compensation go and will definately be contacting the hotel direct.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank patricia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrynTanner, General Manager at The RE London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Patricia,

Firstly as per the letter that was sent on Saturday to all guests we apologise for the disturbance during the night, we understand that this was a difficult and frustrating evening and it is not pleasant to be woken up at night but the fact that the Fire System Alarm was triggered and was then compounded by other guests disconnecting sensors to trigger further faults were instances out of our control.

In a simplified explanation guests of the Hotel set off our Fire Alarm by setting some call points off – this then obviously set off the alarm system. It was investigated by my team and it was correctly decided that we did not have a fire or risk to guests in the Hotel so we had no reason to call the Fire Brigade. As guests came down to the Reception area we advised that this was not a Fire Risk and we did have a number of guests who did not speak English and struggled to understand what we were saying, and this created a more frustrated environment where a number of guests becoming agitated.

What made the issue worse was that a number of guests started to disconnect their fire sensors in their bedrooms and this started to create further faults in our Alarm System so the Alarm system was restarted a number of times over the next hour and half and guests again came to reception and were unhappy with the information given as to the reason why the alarms were still going off. From a Fire Security perspective and Risk Assessment we need to be clear that all zones of the hotel need to be safe and secure before we can reset the system and this was being compounded by further guests disconnecting as soon as we resolved one case and in some instances not allowing us to access the room.

The Managers on site were having to work between the office where the fire panel is located and via radios and were communicating with each other when trying to access the problem areas within the hotel via the detail given on the Fire Panel.

The bar was open and serving drinks mainly to an in house group staying in the hotel, but we stopped serving alcohol at the bar at 3.30am. The Bar was only kept open until this time as we had confirmed that there was no threat or risk to guests and it was a matter of checking and resetting the Fire Alarm system.

I would like to stress at no time was any guest in the Hotel at risk but the guests were not prepared to understand that we could not reset the system until all areas were checked and deemed safe and reconnected.

We have since had a visit from the Fire Safety Inspecting Officer for London Fire Brigade and he has checked all of our procedures, risk assessment, certification, testing and all logs as well as taking a detailed report of our actions on this night and he has found no faults or areas of concern. Our priority always has to be the safety of our guests and unfortunately a few people by their own actions have affected the stay of other guests within the hotel.

I was not actually on site on the evening in question and so no conversation was had between myself and guests or Police about refunding guests and this has not been offered as although we appreciate that their sleep during this night was affected, my staff tried their best to manage a very difficult situation that became a more serious problem due to the actions of a few guests not only in their rooms but by threatening angry behaviour (mob mentality and deciding to access our private offices) in the reception area and towards staff, there was also damage caused by guests during this period of time. Guests have been contacted personally by letter and email concerning the events

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here last night after a special night out in London and this was within a cab ride of our event.

We went to bed around 1am, but were woken from 3 am to 5 am by a (very loud) fire alarm consistently going off in our room! To top it all off, it went off again at 9.15 am when we were trying to get a sleep-in having had no sleep all night!!

Whilst understanding that these things happen, the way the night manager and morning manager handled it was completely unprofessional with no communication whatsoever. The first time the alarm went off most of the hotel guests gathered outside wondering if it was a real fire. We were left standing outside for 5 minutes before going inside to see what was happening to be told "it's a false alarm, go back to bed" almost crossly (like we had done the wrong thing by evacuating the building!!)

Approx 20 minutes later just as we had started to doze off, it happened all over again! And again and again until approx 4.30 am. In the end we gave up and went and had a cup of tea in the bar! Some of the more tired and angry guests were trying to find out what was going on and if it was going to stop and we were never properly told anything!

I met a man from one room who was just looking out of his doorway and not bothering to evacuate as he said "it had all happened the night before as well!!"

This morning we were finally given some story about a steamy shower in one of the rooms setting it off the first time. Does that really happen?? Not in any hotels I have ever stayed in. They obviously have very dodgy or sensitive alarms in place. What is worrying that the fire prevention measures became completely useless as eventually half the guests were just ignoring it (as best they could) and staying in their rooms anyway - what if a fire really had broken out???

On checkout, we asked about some form of compensation (we had already paid as we booked through lastminute), no one on duty was available to help with any sort of reassurance, refunds or compensation so we just paid for our bar extras and left (very tired and had a rubbish day out in London because of it!)

I will be trying to chase up some sort of refund or compensation with the senior hotel manager who will be on duty on Monday but I don't hold out much hope.

The mad thing is, if they had been a bit more apologetic and offered a free breakfast/discount or any sort of recompense, this would have smoothed things over and left most of the guests not so angry over it!

On other things, the rooms themselves are okay, modern and clean enough, the guy on the bar was very friendly and pleasant and the women on checkout were pleasant although unable to offer anything tangible to compensate, so we paid in full.

It should not be up to us to chase for compensation! Sort your alarm systems out, a hotel has a "duty of care" to provide somewhere peaceful to sleep - surely! Thanks to the RE Shoreditch for ruining our one-child free night away in London in ages! You don't deserve business!

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrynTanner, General Manager at The RE London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Heather,

Firstly as per the letter that was sent on Saturday to all guests we apologise for the disturbance during the night, we understand that this was a difficult and frustrating evening and it is not pleasant to be woken up at night but the fact that the Fire System Alarm was triggered and was then compounded by other guests disconnecting sensors to trigger further faults were instances out of our control.

In a simplified explanation guests of the Hotel set off our Fire Alarm by setting some call points off – this then obviously set off the alarm system. It was investigated by my team and it was correctly decided that we did not have a fire or risk to guests in the Hotel so we had no reason to call the Fire Brigade. As guests came down to the Reception area we advised that this was not a Fire Risk and we did have a number of guests who did not speak English and struggled to understand what we were saying, and this created a more frustrated environment where a number of guests becoming agitated.

What made the issue worse was that a number of guests started to disconnect their fire sensors in their bedrooms and this started to create further faults in our Alarm System so the Alarm system was restarted a number of times over the next hour and half and guests again came to reception and were unhappy with the information given as to the reason why the alarms were still going off. From a Fire Security perspective and Risk Assessment we need to be clear that all zones of the hotel need to be safe and secure before we can reset the system and this was being compounded by further guests disconnecting as soon as we resolved one case and in some instances not allowing us to access the room.

The Managers on site were having to work between the office where the fire panel is located and via radios and were communicating with each other when trying to access the problem areas within the hotel via the detail given on the Fire Panel.

I would like to stress at no time was any guest in the Hotel at risk but the guests were not prepared to understand that we could not reset the system until all areas were checked and deemed safe and reconnected.

We have since had a visit from the Fire Safety Inspecting Officer for London Fire Brigade and he has checked all of our procedures, risk assessment, certification, testing and all logs as well as taking a detailed report of our actions on this night and he has found no faults or areas of concern. Our priority always has to be the safety of our guests and unfortunately a few people by their own actions have affected the stay of other guests within the hotel.

We very much appreciate that guests sleep during this night was affected, my staff tried their best to manage a very difficult situation that became a more serious problem due to the actions of a few guests not only in their rooms but by threatening angry behaviour (mob mentality and deciding to access our private offices) in the reception area and towards staff, there was also damage caused by guests during this period of time. Guests have been contacted personally by letter and email concerning the events

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Town Hall Hotel
#200 of 1,076 in London
1,407 reviews
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#590 of 1,076 in London
191 reviews
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#107 of 1,076 in London
3,436 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#97 of 1,076 in London
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The RE London Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The RE London Shoreditch

Address: 419-437 Hackney Road, London E2 8PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#349 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £65 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The RE London Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RE Hotel London Shoreditch is the newest addition to Londons fashionable East-End, located within easy reach of the Citys financial district and Liverpool Street BR and Tube Station. As well as being convenient for both Stanstead and City airports, we are also right on the main arterial route into central London and the West-End. With air-conditioning throughout, our rooms have been designed with care and attention to detail and so they are perfect for your business or leisure visit to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The RE London Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Re London Shoreditch Hotel London
Days Inn London
Days Hotel London
Days Shoreditch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing