We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food, Mediocre Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bayswater Arms

Bayswater Arms
Ranked #3,134 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$0 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent food, Mediocre Service”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I had their pot roast dinner. Decent food, needed some salt. English food is pretty bland in general so the menu was limited. Decent beer selection. Service was mediocre.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LieutenantDan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    172
    90
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Really busy on a Thursday night. Good pint! Chatty, efficient staff. Clean. seems to be a popular pub for the 30+ age group.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice London Pub”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were there twice. The first time was a bit late, so the kitchen was closed and we had to settle for a pint of ale on an empty stomach. It was a good ale, though.
The second time around we were able to taste some of Britain's infamous fish and chips, which came with green peas on the side, so that was good.
There's a sign on the door saying you should go to the bar and order before taking a seat. Then the waiter will deliver to your table, but that's all the service you can expect away from the bar.
I wouldn't recommend it for a date or anything with romantic purposes, but it was a lovely place to chill with friends and talk a little loudly over a few pints and music.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBDalessandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Typical pub fare”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stopped in for lunch and a pint, the whole place smelled of fish which seemed to feature heavily on the menu. Yes i know we're British and we love fish and chips but some variation might be nice! Anyway in typical British fashion we ordered fish finger sandwiches which were ok for the price we paid. The pint was lovely went down a treat but was very expensive but then it's London so what do you expect! Nice atmosphere in here but would avoid if you're looking for anything special to eat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angiebeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Atmosphere fine, beer OK, food very poor”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My opinion, based on a recent visit is very similar to opinions expressed on the pub's own website, so they are not bothered about what people think, that's for sure. So why am I bothering with writing this review? Largely because the other reviews seem to be from tourists and they ought to be warned about the food. I ordered a steak pie which came quite quickly, always a bad sign. The plate was chilled and so, consequently, were the vegetables. In contrast the pie (quite a small one as it happens) was searingly hot having no doubt been blasted by a microwave, judging by the concrete hard pastry enclosing the meat. I complained about the cold plate and seriously undercooked (I know what al dente means and these were not even that) vegetables, and was given a new bowl of vegetables some time later after I had finished my food. Now, they can be forgiven for this happening on the odd occasion but other customer reviews on their own website mentioned this around 2 years ago. Either they consider that raw vegetables are good for you or they don't care what customers say and will carry on regardless.
The bar staff were pleasant enough but a bit clueless judging by their inability to provide simple drinks ordered by other customers. I was in the Bayswater area for a couple of days and having tried another pub that I won't go back to, I gave this one a try - another dud. These places are not offering what good pubs ought to be offering. The menus are OK, up to a point, but my food was very poor. I am very disappointed in the quality. The vegetables were of acceptable quality, just cook the damn things for more than for a few seconds and serve on a hot plate. The pie would probably have been OK had it not been heated to within an inch (cm) of its life in a microwave. Its not rocket science and not much to ask, and the management would do well to take legitimate complaints seriously and try to improve what is being offered rather than look at their takings and say that's fine thank you very much. We don't have to bother.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakselus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Bayswater Arms, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Lakselus, thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments were a concern to hear and I would like to investigate your visit further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this further and look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards, Taylor Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayswater Arms also viewed

 

Been to Bayswater Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing