We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Yazu Sushi

Yazu Sushi
Ranked #15,502 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“AVOID !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very disappointing , the chef was extraordinary rude and spoilt the evening and created a really nasty atmosphere in the restaurant. The waitresses we're clearly embarrassed by his behaviour.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    44
    18
    21
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice small sushi bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We bought 2 vouchers. The offer seemed good. We booked with no problems and, even if we were a little bit late, they were very kind.
As I supposed, we had no enough of the dishes included and we took more.
The sushi was good, fresh, and all the staff very kind.
If you want a 5 star sushi, you can't expect to pay 1.6 or 2.5 pounds a dish... go to Nobu, you'll have a excellent product for 100 pounds.
If you want an informal, right priced and fresh sushi, this is the sushi bar for you!

Helpful?
Thank Alex_London_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just come back from here and we can not sing its praises enough. The staff were extremely nice and friendly, the building was intimate and cosy and the food brilliant. I can't understand the negative reviews it has, my wife and I thought it was great! We would recommend!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average very overpriced sushi and horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

As I love sushi I was very happy when bought a voucher from Wowcher.co.uk for £20 giving me £40 to spend on sushi there. First experience was horrible. Yazu simply has a terrible booking system. 2 weeks ago, I called in to arrange a take-away and I was informed that I can come in at 6:30. When I arrived couldn't find my booking and refused to give me take-away box even though there were only 2 people in the whole restaurant and I wasted 1 hour on a journey there. The service there is awful and I still can’t believe that they refused to take my take-away order even though they were almost empty. Just to be on a safe side, I have sent them an email in order to reserve it for today and to receive a confirmation that it is booked. Not to my surprise when I arrived today, they couldn’t find my booking again but after I have shown them an email they confirmed that it was their mistake. It would be nice if they apologised but instead I only heard to go to the belt and pick up the dishes I wanted. They told me that the voucher from Woucher was not valid for take-away menu but I could pick up dishes from the belt. Most dishes were £4 each for 1 or 2 pieces of sushi which I found to be extremely overpriced and there was a relatively small selection of dishes. They definitely do not have all the sushi kinds listed on their website. I usually get full boxes from Wasabi or Itsu which are probably the same or even better quality and they consist of minimum 8-12 pieces for the same price. Sushi was OK but as I eat it all the time I was not impressed with the quality. To sum up, there are many nicer sushi restaurants in London so do not waste your time and money there. Yazu Sushi left me very disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awful!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

One of the worst restaurant experiences I've had.
AVOID if you can!
Too expensive, arrogant staff, too small. Just awful in every way.
Please let this place go out of business by avoiding it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank susanna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yazu Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Yazu Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing