We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great South Kensington Location and Value”
other travellers have booked this property
A stunning two bedroom house in a secluded area of South Kensington.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A stunning two bedroom house in a secluded area of South Kensington.
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
A stunning two bedroom house in a secluded area of South Kensington.
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen / diner with all utensils, wall tv and dining table seating six people.
Stylish kitchen diner with full utensils, wall mounted t.v, washer dryer. Why not dine in some eveni
The Natural History Museum, 10 minutes away on foot.
Gloucester Road Tube Station is less 5 minutes walk away (even in the rain).
Cosy upstairs bedroom with double bed and ensuite bathroom with a bath and shower head.
Upstairs bedroom.
The Master Bedroom
Rent a Boris Bike (one minute away from the house) and explore London,
Relax in the beautiful surroundings and fresh air in Hyde Park.
Cosy bedroom sleeping two with ensuite bathroom.
The Queen Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
Harrods, 5 minutes away in a Black Cab.
Bathroom
Living Room
Theatre district is just a few stops away on the Tube.
Supermarket and shopping arcade are moments away.
Living Room
View our cobbled in a friendly neighbourhood.
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Science Museum, a short walk away.
The Royal Albert Hall, South Kensington.
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
London, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
boxboroug...
boston ma
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great South Kensington Location and Value”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My friend and I appreciated the chance to spread out in two ensuite bedrooms after walking the Cotswolds in tight quarters for over a week. The flat is located literally along the Gloucester Road tube,(you can see the track right out the window) making transportation easy. Despite the proximity, we were on a quiet mews, with the mellow rolling of the tube and birdsong our only sounds.We walked to Kensington Gardens, took the tube to Windsor Castle, and had delicious meals at the cafes around the corner. We even had a chance to pop in the Victoria and Albert Museam. Having a place to do laundry was a big plus for us too. Convenience and location are a big plus here!! The owners were quick to reply to something that came up as well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharyn L
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We enjoyed this location, the house is surrounded by lovely streets and homes and has great access to public transport. The house was warm and the neighbors were friendly. Many light bulbs were blown on our arrival but these were fixed during our stay and the owner was in good contact with us. The bathrooms were a bit troublesome for us as the downstairs shower drained so slowly it took forever to get 4 people through a quick shower each. Upstairs has only a bath and the shower attachment did not work. Overall we were safe and content.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Hi Sharyn
Many apologies about the light bulbs. I am pleased we could replace them all quickly.
It's a shame that you didn't let us know about the difficulties with the shower(s). The shower attachment upstairs works perfectly. I could easily have told you how this works. We will put a notice into the upstairs bathroom so that future guests are aware.
Also, if we had known about the problem that you encountered with the downstairs shower, we could have dealt with this as well – the problem would have easily been fixed.
In any event, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is just a shame about these niggles, particularly when they could have been dealt with.
Regards
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane F
1 review
“Lovely mews house in a great location for a family trip to London”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The location of this house is ideal, 5 minutes walk from the Gloucester Road underground station with a great Waitrose store to make the most of the kitchen.
It's only a short walk to the Natural History, Science and V&A museums or slightly further to the Royal Albert Hall and Hyde Park, which are even easier to reach on a London bike, which can be hired from just around the corner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
amylovesl...
Silverdale, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, but . . .”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I've struggled with this review, simply because the owners were very responsive to the problems that arose and indeed even adjusted our rental price to acknowledge those difficulties. But I've decided that I owe a duty to other travelers interested in renting this property so that they can be fully informed before deciding where to reserve vacation lodging in London.
First off, the mews house has an absolutely brilliant location. You're just a very few minutes' walk from the Underground at Gloucester Road, with both the Circle and Piccadilly lines. This gives you easy access to the West End for shows and an easy journey to and from Heathrow. Plus you can readily walk to the V & A, the Natural History museum, the Science museum. There's a Waitrose grocery store very handy at the Tube stop as well as a huge Sainsbury's only a few minutes' walk away. The house itself is nice and quiet. Even the passing underground trains are a minor, background noise that didn't disturb our enjoyment of the property.
The owners have done a nice job furnishing the property: the upstairs couch is a fun and comfortable place to relax and the downstairs table served us well both for eating meals and for reading, computer work and just generally planning our days in London. The washer/dryer was a real boon too.
Now for the cons: the ground floor bedroom and bathroom had really serious damp problems which prevented using the closet and made our stay there quite unpleasant. The odor crept through and the mold in the undersink cabinet was rather worrisome. The owners mentioned they were aware of the problem and had taken steps earlier to handle it but clearly that wasn't enough. They were planning to deal further with the issue, but without solid assurance that it was solved, I cannot honestly recommend staying here.
Also, be aware that the beds are small: they measure 54" wide which is equivalent to an American double or full size bed. This is smaller than a queen and much smaller than a king. Hard for two adults to get comfortable in a bed this size. The bedrooms are very small, no room for bedside table, chair or dresser. Just the closet to use. One side of the bed is up against the inside wall of each bedroom.
I wanted to like this place, not the least because Rob and Marion, the owners, were very easy to communicate with and did what they could from afar to solve the problems that arose. Clearly they care about their renters' experience. But vacation time is precious, and renting a place that doesn't measure up was a real disappointment for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - really great for enjoying London.
Liked least: The damp in the downstairs bedroom & bath; the small beds and small sized bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Dear Amy
Thank you so much for trying to be positive and as you have mentioned we have tried our best to make the place homely and comfortable. I actually agree with you at the moment. As you are aware we do no live in the Uk and are expats, however I did make atria trip there last week to sort out the problems you have mentioned. Since you left I have blitzed the place .Cleared out all the cupboards, cleaned the wardrobe with thick domestos and painted in myself with anti mold paint,pulled out the carpet, replaced it with tiles and am in the middle of getting professional tradesmen in to paint the bedrooms and ordering a whole new bathroom downstairs and brand new carpets for both bedrooms. It will be immaculate when it is finished in a few weeks. As for the size of the beds, they are standard size double beds. I'm afraid there is not much we can really do in a traditional Mews cottage. I myself love a kingside bed but have not struggled when we have stayed there so do not think them particularly small (plus there is an extra double sofa bed in the living room). I am the one who has made most of the calls on decoration and comfort of our place and have tried to do everything through the eyes of potential guests. Being well travelled ourselves we have tried to give every comfort possible. Saying that I do agree that some tender loving care is needed in the bathroom, downstairs bedroom area so I will be flying back again to make sure that everything is perfect in the near future and that our guests can enjoy the exciting location we have provided in London in the comfort of a cosy Mews cottage.
Thank you for your constructive feedback it is very important!
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The bathroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Nov 2016
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
The location of the house is one its best points – it's a short walk to the museum district and easy to get just about anywhere in central London and the West End. It's also great that you were able to relax there in the evenings.
We apologise for these niggles with the bathrooms. We are getting these fixed at the moment (they would have been dealt with last week, but we postponed this your late booking!).
In any event, thank you for staying with us - we hope to welcome you back at some stage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the shower - the shower head holder was broken
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing