We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, thoroughly recommended.”

Flat Iron Covent Garden
Ranked #332 of 24,146 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Visited Flat Iron at 8pm on a Sunday night, had to wait 1hr but were very professional with the table text alerts, so we didn't mind.
The whole restaurant was lovely, great decor, attentive staff and very fast with the food delivery when we ordered.
We opted for the £10 flat iron steak, and thick cut chips.
Wow, the steak was great, using the unusual knife was a little fiddly tbh, but was manageable.
The bill was a little unusual, a 20p donation added onto our bill?
Nothing to worry about tbh but we were perplexed on that.
All in all, a great visit, would recommend to anybody to be fair.
We will definitely be visiting again when we're in London again.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank MatthewM862
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,249 - 2,253 of 3,444 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2016

We passed by this place after a day of shopping in London early Saturday evening, looked nice and were tempted by a £10 steak (in London?!) and Beavertown beer but told there was a 40 minute wait. Said no thanks then looked on TA for nearby places and saw this place was really well rated, so went back and asked for a table, they took a phone number and said they'd text when the table was ready so we went for a walk round Covent Garden. After 40 min we got a text so went back there, got seated straight away and served quickly.

Steaks really were just a tenner, you could get more expensive steaks (Sirloin, rump etc) but we went for the standard flat iron. When it arrived it was perfectly cooked, no fat or gristle, it was sliced making it easier to cut small pieces with our mini cleavers. Tasted delicious, chips were £2.50 extra but good. After dinner we were told that we could get a free ice cream on the way out, this was also delicious (salted caramel ice cream with grated chocolate).

Only thing that wound me up was the "discretionary" 12.5% service charge added on, not because of issues with the service but i don't tip as a rule on basic principle. But it seems to be too common now

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jamie4773
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

This is the place to go if you are happy to have a steak and chips in very informal setting. The food is very well cooked. The price is keen. The menu is very simple (a house special steak plus 3 specials on the board). To top it all you get a free ice cream. The service is also spot on. You can't make a booking so be prepared to wait at busy periods. They do have a great SMS system which allows you to go off and be alerted when your table is free. All in all a cool place to enjoy a simple meal with friends.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AbdulL827
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

You need to be organised to eat at Flat Iron. Many of the other entries talk about the first come first served basis ... you ask for a table and are told how long you'll need to wait. They then text you when its available, so you can go and have a drink elsewhere.

Its worth noting that they don't seat you unless all the party are there. This is a little unusual, but bearing in mind their business model, its understandable. In terms of their model, this is not a restaurant where you sit and linger. They are keen to get you in, dining and then out. Hence, you don't reserve, they want you all there together and if you want coffee, you'll have to go elsewhere (but you do collect your ice cream on the way out). This keeps their tables turning over, to cope with the queues of people seeking to eat.

The menu is simple, beef focused and friendly on the wallet. Their main dish (steak and salad) is £10. You can order sides (chips, vegetables). When you sit, you're given popcorn and as previously mentioned there is an ice cream cone for desert (free). We all had the steak and salad and medium rare, as recommended. It was well prepared, cooked and served - and it was delicious!

We would recommend this place to anyone who likes their steak. If you can cope with the queuing for a table, then this could be for you. Great location, great service and wholesome food.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Wonderful steaks! Great restaurant and vibes- well priced. We were there bang on 12 for lunch and got a tables instantly- but was full within 20 minutes!
My only negative was that the staff were openly passing large wooden block plates over babies and children's heads- SO dangerous! I believed this was basic serving etiquette but apparently not.
Would come again but some staff awareness wouldn't go a miss.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Flat Iron Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Flat Iron Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.