We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor”

Barcelona Tapas Bar Y Restaurante
Ranked #15,363 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$20 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: City of London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Poor service, poor decoration, and unfortunately average food. I was disappointed by the attitude of the staff when booking a table, and the surly attitude extended to the experience of eating there. I felt ignored and to top it all off, the food was at best average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doddsy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    12
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst food I have eaten!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I went during lunchtime, and with a relatively empty restaurant I expected half decent service. Service was slow and inattentive, took 20 mins just to order the food, another 20 mins to get our drinks and another 10 mins on top of that before our food even arrived! Once we were finished with the food it took 20 mins after signalling for the bill for the bill to arrive...

Once the food arrived, the tapas was disappointing tasted like reheated microwaved tapas, and served in such a way that each tapas plate only contained what seemed like only half what would normally be served for a single tapas dish. The seafood paella which was to share contained almost no seafood, with only 3 mussels a couple of rings of squid and two prawns, and on top of that the rice was extremely soggy and over cooked.

Overall: Horrific Food, Terrible Service and Extremely overpriced; suggestion: go to ortega for tapas around the corner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fleecing clientele!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We visited the Lime street branch of Barcelona Tapas. Hidden in the basement the place on first look looks inviting. It was a weekday afternoon and we luckily booked as the place was full by lunch time. Vegetarians have very few options just repetition of one dish in different forms. Portions are very small and drenched in oil. They charged per person entry, even charged for extra sauce that we had to order as the dish was DRY! The bread basket also was charged...least of what could come complimentary from a tapas place. Also, the servers hardly speak english ad cannot explain anything from the menu....Paella the Spanish speciality supposedly takes 35-40 mins to cook hence no one orders it at lunch....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curious_traveller874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I chose Barcelona Tapas after reading all the good reviews on Square Meal, TripAdvisor and other sites. However the place turned out to be very disappointing.
We had one of the set menus with a mix of different types of tapas. While the classic ones (tortilla, albondigas, chorizo) were pretty tasty, the seafood ones were very tasteless and horrible. Mussels were dry and far from being fresh Likewise, the paella was dry and glued to the paella-pan. It tasted and looked like one of those yellow paellas that you find in those very touristy areas of Madrid or Barcelona.
Also, the service (more than 10%) came included in the bill although it was just two of us and although the waitresses kept forgetting to bring water or take orders.
Maybe we had the bad luck of having dinner there on the wrong night but I doubt I will give them another try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor service.....declining standard of food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My 2nd visit here, and things have declined. Inaccurate service when only 1/3 full at lunchtime..no prawns in oil, only scallops now.....and to top it off, balls of salt baked cod covered in breadcrumbs were fritters made of deep fried batter( not balls..not golden..and no fish whatsover !) The manager said that was what the dish was (despite the description on menu...and despite no fish). Really not good. Remaining dishes ok but will go elsewhere now.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimbowiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barcelona Tapas Bar Y Restaurante also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Barcelona Tapas Bar Y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing