We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a proper Sunday roast”
Review of The Thomas Cubitt

The Thomas Cubitt
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 4/18
20:00
Ranked #1,334 of 23,607 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$48
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Victoria
Transit: Victoria Station is a 10 minute walk away & Sloane Square tube is a 15 minute walk.
Description: Elegant and understated, The Thomas Cubitt in Belgravia embodies the epitome of the English aristocracy: restraint, reserve and royal connections. Named after the master builder The Thomas Cubitt attracts the Boden-clad Belgravia brigade as well as posh food lovers all the way from Primrose Hill and St John's Wood. A chic place for Sunday roasts and cosy evening meals, the first floor dining room is decorated with pearly grey walls and oak flooring, and the light-filled, wood-panelled ground floor bar is ideal for pre-dinner drinks.
Reviewed 23 May 2017

My husband and I were looking for a good Sunday roast and Hotel 41 suggested we come to this gastro pub. The pub is downstairs and the restaurant upstairs. It was very quaint upstairs, the service was great and we enjoyed our beef roast with Yorkshire pudding very much. It included plenty of veg.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank aha4159623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 372 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017

Great place to meet friends and easy to park after 6.30pm. The food is brassiere style and on the whole good. They do however pack you in like sardines so best time to go is when the sun is out. Service was good and waiters where very good.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Suethamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Thomas Cubitt certainly does not look like your typical British pub. Floor to ceiling windows take up two sides of the space which allow in plenty of light and sunshine (it can get quite warm if you're by a window). The pub has napkins serviettes. The food is also pretty good though a touch on the pricey side. The fish and chips - you get two decent sized pieces of crispy battered fish together with fabulous chunky chips and mushy peas (more like a paste) - were excellent and my wife quite enjoyed the smoked trout sandwich. The service was good and I enjoyed the house IPA (about ten types of beer are available on tap).

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T4232XIjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We ate in the upstairs dining room and we ended up having the whole place to ourselves, it was brilliant. The food and wine was amazing and the service was excellent too!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JakeCampbell127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We had a lovely meal in the upstairs dining room (not the bar lounge). My meal of butter poached plaice, mussels, tender stem broccoli and nettle dumplings was a truly interesting combination of textures and flavors. Tom had the pan friend hake with white beans and truffles, also extremely good. For a first course I had cold shaved asparagus with a beautiful orange yolk egg done perfectly (must have been sous vide) and Tom had the green wild garlic soup. This was the best meal of our two day stay in London.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cyssf2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thomas Cubitt also viewed

 

Been to The Thomas Cubitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.