We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Public Toilet at Tube Station”
Review of Hammersmith

Hammersmith
Ranked #431 of 1,633 things to do in London
Attraction details
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Public Toilet at Tube Station”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

On a recent visit to London, my friends and I used the tube from Earls Court to Hammersmith. While at Hammersmith station we used the public toilets. The woman in charge of the Ladies toilet is definitely the rudest person we have ever met, and she seriously needs do with a crash course in 'Customer Care Skills'! To get into the toilet area my friend and I put 50 pence each in the machines, but the barrier never opened and the money got lost. I rang the bell for assistance and this 'Loud mouthed' person appeared, shouting at me to stop ringing the bell. i explained what had happened and reluctantly she allowed me in, but would not allow my friend unless she paid more money. While my friends were getting more money another customer with a baby asked where the 'Baby Changing' facilities were? The attendant replied 'we don't have any.' The customer asked where could she go to look after the baby and the attendant replied 'How do i know, your child is not my problem!!' my friend and another customer told the attendant that she was the rudest person they had ever come across, and a male attendant that had just come along agreed with them. He said that's the way she speaks to people every day! Its mind boggling as to how this woman got a job dealing with the public....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
17 Thank Touraneena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    38
    21
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hammersmith”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Lovely location, nice suburb. Lots of shops nearby, and convenient location. Nice area for a walk as its safe and has a nice safe feeling to it. Lovely area would return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“kings road”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

What a lovely suburb. Walking down the street,having all the shops right in front of you but not so busy as central london. Massive primark,tk maxx.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank zeekayzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A good base in London.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hammersmith is a bit of a mixed bag. Some streets are badly run down and have little to offer except betting shops and cheap tacky mini-supermarkets. Others have nice local bars and eateries. The residential scene is equally mixed. There are awful looking flats and stunning looking apartments, literally around the corner from each other. The housing suburbs seem safe and pleasant for a walk-about and the views along the river are well-worth a look. Easy access to anywhere in the city on the Piccadilly line is useful. We came across some excellent fresh food stalls at the square at the Lyric for those who like to eat on the go. Choose Hammersmith as a base for a trip if you want to experience 'real life' in London, enjoy quick access to Heathrow Airport or visit Fulham FC. Would we return? Absolutely!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jd999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing fun day out”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Just as you get on to the mall by the river you start to relax.
Take a slow walk along the lower mall and you will come across a few differant pubs whilst looking at the rowers. Go by doing their training .
You will pass the ship pub the blue anchour pub if you walk further down you will reach the Dove pub it has the smallest bar in London in it at the front at the back there is a varander you can sit and watch the world go by while eating a lovely meal and a good pint .
If you go further on there is the ship pub a bit bigger and has a green area you can sit and have a picnic if you prefer .
All in all a great day out its not like being in London fab

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank dianoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hammersmith also viewed

 

Been to Hammersmith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing