We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going going gone”
Review of Pizza Express - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pizza Express
Price range: US$38 - US$43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Going going gone”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

FYI this branch is now closed and becoming a Waitrose. It was never a particularly good example and can't imagine it will be missed. There's still a lot of pizza available along West End Lane.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnitzelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dependable and professional”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I've been meaning to write a review of this Pizza Express for a while as it's one of our more regular local eateries.
They have a new menu which adds to the attraction as I was getting a bit bored with the same old fair the mini deserts are fabulous and well worth the money.
The best thing is the staff - very professional and friendly, we seem to see the same faces which is great.
A good local well priced venue, and great for families.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaireadR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Service was swift and food was as expected. Parking was also relatively easy in the evening around here. I like West Hampstead and all the lovely shops on West End lane.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nkybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice.”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

A lovely little place, nice and quiet at night and quick service. We had a lovely red onion and goats cheese pizza with a chicken topping as an extra. Very nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmLou92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A mighty fine Pizza House....”
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

It's been a long time since I last had a pizza, probably a few years, normally go for a curry, but finding myself in London on business, called in, thought I'd try something different.

The place was buzzing, great atmosphere, even though I was a lone diner, made to feel welcome. Friendly, professional staff.

I chose the Dough Balls to start, served with garlic butter, simple, well cooked, for my main course, I chose the Francesco Mazzei Calabrese and I quote, " our hottest pizza is inspired by the food from Francesco Mazzei's home town in Calabria".

Thin crust base topped with Calabrese sausage, hot soft n'duja sausage, fresh red chillies, requito peppers, red and yellow peppers, baby mozzarella, rocket leaves, pesto, oregano and grana padano...

This is one very good pizza, but beware, the heat and spices creep up on you when you are not looking and next thing you know, you are reaching for the jug of water to douse the flames!

Worth a try....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Errazuriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing