We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Executive PA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greig's Grill & Restaurant

Greig's Grill & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Greig's Grill & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,428 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$63
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: Greig's Grill & Restaurant, in the heart of Mayfair, between New Bond Street and Berkeley Square, was established by the highly acclaimed restaurateur Alistair Greig, who gained a reputation for serving the best steaks in London. Greig’s hallmark dish was prime Scotch fillet steak sourced from a family butcher and cooked to order on a traditional coal grill.Greig’s Restaurant continues to uphold that tradition of top quality steaks and great British food, more than half a century later remaining a stronghold for lovers of prime steak everywhere. Combine this with our elegant wood paneled dining rooms, an extensive wine list, first class service and you have a dining experience to remember, from a lunch or dinner for two to a corporate or private event in one of our three private dining roomsWe cater for private parties between 4 - 42 guests and are more than willing to help in the planning and organisation of your event.We are very friendly here at Greig's so don't hesitate to give us a call or send us an email.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Executive PA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, headed by long serving manager Roshdy a very gracious man. The portions are a good size I can recommend the deep fried Brie with berry compote. The steaks are big, juicy, tender and cooked to perfection, overall a very good evening

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreigsGrillMayfair, Manager at Greig's Grill & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello David and thank you for your kind words!

It's great to hear that you had a great dining experience with us the other night as well as the service by Roshdy!

We look forward to seeing you again at Greig's soon!

Kind regards,

Paolo

Reservations and Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    78
    35
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“We won't rush back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

A fine old restaurant that I think is probably trading on past glories.
The restaurant is easy to find in a very nice little street of Berkely Square. It appeared to be split into two one are for large parties and one for smaller groups and couples. The ambience throughout was very good and on such a warm evening the presence of good air conditioning was very pleasing.
The menu is very traditional and I was really looking forward to it. My wife ordered the roast beef which was a huge portion with the beef sliced extremely thick, a very small amount of potato although roasted well, which a lot of restuarants cannot manage! The Yorkshire pudding looked like a frozen bought in product which very dissapointing given the £25 price tag.
My steak and kidney pie was extremely tasty and very nice BUT why oh why don't you make a proper pie? Not a dish of filling with a pice puff pastry slapped ontop which again was probably frozen product at these prices it should be a hand made proper pie in the true sense of such a classic British dish. The vegetables where ok but wthe chips were very good.
A shared apple crumble was very nice.
All in all given the price tag an average evening I kow you pay for location etc but really the simplicity of the menu should have led to outstanding food but it just didn't get there.
A nice evening but we won't be rushing back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LancashirePieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreigsGrillMayfair, Manager at Greig's Grill & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your comments and we appreciate that you found the ambiance of the restaurant good and enjoyed our tasty roast potatoes and steak and kidney pie! We will make sure that we double the amount of delicious roast potatoes on our plates from now on! Furthermore just to add that the possibility of any part of any Greig's dish to be frozen is zero as we do not freeze any food and every bit of food on your plate is made fresh!

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you dine at Greig's again soon!

Kind regards,

Paolo

Restaurant and Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have wanted to go to this restaurant for years. Went last month and it was terrible. My steak and kidney pie tasted like it had been cooked and burnt 3 times over, another of our party had the Steak, worst she's ever had, and the mash was stale and dry. One person had the Cottage Pie, and said it was 'O.K' All in all a terrible experience, unfortunately. Would never go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrera63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreigsGrillMayfair, Manager at Greig's Grill & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello ,

We are very disappointed as are you that the food was not up to the mark on this occasion. Again, we pride ourselves on excellent steaks which was not the case in this instance. Our steak and kidney pies are made to order and again should taste fantastic due to the meats we use but can only apologize that it was not what you had experienced.

I would like to book you in should you contact me on paolo@greigs.com, as to prove to you that you were right in wanting to come to Greig's and you can have what is a fantastic dining experience like so many of our customers!

Thank you

Paolo

Reservations and Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Know What Went Wrong”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I are on our honeymoon here in London. As part of purchasing the London Pass we also chose to get the Dining Guide which gave us 50% off our food at several restaurants, including this one. After looking at reviews on Yelp and TripAdvisor, we thought we were really in for a treat! He ordered the Filet Mignon and I got the vegetable risotto. Both were EXTREMELY BLAND. I didn't even see the point in finishing mine... Accounting for the exchange rate, this would have been a $60 meal in the US. Unacceptable for what we got.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcapo1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreigsGrillMayfair, Manager at Greig's Grill & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello,

We are sorry to hear that your food that evening was, as described, bland. We pride ourselves (as do many customers) on having tasty, juicy steaks, hot off the grill, along with other delicious choices from our menu; so it is disappointing to read that you did not share the same great dining experience on this particular evening as others have, which we can only apologize for.

We can assure you that should you give Greig's another try when you are next in London, you will thoroughly enjoy the true flavours Greig's have to offer!

Please do not hesitate to contact me via email: paolo@greigs.com

Thank you

Paolo

Reservations and Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is great restaurant in Mayfair London. The staff were good, the food was even better. The steaks are obviously good quality and the food is cooked for maximum flavour. From the outside the place doesn't look much but then inside the ambience is fine. Medium to high price but then the food and menu is a cut above a lot of restaurants in London.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjwLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreigsGrillMayfair, Manager at Greig's Grill & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we're happy to see you enjoyed our delicious steaks!

We are currently renovating parts of the restaurant, starting with a fresh paint job outside completed last week and we are currently battling to get our beautiful al fresco dining back in order to make our outside presence as good as it was!

Thank You!

Paolo

Reservations and Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greig's Grill & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Greig's Grill & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing