We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexplicably popular”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Chix Chox

Chix Chox
Ranked #6,247 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Inexplicably popular”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Having visited today for lunch, I have read the reviews below with bafflement. Friendly service translated as far as we were concerned to silent, resentful (if efficient) banging down of plates in front of us. Pizza was good, everything else indifferent to downright inedible. Clientele mostly ossified. This restaurant may have had a heyday in about 1982 but has been declining steeply ever since, by the feel of it. Not cheap, either (or not cheap enough to justify the food). I would have given one star, but a grudging half smile (presumably because we were leaving) and a lollipop for the kids from the chap on the till rescued a second.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexakit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    29
    18
    1
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a great place to eat for the whole family”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

we recently had a family "do" here & the food & service was fantastic & there was no feeling that you had to rush your meal so the next customers could have your table like you get in some restaurants, even though there were some fussy eaters in the group, all were catered for & all plates were cleared, the ice creams & deserts were second to none, this is a perfect place for couples & families alike, I would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Louthster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic and lovely food”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Liked: Just round corner from guest house. The food was lovely and the service great.
Disliked: Nothing

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank middlemarsh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great establishment. Never had a bad meal here and I've been coming since I was a nipper.
Friendly, knowledgeable service and the food is always piping hot and delicious. Too many favourites to list but include any freshly made pizza, veal escalope with spaghetti bolognese, tagliatelle carbonara and seafood linguine.

This is what I call a proper family run restaurant with reasonably priced fayre, where the customer is definitely put first. Probably why they've been going strong for 40 years plus.

My uncle, from Cornwall, who is notoriously hard to impress, thoroughly enjoyed himself. 'Elvis' was singing when I introduced him to the place. Not something I usually like whilst eating, but it was done well. My uncle however, was singing along whilst enjoying a hearty meal washed down with copious amounts of red wine. So much so, it's the first place on his extensive list next time he is in London.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EafGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always brilliant food and service”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have been going to this restaurant for years. Firstly with just my husband, and later with our kids. It's brilliant food served in a wonderfully relaxed environment. The staff are always welcoming and remember my kids names which shows how attentive they are to their customers. Everything I've ordered over the years I've enjoyed. Please take any negative comments about this restaurant with a pinch of salt because honestly it's never happened to me or any of the many other family's I know who also eat here. I would always be happy to recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chix Chox also viewed

 

Been to Chix Chox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing