We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vegetarian options”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rasa Samudra - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rasa Samudra
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Fitzrovia
Cardiff
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Visited with friends who are vegetarian and can thoroughly recommend the food. A wide choice of options,which we shared and i particularly enjoyed the dhosas - each dish was distinctly different and well spiced and I will add it to my list of preferred restaurants !

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aluakea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

This has for years been one of my favorite restaurants in London. Sad to say, it is on the way down. First of all, rather than smell of food, it stinks like a loo-this is an air freshener being blown in. It ruins the taste of food. Then there is the service which has deteriorated quite a bit. Most important, the food is just not the same. It lacks the edge and seems limp and tired. It needs a reboot!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Smakosz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Brings some of the diversity of Indian cuisine to London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Now here is something completely different. London is full of the standard Pakistani and Bangladeshi fare, but it's hard to get nuanced regional food from the subcontinent. Rasa Samudra does a good job of introducing patrons to the diversity of South Indian cuisine.

To people who know Indian food (that is, you know "curry" is not a flavor and "chicken teeka masala" is a scam), this will be a welcome change for the palate. The vegetarian dishes are especially surprising.

It is much too pricey for what you get, because this is what "Indian" restaurants should be serving. But until people move past teeka masala, I suspect we will have to keep paying for the chance to sample something a little different. Diversity-wise, a step in the right direction!

Loved the Beet Cheera Pachadi and Bagar Baingan.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTravelbug25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dont Bother!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Menu is extremely limited. I asked for four popadoms and i was presented with a basket with half a dozen of what looked like waffles?!? also got charged £7.50 for the pleasure.

They also stick 12.5% service charge on the bill...... which I promptly removed.

If you want a decent Curry head to Tooting< you cant go wrong>

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank al b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“South indian with Veggie Options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

If you are in the Mayfair area, shopping. This is a great quiet little restaurant to nip into for lunch especially is you are craving a masala dosa and other south indian treats. really yummy! excellent vegetarian selection.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tanasurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rasa Samudra also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing