We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”
Review of La Smorfia - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Smorfia
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I went to La Smorfia for the first time last week even though I have lived in the neighbourhood for a long time. I was very pleasantly surprised at the lovely food and excellent service we received. I am going there again this week. A real good find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank APS1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thumbs up for this establishment”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The owner is very hands on and runs a tight shift. What impressed me most was the fact that if you want something, that is not on the menu, owner Pepe's answer is always "no problem...I make for you." Needless to say, we kept going back there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
200 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“our favourite London restaurant - we come here more than anywhere else”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Pepe (owner and head waiter) never puts a foot wrong. Having worked in Naples, this is a taste from where they really know how to make a pizza and deliver service. We have never felt forgotten or abandoned, our mislaid property awaited our next visit, the atmosphere is informal enough for us to feel totally at home. And that is before I describe any of the food!

We have tasted all their pizzas over the 10 years we have come here, and we and our guests have revelled in each and every one – perfectly cooked on a proper tasty pizza dough base (thin and crispy), generously topped with creative as well as traditional recipes, from a big hot oven (so you don’t wait too long).

And their specials, fish or seafood, pasta or meat, salads and cheese all come with that authentic Neapolitan taste and panache. Helpings always generous, extras rapidly brought to the simple marble tables with no pretention and at a great price. I always ask for the Olio santo (chilli oil).

Special mentions should go to the house red wine, a big beautiful bargain Nero D'Avola (but walk home); to the Torta Caprese, a chocolate and almonds dessert/cake that only Neapolitans have the secret to making this good; and to the Pizza Trappola, a really varied and interesting, tasty and filling improvement on a Quattro Stagioni.

Families are welcome and made to feel at home whether young or old, tables are grouped to suit the size of your party, and the mood is more that of a meal in your garden at home than in a place where you pay. But we have brought business contacts and visiting tourists here, as well as children and friends, and coming here as a couple.

We moved away from West Hampstead 4 years ago, but still go back whenever we can. Our favourite restaurant in London.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EuroTraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

It's always full so we booked this time. Very friendly but terrible acoustics and intrusive music spoil the atmosphere. Wine was cheap and good. The bruschetta was tasteless and inedible. My pasta was less al dente and more undercooked and chewy. My friend's pizza was ok, nothing special. We won't be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roseandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good old La Smorfia”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We've been eating here for years and rarely put a foot wrong. It really is like eating out in Italy - not gourmet-style Italy, just the regular, tasty pizza and pasta places, and that's what I'd recommend sticking with here, too. The vongole and the Sicilian-style penne with aubergines are especially good. Why go to one of West End Lane's many chain places when you can come here? Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dismal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Smorfia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing