We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude, Unfriendly, Unwelcoming Manager!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Luna

La Luna
Ranked #1,381 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on Walworth Road, La Luna is a real treat if you���re looking for authentic Italian food and a welcoming atmosphere. This small family-run restaurant is popular with South London locals who make the short trip from Elephant and Castle and Camberwell to take advantage of the modestly priced menu. The rustic d��cor and friendly service makes it an ideal setting for lunch with friends or mid-week dinners with the family. On the menu, there are classic Italian pastas and delicious crisp-based pizzas that the kids will love. Popular dishes include the sirloin steak in a red wine and mushroom sauce; and the seafood risotto.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude, Unfriendly, Unwelcoming Manager!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I have loved this local restaurant, we have been here 3 times since it has opened and was then managed by the genuinely, friendly, accommodating owner. But I went to have dinner here with my 1 year old girl yesterday and the experience was completely the opposite of how it used to be (for me, at least). The maanger assigned us a table, after I sat down, I asked for a menu, the manager said "you have to have we are still not open, we open in 5 minutes" then left me and went back to the bar and did whatever he had to do! A waitress when on her way to my table just before the manager reached the bar, and she gave me the menu without any fuss!

While waiting for my food to be served, a family arrived (who has a reserved table) with 1 gradeschool boy and 1 baby girl. The manager welcomed them in, sat them in their reserved table, gave them a highchair, played with the baby girl, and even gave the baby girl a biscuit. While he was attending to this family whose table was across mine, my little girl strated playing with the wooden pepper holder, salt and banged it against the table, at that moment the manager, turned around, gave me and my little girl a look that he was not pleased and as if like he wanted to tell me off or my little girl!

Did not enjoy the whole stay neither the food after that and I would never come anymore because of that manager! He made me and my little girl UNWELCOMED and felt we were a NUISANCE. VERY BAD SERVICE BY THE RESATUARANT MANAGER!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    30
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Return visit to London - ate here 3 times in 4 days !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I used to live in the area and regularly dined here. Although I might only return to London several times a year, no visit is complete with a visit to my favourite 'local' restaurant.

This most recent trip, I went on 3 separate occasions with different friends - affordable, tasty and plentiful - the set menu is a steal !

Can highly recommend the La Luna (seafood) pasta, canneloni, lasagne, baked eggs.... I could go on ! Oh, and you MUST order the cheesy garlic bread - you'll be spoilt for life, and won't tolerate itty bitty pieces of dried out French stick EVER again !

Always a friendly welcome from the owner and staff. Don't be put off the location or the 'no frills' - what it lacks in 'glamour' it makes up with heart and soul. Buon appetito tutti !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alderberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simple, unpretentious local Italian.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I came here with a friend to celebrate his birthday, mainly because he lives nearby and isn't very mobile at the moment. Having read the excellent reviews on here, we were expecting to find a little gem of a place. We ordered bruschetta to share as a starter, followed by pizzas, washed down with a bottle of house red. I have to say the food was pretty unexceptional. The bruschetta was as basic as it gets, and our Fiorentina and Vulcanica pizzas were perfectly adequate but we both agreed we'd eaten superior versions for a similar price at Pizza Express. The service was friendly and efficient, but given that the place was almost empty, so it should. All in all, a bit disappointing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindathecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“local London restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Lovely local Italian restaurant . Food excellent staff very friendly, they offer daily specials also they do special offers on 2 course lunch time meals, also do Sunday lunch as well .Ideal for special occasion or just for a night out . Would certainly go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tezzy252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Converted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

When you pass this restaurant on the street it doesn't look like much, in fact it looks like a greasy spoon esque cafe, but it is an authentic Italian restaurant - the food is superb, incredibly good value and the service ain't so bad either! I would definitely visit this place again, one of Elephant and Castles hidden gems.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardMannion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Luna also viewed

 

Been to La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing