We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely romantic break!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whinstone View Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlesbrough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whinstone View Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I came here with my boyfriend for our 3rd anniversary on Thursday and loved it! We stayed in the flurie lodge and payed £230 for bed and breakfast as a £30 spend in the bistro. The food in the restaurant was really nice and well presented. We both had the £32 deal for the 2 steaks and the bottle of wine which was great value! The lodge its self was spacious and very homely. We couldn't have asked for a comfier bed and nearly slept in! As for the hot tub it was really romantic to just sit back and relax with a glass of wine. We absolutely loved whinestone view and will definitely return in a few months time!

Room Tip: flurie lodge was spacious and the hot tub is much bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    25
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
113
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Made a booking for Zoffany Lodge, for one night in February, last December as a getaway for a luxury night away. Not disappointed. Clean and tidy lodge with excellent amenities. The hot tub was a wonderful way to relax and de-stress and the finishing touches were well received. The shower was excellent, when compared with other lodges visited.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Myself and my partner absolutely LOVE coming to the Whinstone View Lodges.

We generally have lunch here too which is always beautiful, then head over to the Roma lodge which is our favourite.

Upon arrival you are greeted by friendly staff, and the lovely modern lodge is always immaculate and cosy when you enter.
The bathroom is out of this world, very clean and lovely clean robes are hanging waiting for you.

The views are so beautiful, you really just feel so relaxed and at peace!

I treat my partner to a massage in the spa this time and he said it was the best he ever had.

Cannot recommend this any higher!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poolie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesborough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Booked a lodge for New Year's Eve as we wanted to do something different to the usual, as it was on a popular day it was slightly pricey but worth the extra cost as it was a New Year's Eve I'll never forget! From the minute we opened our log cabin door everything was perfect down to the finest detail. Bathrobes, slippers, champagne & ice bucket, rose petals on the bed, the full works! The hot tub was ready for us to get in, the lodge itself is very cosy & warm and the bed is very comfortable. iPod Dock and flat screen tv with DVD player meant we could enjoy the night to ourselves however we did venture out to watch the firework display at midnight which was a lovely surprise! The breakfast was lovely and finished the stay on high.
Overall this place is a wonderful getaway you won't forget, worth every penny.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SunQueen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just spent an amazing chilled night in the Roma lodge after the hectic build up to Christmas. It was really worth travelling all the way over from Cumbria just for the one night. I have nothing but praise from start to finish. A lovley welcome at reception, the lodge itself was gorgeous, clean, modern and warm with lots of lovely touches. The hot tub was great, even at 10 p.m. on 29th December with the wind blowing! We had sunday lunch which was really nice and breakfast the next morning equally nice with good quality products and excellent service on both occasions.

I cannot fault this place at all and would love to go back. If you are looking for somewhere for a chilled getaway I can certainly recommend Whinstone View.

Room Tip: Can recommend Roma!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karroo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night in the Roma Lodge to celebrate his birthday and I can honestly say it was one of the best places I have stayed. The lodge was modern but with a cosy, warm feel, ideal for this time of year. It had excellent facilities including TV and music system and also had nice touches such as bath robes, complimentary toiletries and even an umbrella for the walk across to the restaurant incase it rained. The hot tub was just outside the lodge and was really easy to use with light and jet settings. The lodge itself was set back from each other lodge so it also had some privacy. We dined in the restaurant for an evening meal and for breakfast the next morning and each meal was to an excellent standard. The customer service was also fantastic and all staff were friendly and personable. I would recommend this place to couples or also as a girly night away. I dont have any negatives to say about it! Will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaF281986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had our wedding at the Whinstone View in April 2013 at 3pm. In the morning, the rain came down and it was blowing a gale, however as the groom arrived at the venue the sun came out and the clouds disappeared which was the perfect start to an incredible wedding day! The organisation was immense, we did not have to think about a thing. It is hard to explain, however for example as I asked for some more wine, there was already a fresh bottle on the way to the table!

The venue was stunning, the band were amazing ... We couldn't have asked for more. (If you are thinking of late night food for your guests, get the pig!!!). The day ended perfectly with a bottle of champagne in the hot tub.

Could not recommend this venue more highly to anyone planning a wedding.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Swinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlesbrough
11.8 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
6.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whinstone View Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whinstone View Lodges

Property: Whinstone View Lodges
Address: B1292 | Great Ayton, Middlesbrough TS9 6QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Middlesbrough
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whinstone View Bistro & Luxury Lodges. Set in 14 acres this small personal development has everything you need to relax. Our double room luxury log cabins are fitted with surround sound hard drive music systems & ipod docking stations, flat screen TV's, intelligent lighting & private hot tubs. Along with a long established modern English style bistro, open all day everyday with alfresco dining.Pop in to our Quiescence Day Spa providing pamper treatments to really spoil yourself with. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whinstone View Hotel Middlesbrough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing