We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Middlesbrough
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good hotel”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel in late September. The hotel is centrally located close to Middlesbrough train station. It is a ten minute walk to the town centre.

I arrived late in the evening and received a warm, friendly welcome. My room was spacious and clean and the hotel is in a quiet, but safe part of town.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would return myself if I ever visit Middlesbrough again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    119
    45
    21
    12
See reviews for
106
72
31
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Room
Large, clean, nice tv, good bathroom, nice bed and linen.
Just bring your shower toiliteries.

Breakfast
Excellent all that you needs nice modern breakfast room

Staff
Excellent great welcome with a smile, and breakfast staff also cheery.
Very polite and appeared to have a great travel lodge team of staff. Well done.

Location
Perfect for what was required and near to town

Value
Superb £33 for the night with full english breakfast

Overall
Would return to a travel lodge and better value then plenty of other hotels. All that you need.


Only one negative [[[[just fix the floor board outside of the room 214]]]] when guests walked past the room the sound was loud and nights sleep was not great due to this and I am not a light sleeper!!!! Simple fix.

Noisy guests walking down the corridors shouting, although not at fault for that, just typical inconsiderate people!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmm_72_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed overnight and I’ve got to say it was the worse night’s sleep I’ve ever had or rather never had. The reception staff where great can’t fault any of them. When I got to my room the lady cleaning it was just leaving she said to me “I’ll be back in a moment I need to get you two new pillow cases” she was very nice and friendly but unfortunately she never came back with the pillow cases.

The hotel boasts on its website that it’s been upgraded it’s had a lick of paint and curtains put up. The new King size beds they’ve put in the room are like sleeping on a concrete slab I got two hours sleep the whole night if I was lucky. The pillows almost broke my neck and my head kept sliding off them.
The carpets have more stains than I cared to count and I dread to think what some of them might be!

The pull out bed in the family room had springs bulging out because it’s so old and worn out but in the middle of the night I tried unsuccessfully to sleep on it just to get out of the torture rack they call a bed. The shower head was literally black with some sort of slime I had to wipe off before I dared get into it. The kettle was black someone had turned it on without water being in it but no one has changed it.

I know it’s cheap but I don’t think it’s too much to ask for a night’s sleep and a clean shower even if you’re only paying £25

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Middlesbrough, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We are really sorry to learn that you found our new king-sized pocket sprung ‘Travelodge Dreamer’ bed uncomfortable Alex G. We have added these to all our refurbished rooms and have received really positive feedback. We would like to apologise that you were unable to get a good night sleep due to the pillows and mattress. When a customer enters a room we would expect it to be fresh and clean, and we would like to thank you for bringing the cleanliness issues to our attention. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

if there are more than 2 adults sleeping in a family room, make sure you ask for extra cups when you check-in! They dont always reassess who is staying. Dont forget to register your car for free 24hr parking! and if you need to stay longer than the checkout time, you can re-register your car again while you go shopping etc!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank DinkyJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel itself is fine however the location it is in is terrible 4 cars got broken into when I stayed there and the police said its nothing new it always happen at this hotel because of the deprived areas close by. Me and my friend also got asked if we wanted business from a prostitute! The staff at the hotel confirmed that cars are always getting broken into and they is nothing they can do as they don't have CCTV! Certainly won't be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Middlesbrough, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
It’s regrettable to learn that cars were broken into during your stay with us Dave B, however we are not aware of any recent car crimes at this hotel. We can confirm there is CCTV in the car park and should any of our customers fall victim to any crime than our hotel staff will work closely with the police and we’ll be happy to provide any helpful information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is the worst place we have ever stayed in and would not recommend it. The accommodation was basic,we only had one towel and one tiny soap in our bathroom. TV remote had no back cover, so batteries kept falling out, dirty mirror,no wardrobe and no bedside tables. There was one tiny kettle that was so dirty inside that we could not even use it ! Deceptive and unprofessional reception staff. We went to reception at 9pm to ask about the car park and we had to knock on the kitchen doors to get someone to help us! Then we ordered a pizza and it was uncooked tasted like it was prepared days ago, and was microwaved to be reheated. The lady that served us did not look happy when we wanted to order food and drinks... a little smile doesn't hurt. Good location, but I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Middlesbrough, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
We are really sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay MrandMrsU. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted so we can investigate your concerns and provide a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this travelodge three years ago when he started Uni.
Tbh i wasn't over impressed at the time and subsequently when we visited him and stopped over we usually stayed at one of the Premier Inns around Middlesbrough.
What a surprise we had when we stayed this time for one night prior to my Sons graduation, the bed was really comfortable and the flat pillows from three years ago had gone.
The bar in the travelodge has limited draft beer (Stella only) but the prices are reasonable.
We didn't book or have the breakfast because none of us are big breakfast eaters and at £6.95 per head for all you can eat and drink it would have been a waste of money.

A few negative points though; my Mother in law stayed in room 101 and this is a disabled room although she isn't, this room is right next to the corridor door and with the comings and goings to the other 1st floor rooms she didn't get a great deal of sleep.
We stayed on the 2nd floor and our only slight complaint was that because our room where at the front facing the main road when the traffic was heavy you could feel vibration when the traffic was heavy although this didn't disturb our nights sleep.

Overall the stay was really good and as it was £100 cheaper to stay here in 3 rooms than at the cheapest Premier Inn I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again if we ever go back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MrChuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
0.9 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blue Bell Lodge
Blue Bell Lodge
#8 of 11 in Middlesbrough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Middlesbrough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Middlesbrough

Property: Travelodge Middlesbrough
Address: Newport Road, Middlesbrough TS1 1EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Middlesbrough 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first budget hotel brand to launch in the UK in 1985, Travelodge now operates over 460 hotels (28, 500 rooms) – eleven in Ireland, three in Spain and the rest in the UK. Travelodge is growing rapidly with plans to operate 70,000 rooms (approximately 1000 hotels) by 2020 and aims to be the biggest hotel operator in London by 2012.Nine million people stayed with Travelodge last year and 87% of reservations are currently made online, where room rates start at £19 a night. Rooms are available to book up to 11 months in advance and the site attracts approx 4 million visitors each month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Middlesbrough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Middlesbrough Hotel Middlesbrough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing