We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Middlesbrough
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Certificate of Excellence
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is great, I stay here near enough every Friday. Never had a problem all staff are very welcoming and the rooms are spacious very clean bedding is fresh and comfortable. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    118
    44
    21
    12
See reviews for
106
71
31
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed over the Christmas period and the e value for money and particularly the service we got was outstanding. The staff were brilliant and they let us know that nothing was too much trouble. Even on Christmas Day the level of service and particularly friendliness didn't dip. We booked early and got a great deal at £29 per night. The rooms were spacious, clean and tidy, with tea/coffee making facilities and Freeview TV. For the price you couldn't get better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very clean, bed very comfortable, might need soundprooofing walls a bit thin. Overall a good place to stay. Price was reasonable and we would definitely stay again A++++ ..............................

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

My wife and I found this Travelodge to be very good valuefor money. We stayed over 3 days of Christmas and the services were somewhat restricted (no room services on Christmas day) which we were expecting. The staff were friendly and as helpful as they could be, evrything was clean, the beds was marvellous, we hadn't booked breakfast so that was an extra £7.50 each for the 2 days we took it making the full cost only £133.50 or £66.75 each for 3 nights. Well worth the cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RgrW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel in late September. The hotel is centrally located close to Middlesbrough train station. It is a ten minute walk to the town centre.

I arrived late in the evening and received a warm, friendly welcome. My room was spacious and clean and the hotel is in a quiet, but safe part of town.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would return myself if I ever visit Middlesbrough again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Room
Large, clean, nice tv, good bathroom, nice bed and linen.
Just bring your shower toiliteries.

Breakfast
Excellent all that you needs nice modern breakfast room

Staff
Excellent great welcome with a smile, and breakfast staff also cheery.
Very polite and appeared to have a great travel lodge team of staff. Well done.

Location
Perfect for what was required and near to town

Value
Superb £33 for the night with full english breakfast

Overall
Would return to a travel lodge and better value then plenty of other hotels. All that you need.


Only one negative [[[[just fix the floor board outside of the room 214]]]] when guests walked past the room the sound was loud and nights sleep was not great due to this and I am not a light sleeper!!!! Simple fix.

Noisy guests walking down the corridors shouting, although not at fault for that, just typical inconsiderate people!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmm_72_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed overnight and I’ve got to say it was the worse night’s sleep I’ve ever had or rather never had. The reception staff where great can’t fault any of them. When I got to my room the lady cleaning it was just leaving she said to me “I’ll be back in a moment I need to get you two new pillow cases” she was very nice and friendly but unfortunately she never came back with the pillow cases.

The hotel boasts on its website that it’s been upgraded it’s had a lick of paint and curtains put up. The new King size beds they’ve put in the room are like sleeping on a concrete slab I got two hours sleep the whole night if I was lucky. The pillows almost broke my neck and my head kept sliding off them.
The carpets have more stains than I cared to count and I dread to think what some of them might be!

The pull out bed in the family room had springs bulging out because it’s so old and worn out but in the middle of the night I tried unsuccessfully to sleep on it just to get out of the torture rack they call a bed. The shower head was literally black with some sort of slime I had to wipe off before I dared get into it. The kettle was black someone had turned it on without water being in it but no one has changed it.

I know it’s cheap but I don’t think it’s too much to ask for a night’s sleep and a clean shower even if you’re only paying £25

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Middlesbrough, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We are really sorry to learn that you found our new king-sized pocket sprung ‘Travelodge Dreamer’ bed uncomfortable Alex G. We have added these to all our refurbished rooms and have received really positive feedback. We would like to apologise that you were unable to get a good night sleep due to the pillows and mattress. When a customer enters a room we would expect it to be fresh and clean, and we would like to thank you for bringing the cleanliness issues to our attention. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
0.9 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blue Bell Lodge
Blue Bell Lodge
#8 of 11 in Middlesbrough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Middlesbrough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Middlesbrough

Property: Travelodge Middlesbrough
Address: Newport Road, Middlesbrough TS1 1EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Middlesbrough 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first budget hotel brand to launch in the UK in 1985, Travelodge now operates over 460 hotels (28, 500 rooms) – eleven in Ireland, three in Spain and the rest in the UK. Travelodge is growing rapidly with plans to operate 70,000 rooms (approximately 1000 hotels) by 2020 and aims to be the biggest hotel operator in London by 2012.Nine million people stayed with Travelodge last year and 87% of reservations are currently made online, where room rates start at £19 a night. Rooms are available to book up to 11 months in advance and the site attracts approx 4 million visitors each month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Middlesbrough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Middlesbrough Hotel Middlesbrough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing