We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soulless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Middlesbrough
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

There is nothing wrong as such with this hotel, it is clean and efficient. It just doesn't feel like a hotel, it feels more like I imagine a low security prison would be. The breakfast was terrible and the Wi-Fi is pointless - a poor 3G connection is faster.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TedTickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

My partner and I have just spent a night at this travel lodge and were pleasantley surpised, the room was very comfortable and so was the bed, i found the staff very polite and eager to help. definately worth a visit if you need to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel great value for money no frills, basic but very very good. Everything you could require in a low budget place to sleep. It would be very beneficial ,however, if on arriving early you could leave baggage with no additional cost

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank roberta l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Not stayed in a Travelodge with a bar and food facility before and this is an excellent addition. The staff are well trained, polite and helpful. The addition of a soap dispenser was a great hit especially with my wife who complains every time we stay in a Travelodge without this and she realizes we have not brought anti-bac soap with us again!! Full marks from me!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank jeff a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have visited this hotel before and found it to be comfortable and great value for money however this time the sofa bed was too hard springs hurting back and the kingsize bed had a new medium/firm mattress which we found uncomfortable. I had to share a bed with my mum which wasn't ideal as we couldn't sleep in the second bed. We did not sleep at all the first night however got provided with an extra duvet to put on top of mattress which helped a little.Unfortunately we wont be going back as a result just a personal choice and lack of sleep spoiled our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel is a bit difficult to find the first time traveller but it is in a very convenient location if you want to be within walking distance of the town/shops/bus station. I stayed for two nights and found the hotel staff were both friendly and professional. Thank you to everyone working there -- particularly the two reception staff Kelly and Angie for the delicious vegetable lasagne and for providing a brand new kettle when I discovered the one in my room was corroded from inside.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for a visit to the mother-in-law, we left the sprog staying with her. While the rooms are sparse the beds are exceptionally comfy and I slept like a log. I normally have a horrendous night's sleep in hotels on the first night.

The staff are truly exceptional. Friendly, efficient and hard working with no American style false cheeriness. You could not feel more welcome.

OK - we had stunning views of the Aldi car park and roof from our window. But we could keep an eye on our car. It should be noted that from our family there we understand that car vandalism is something that happens a lot in Middlesbrough. They thought that this was one of the safest places to park in the town without going into a secure car park.

We didn't have breakfast as we were going out for a big lunch. But we have had it in another location and it was very good, especially if you pre-book at the discounted rate. You won't need lunch afterwards.

A tip on getting there. We put the post code in the Sat-Nav and it neatly dumped us in the car park.

Room Tip: If you want it really quiet ask for a room overlooking the car park. Plus you can keep an eye on yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Moira54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
149 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
192 reviews
3.7 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
3.0 mi away
Blue Bell Lodge
Blue Bell Lodge
#10 of 11 in Middlesbrough
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Middlesbrough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Middlesbrough

Address: Newport Road, Middlesbrough TS1 1EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range: £42 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Middlesbrough 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first budget hotel brand to launch in the UK in 1985, Travelodge now operates over 460 hotels (28, 500 rooms) – eleven in Ireland, three in Spain and the rest in the UK. Travelodge is growing rapidly with plans to operate 70,000 rooms (approximately 1000 hotels) by 2020 and aims to be the biggest hotel operator in London by 2012.Nine million people stayed with Travelodge last year and 87% of reservations are currently made online, where room rates start at £19 a night. Rooms are available to book up to 11 months in advance and the site attracts approx 4 million visitors each month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Middlesbrough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Middlesbrough Hotel Middlesbrough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing