We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely newly decorated hotel”
Review of Baltimore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baltimore Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely newly decorated hotel”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last night for one night whilst on a course nearby, what a lovely hotel check in was very quick and easy. Room although VERY small was beautifully decorated modern and very clean. The on suite was again small but did the job, shower, toilet and sink. Breakfast this morning was again served with a smile and was a lovely way to start the day. Would recommend hotel to others defiantly if you are in the area for courses or visiting friends or family. Not wanting to take away from the experience at all but recognise that it is a newly decorated hotel but could do with the garden having some work done before next summer so that it would be nice to sit outside.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NednBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    76
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
28
36
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Far far better than anonymous chain hotels, yet still cheaper. Good stay for two nights in Sept2013. Has had very extensive refit and is sparklingly new. Excellent value. Just over ten minutes walk from town centre. Has decent free wifi too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill_per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Ignore any reviews from before september, its had a total n full overhaul from top to bottom, not a penny spared quality all round, reception, restaurant, bar, bedrooms n bathroom all spotless n spot-on, great value too esp compared to 'chain' hotels, book now you defineatly wont be disapointed

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogmansheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

I only stayed one night but could mot find fault with the staff. The room itself was ok, a decent bathroom, although the heater was struggling on a very cold day to keep the room warm.
The staff were delightful, even giving me a free beer to go with my meal on account of refurbishment work taking place. They also did not charge extra for room service and the meal was excellent value.
If I had one criticism it was that the noise from other rooms and corridors did seem to carry to my ground floor room.
Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and tasty.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

The reception and restaurant staff are very warm and friendly. The hotel is in a good location close to the town. I didn't go to the bar but can recommend the evening meals. the food was fabulous and breakfast cooked to a high standard. as for the chef in the kitchen, what is his problem? I heard a lot of screaming, swearing and shouting - I saw him shout at a waitress!
This is very unprofessional, not the type of thing you ususally see in a hotel and the guests in the restaurant looked as shocked as I did! If managment of aware of this behaviour then they need to sort it out. The waitress on the other hand remained calm and continued to serve us, she is lovely! I would stay here again if I was on another business trip because of the location and food. I just hope the chef can control his temper, this needs to be challenged, it's very off-putting for us guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAWNR746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I booked two single rooms for my Mother and I to attend my daughter's graduation. I'd read other reviews which suggested that the single rooms were not particularly good, but the price was very reasonable, so I decided to risk it just for two nights.
The receptionist was very helpful and carried my mother's case up to her room as there is no lift.
The rooms were nice and warm, a good size and had double beds. The en suite bathrooms were nearly as big as the bedrooms, and were spotlessly clean (as were the bedrooms)
The rooms had flat screen TVs, hairdryers, trouser press,tea/coffee.
I feel that the rooms would benefit from colourful curtains and bedspreads and brighter lightbulbs as they did look quite gloomy with the current dim lighting.
The reception area, dining room were smart and tastefully decorated (I think the bar was too but we didn't go in there)
The breakfast was lovely and cooked to order and served to your table by friendly ,chatty staff, along with the usual self-service cereals/toast etc.
There were plenty of parking spaces and it was easier to leave the car there and get a taxi into town for just £2.50.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The decor of the interior of this hotel tends to be dark and forbidding, so that my initial impression was that I was not very welcome and this theme continued into the diminutive bedroom, which was very sparsely furnished in addition to being dark and in need of some structural repairs. The bedcover was also inadequate because of insufficient insulation, so that I had a cold and relatively sleepless night there and was left wondering how any agency could possibly have thought that the place merited a 3 star grading, but consoled myself with the thought that I will never go there again. During my second day there, I discovered that extensive structural alterations to the hotel were being discussed, and planned to commence in the near future, so it appeared to me that the new management of the hotel was under few illusions about the present state of the accomodation as well as some of the public areas. I gathered that it was intended to keep the hotel open during these operations and can only assume that some future guests are likely to be even more disappointed than I have been by their experience. This hotel has a good and very willing staff, as well as the capacity for structural improvement, but how long this will take remains to be seen.

Room Tip: Relatives who were with me on this occasion, but in a seperate room, were equally disappointed with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Middlesbrough
Travelodge Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
3.3 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
0.4 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#8 of 11 in Middlesbrough
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltimore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltimore Hotel

Property: Baltimore Hotel
Address: 250 Marton Road | Cleveland, Middlesbrough TS4 2EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baltimore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Baltimore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltimore Hotel Middlesbrough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing