We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Posh fish & chips”

Chadwicks Inn Maltby
Ranked #11 of 296 Restaurants in Middlesbrough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Posh fish & chips”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Met up with a friend for an early evening meal. In fact we were one of the first people in when they opened at 6.00pm. Staff were extremely efficient, attentive (without being 'in our faces') and our meal was delicious, would recommend it. Whilst portions aren't huge, there was certainly enough for us to eat. Prices were pretty much what you would expect from somewhere that's a step up from pub grub. We felt that we had got value for money in fairly decent surroundings. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    71
    46
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trying to be something it's not”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We went here for a group family meal - overal we had an ok meal, but I go to many many restaurants with my job all over the uk and in my opinion the food was nice but overpriced and let down by the service.
We sent a starter back due to it tasting horrible and in all fairness were offered another choice, but I noticed that the waitress pointing out in the kitchen who sent the food back to another waiter who felt the need to stare and take a good intimidating look at the person who dared to complain. In most other restaurants the offer to remove the starter from the bill would have immediately been offered, but it appeared on the bill. Family members who had the steak said it was very nice.
Another point to note is that there were several children in out group, the adults meals were all brought out first instead of the children's meals. The kids struggled to eat the burgers as they were piled way too high - great for an adult but not for children. To sum up - was ok, but overpriced and let down badly by young, inexperienced waitresses/waiters. Will not be returning due to being stared at by the bearded waiter for returning unedible soup that was incredibly overpowered by garlic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bramble01Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow. Just wow.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We came here in April just on a spur of the moment visit as we hadn't had a meal out for a long while, and this was somewhere nice and close to our home that we had not tried before. Had we known just how good it was going to be, we would have saved it for a special occasion!

By no means was it a cheap evening out, though we had prosecco to start, a bottle of wine and 2 courses each with a dessert to share and my husband had a digestiv of whiskey, so this is most likely why it added up...but my was it worth it.

The menu made it extremely difficult to choose what to have for each of the three courses, but after much deliberation we managed to settle on salted beef/scallops in cullen skink to start, hake in a seafood bisque/slow roasted lamb for the main and lemon posset for dessert. The starters were divine. The main meals...well the hake was the nicest fish dish I have ever eaten. Both main meals were stunning with so many elements on the plate each cooked to absolute perfection. My husbands lamb came with mint jelly, which he thought slightly pretentious, until he tasted it and all was forgiven! The highlight for me though, was the dessert. I am not a dessert person, but the lemon possett was just perfect. Sweet and sour, crunchy and smooth, with an extra little surprise when you take the first mouthful and finished with a delicious raspberry sorbet/coulis...amazing.

The service was very good and all the staff were very attentive, with a waiter carrying our drinks for us from the bar area to our tables before the meals - a small thing but a nice touch. They were also more than happy to ring a taxi for us and to find us a cork so we could finish the (rather exquisite) bottle of wine at home.

We will absolutely be coming back and can not wait to do so, this was genuinely one of the nicest meals either of us had ever eaten and we are looking forward to repeating the experience, albeit on a special occasion this time!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JasminGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Chadwicks Inn is a gorgeous pub and the food lived up to the surroundings. I was here with family for Sunday lunch and everyone enjoyed their meals. The beef was so tender - the best I have had for a long while! Everything was beautifully presented and there was a large variety of wines, beers and cocktails on offer. I will definitely be back when next in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LHRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, Co Durham, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Anniversary Meal and it was fab!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Haven't eaten at Chadwick's for a while for no particular reason as we had always enjoyed good food there previously. Pleased to find the dining experience was as good as we remembered. Staff are pleasant and attentive without being too 'in your face', food was exceptional. Couldn't manage more than a starter and a main course but really appreciated what we had. The atmosphere was relaxed and there were plenty of diners. We don't like eating in empty restaurants no matter how good the food is. Really enjoyed our meal and we will return again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Jaspersmum71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chadwicks Inn Maltby also viewed

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Chadwicks Inn Maltby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing