We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it here!”
Review of RSPB Saltholme

RSPB Saltholme
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Saltholme, you'll find a world of amazing wildlife thriving right in the middle of the Tees Valley's heavy industry.Surprising, isn't it? But this is a brilliant place for wildlife – and for you! Come and explore the state- of-the-art visitor centre with panoramic views of the reserve and its industrial backdrop. Follow your nose to the café to sample freshly brewed coffee and home-cooked meals, and then stop off in the shop for a bit of retail therapy.Get outdoors with the family to explore the discovery zone and run, jump and clamber through the adventure playground. If you fancy relaxing, seek out a bench in the tranquil wildlife garden or venture to the far reaches of the reserve for some quiet time with nature.However you want to spend your time at Saltholme, you're sure to fall in love with the place and come back time and time again.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love it here!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We come here loads and love it every time. There are always things for my 4 and 5 year old to do. Last time we used one of their pushchairs and they were so helpful about it ( it had been raining and we didn't want ours covered in mud). The cafe is always clean and tidy ( though more filling on the jacket potatoes would be nice). There is a park outside that the kids enjoy playing in, plenty of toilets and craft activities.
We have seen a few foxes and many different birds. It is a small piece of heaven amongst so much industry. We'll done RSPB!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    91
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nature at its best”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visit Salthomle as often as we can which is about once a month. Each time we see nature at its best. It's a reserve which opened just a few years ago. The main building houses a cafe which serves a nice lunch and great coffee. It has a number of different walks, which we try to walk at least one to two it time. A great place to take the young ones to introduce them to nature

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1971joe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out for the children”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have 2 boys 8 & 5 and we love it here. The park is fantastic and never over crowded. It has lovely wooden play equipment suitable for all ages, a maze and all enclosed in a lovely safe area. They have loads of picnic tables and seating areas which is great.
The cafe is is lovely over looking the ponds and we have even seen a fox walk past the window whilst enjoying the fantastic food.
There are children's activities to do in the education room, from colouring to making and building.
The post dipping is fantastic and all the equipment is supplied. The staff are exceptionally helpful and always willing to help. The boys especially enjoy the welly splash, and there are loads of walkways to explore. You can borrow explorer packs for the children that include binoculars, paper, pencils, magnifying glasses and tubs for investigating insects more.
We have a family membership which is £6 a month and this allows us unlimited entry and all the children's activities are free! Amazing value! You don't have to be a member, but you have to pay £2 per activity then. Still a cheap day out though regardless!
If you have a buggy, you can swap it for an all terrain buggy to make it easier during your visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day Out”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Brilliant day out for all ages, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and the food in the café is delicious.

The wood carvings and mini beast hotels are a real treat for the kids and add something a bit special and unexpected.

We've visited a few times and will definitely return again!

Highly recommend!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LandLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice and peaceful”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Went there at four o'clock not knowing that they closed at five, since it would only be open for another hour the staff let us in without having to pay the £4 entrance fee, which was really nice of them. The park was very big and had a number of observatories where you could watch the birds. Was lucky enough to meet a very friendly bird enthusiast who told us lots of interesting things about the birds. Walking around the park was very relaxing, there's a number of benches and picnic tables which makes it the perfect place for a family picnic. Really nice experience, will definitely be coming back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank _-LivvoW-_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RSPB Saltholme also viewed

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Marton, Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to RSPB Saltholme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing