We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the food”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Ok we all know that Best Westerns vary quite a bit and this one is no different. The rooms are OK, mine had virtually no natural light, just a small window in a dark corner overlooking the bins.
The room cleanliness and comfort was OK, yes I have a choice but my business is at the hospital very near by.
My biggest nightmare was on arrival when I saw that the restaurant had been franchised to hungry horse .
This has to be the worst chain anywhere, pile it high, poorly cooked, greasy badly sourced food. It was full of uncontrolled noisy grubby rude kids with bloated tattoo covered guardians in shell suits, yes chavs ! I waited two hours for them to thin out before eating, there is no where else in this area other than take aways and a Toby Carvery, but it was still rammed. I ordered a steak, maybe silly idea, but I just thought it would be the least complicated to cook and least likely to be spoiled. Wrong, I must have misread the menu I thought it read " all beef aged for 21 days" not 21 years.
Anyhow , the hotel would have scored better but over £100 for bed , dinner and breakfast with the worst food ever rubbish. Even for £30 it would still have been the same review.
Never again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

My son and I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights so he could attend the university's open day. It was perfectly located for this purpose - approximately a 20 minute walk or five minute drive. The room provided (room 7) was rather small and had the smallest window over looking a brick wall and what looked like some gas cannisters, but it wasn't the view I chose the hotel for. The room was perfectly clean and provided all amenities necessary for a comfortable stay. The hotel is part of a Hungry Horse pub so with a teenager in tow, this was perfect! The rooms were separate from the pub part, and so once you were in your room, there was no disturbance. This said, some of the hotel's guests were noisy - out of the management's control but annoying nonetheless! Driving to the hotel I was a little anxious about driving through Middlesbrough on unfamiliar roads, however, the property is literally five minutes off the motorway. I will definitely be using the property again if my son does chose to go to the university next year. Good value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickiB204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting my son at university. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was large and comfortable. My only critisism was dust in the bathroom extractor fan but this seems a common fault in hotels. Breakfast was a little disappointing but everything else was good. A problem with the room key card system was dealt with efficiently by the duty receptionist and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank alimiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed here for one night while in town for business. My room was fairly small and the decor quite dated. There were a couple of very naff and extremely faded pictures on the walls. The carpet was spotted with numerous grubby marks and frayed in a couple of places. But it was clean and the bed was comfy. The room was very warm and far too warm for me. But the radiator was easily adjustable and the window opened so it was soon just right.
The breakfast wasn't bad, not the best I've had but along way from the worst. I had a full cooked breakfast but there's plenty of choice with options such as a bacon sandwich or beans on toast. There's also a buffet of fruit, pastries, cereals and toast.
The Hungry Horse restaurant downstairs is a cheap and cheerful affair. The food was excellent for the price and I got 3 courses and a drink from my £25 business meal allowance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamazo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I recently stayed here for one night, the room was large, very clean and comfortable though a bit dated, all in all for the price great value.
A travel cot was provided for my daughter which very clean & came with extra sheets - which I thought was a nice touch. The staff could not have been any more helpful, especially the manageress.
The hotel is above a pub/restaurant were we stayed for dinner & breakfast both of which were lovely.
For me the only downside was that the hotel didn't have a separate entrance from the pub/restaurant (as it was busy/loud) but this wouldn't put me off staying again.
There is a great park about 5 min walk from the hotel, Albert Park, it had a lake & nice play area, I would say its worth a walk around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mon105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We sometimes go here for breakfast during the week and it sone of the nicest in middlesbrough. Huge portion sizes and great value. Service can be a little slow for hot drinks but thats not a problem if your not in a hurry. Nice and spacious with comfy furniture. Toady we bought our drinks from the Macmillan Coffee Morning that they were supporting. Amazing when places help with charity so a massive thumbs up and the homemade cakes we just the sweetest. Go visit if you want yummy breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Breakfast was very nice, room was clean and spacious. Large parking lot and free of charge.
They have a restaurant and a pub, we were hot in our rm and they provided a fan for us, with no hesitation. Staff was very nice and it was a very happy atmosphere. We were glad we stayed here and it was a great location as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovetheuk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Bell Lodge
Blue Bell Lodge
#10 of 11 in Middlesbrough
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Longlands Hotel
Longlands Hotel
#7 of 11 in Middlesbrough
28 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
0.4 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: Marton Road, Middlesbrough TS4 2PA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Middlesbrough)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range: £31 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing