We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Experience”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful Experience”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel two weeks ago on business. From the moment I arrived it was can I say being as positive as possible disastrous. Upon arrival there was no one at reception eventually I was assisted by the Manageress an extremely rude and abrupt lady named Frances, I have never met anyone with such terrible people skills. The room I was allocated was unfit for a dog, with damp and mould on the ceiling and behind the bed. The food was basic but edible and the staff in the pub were much better than the Manageress and gave superb service. I have a contract in Middlesbrough for Twelve months along with 12 members of my team, I will most certainly not be choosing this horror hotel for my return visits. And I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JULIE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    67
    47
    38
    38
See reviews for
36
44
18
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Horrible rooms horrible bar horrible food but the rude manageress is more horrible than all of the horribleness put together.
I came here on business with a group of 9 - booking was chaotic we had to keep re confirming then they got it wrong and charged us for 10 rooms. We had to get early trains they said early breakfast Woudnt be a be a problem then it was a big problem- oh and did I mention the aggressive manageress?

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mrleonhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Middlesbrough hotels

Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Just checked in to the Hungry Horse and everything seemed ok until the bar sudden closed at 1105 with no warning. 'Go to a local bar' was the suggestion- 'but we're residents and it's 1105' - was our reply. Hopeless

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattsterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My room reservation was incorrect on arrival so after being settled into a room, the management asked me to change which I did without fuss..
Second room was much smaller but fine for a business trip, room was generally clean but needed a good dusting, I actually wrote clean me on the bedside lamp base thats how thick the dust was.

at best the hotel would be average, the aspects that disapointed me the most were as follows,

the bed was very old and the mattress offered no support, I felt like I rolled into the middle of the bed, it was so bad I had my worse nights sleep ever so much so the following day I drifted off during a meeting...

the room lighting was dingy, I felt it would of been more appropriate in a seedy brothel, terrible lighting no way was I going to chance working and getting eye strain.

the chair was all loose and creaked and groaned, I was expecting it to collapse.

and finally, the heating system.....ah yes what can I say, this is the only building I have ever stayed in where you can hear the water rushing through the heating system, its terrible, it sounds like the water is under high pressure as the flow rate through the radiator must be at least 5 meters a second, its similar to being next door to a generator plant. This kept me and my colleagues awake both nights. Just shocking....

staff were friendly, food was typical of a hungry horse, pretty good. Breakfast wasnt anything to write home about, breakfast service was poor.

would I stay here again....?

Definately not.... too many bad memories, must be one of the worst I have stayed at.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms me and my colleagues occupied seemed to suffer the same fate, dark poorly lit rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Ok we all know that Best Westerns vary quite a bit and this one is no different. The rooms are OK, mine had virtually no natural light, just a small window in a dark corner overlooking the bins.
The room cleanliness and comfort was OK, yes I have a choice but my business is at the hospital very near by.
My biggest nightmare was on arrival when I saw that the restaurant had been franchised to hungry horse .
This has to be the worst chain anywhere, pile it high, poorly cooked, greasy badly sourced food. It was full of uncontrolled noisy grubby rude kids with bloated tattoo covered guardians in shell suits, yes chavs ! I waited two hours for them to thin out before eating, there is no where else in this area other than take aways and a Toby Carvery, but it was still rammed. I ordered a steak, maybe silly idea, but I just thought it would be the least complicated to cook and least likely to be spoiled. Wrong, I must have misread the menu I thought it read " all beef aged for 21 days" not 21 years.
Anyhow , the hotel would have scored better but over £100 for bed , dinner and breakfast with the worst food ever rubbish. Even for £30 it would still have been the same review.
Never again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
3.0 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
0.3 mi away
Longlands Hotel
Longlands Hotel
#7 of 11 in Middlesbrough
26 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Middlesbrough
Travelodge Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: Marton Road, Middlesbrough TS4 2PA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Middlesbrough)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing