We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Middlesbrough”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Reviewed 11 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel needs a bit of TLC, but is liveable in. The bed was comfortable, but had a winter duvet on it in July. There were loose floor tiles in the bathroom, the shower door leaked onto the floor, and the fan was louder than a helicopter. The worst point is the Hungry Horse eatery attached to the hotel. It is very bad, eat somewhere else. The hotel offered poor value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vlakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a 'premium room'...thank goodness because I can only assume the step down would be a damp cellar. The walls are paper thin, I got woken up by neighbouring rooms flushing toilets all night, and once by a sneeze! Any soundproofing is needed. The blinds are broken, the springs in the bed are broken, the bathroom is occupied by spiders and I am booking in elsewhere for my second night. Awful hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Huge bay window open when walking in, net blowing with the wind. Smelt old and dirty. Carpet looked 20 years old and had bits all over it. Pillows had stains on when removing the cover, no protectors. I did not sleep in this hotel because the bedding smelt so bad and had no volume to it. I could not even take my shoes off. When I cleaned my teeth in the morning and tried to wash, I had to walk away from the sink from the overwhelming smell of piss.
The breakfast was average although no one greeted you or explained the operation. Although I already felt disgusted from the night I had had, the staff were less than till operators in their contact. Dated an dirty, not like the bar and restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 8Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here on business and generally I am used to larger chain hotels for business trips. When I pulled up in the taxi, I noticed this hotel was part of the Hungry Horse family restaurant chain and my expectations were that this was more focused on being a cheap family pub than a hotel. I was greeted by exceptional reception staff and a very modern comfy room better than some larger hotels. Food in restaurant was great quality and exceptional value. Great night's sleep and then treated by good quality breakfast and efficient and welcoming staff. Could not fault this hotel and will definitely stay again when on business. Exceeded my expectations and the owners should be very proud of the customer service and their staff.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank SaltaireSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Well when I driven into the car park I thought omg!!!! Then I seen reception and was met by a very pleasent lady. Who took me to my room which I was surprised by. The room was a bit dated but the bed was very comfy. Food in the bar was very nice and I couldn't finish it. Breakfast was ok. All in all very enjoyable stay it must be said thanks

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlesbrough
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Middlesbrough
Travelodge Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Metro Inns Teesside
Metro Inns Teesside
#8 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
102 reviews
3 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
0.3 mi away
Longlands Hotel
Longlands Hotel
#8 of 11 in Middlesbrough
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: Marton Road, Middlesbrough TS4 2PA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Middlesbrough)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range: £31 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing